Back Entertainment | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Green Day FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the World's Most Popular Punk Band

Hank Bordowitz · Backbeat Books
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

(FAQ) . Green Day FAQ tackles such topics as the band's early roots and early gigs, who's who in the extended Green Day enterprise, what artists proudly claim Green Day as an influence on their music, Green Day's humanitarian efforts and political advocacy, the band's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tragedy Plus Time: A Tragi-comic Memoir

Adam Cayton-Holland · Touchstone
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius and Truth & Beauty - from one of Variety's "10 Comics to Watch," a poignant tragicomic memoir about the author's beautiful, funny, and heartbreaking relationship with his younger sister and the depression...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beastie Boys Book

Adam Horovitz · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 590
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A panoramic experience that tells the story of Beastie Boys, a book as unique as the band itself - by band members ADROCK and Mike D, with contributions from Amy Poehler, Colson Whitehead, Spike Jonze, Wes Anderson, Luc Sante, and more.

NAMED...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Greatest Love Story Ever Told: An Oral History

NICK OFFERMAN · Dutton
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

At last, the full story behind Megan Mullally and Nick Offerman's epic romance, including stories, portraits, and the occasional puzzle, all telling the smoldering tale that has fascinated Hollywood for over a decade.

The year: 2000. The setting: Los Angeles. A gorgeous virtuoso...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stay and Fight: A Novel

Madeline ffitch · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

This hilarious, truth-telling debut upends notions of family, protest, and Appalachia, and forces us to reimagine an America we think we knowHelen arrives in Appalachian Ohio full of love and eager to carry out her boyfriend's ideas for living off the land. Too soon, with winter coming,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sleeping with Strangers: How the Movies Shaped Desire

David Thomson · Knopf
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

From the celebrated film critic and author of The Biographical Dictionary of Film, an original, seductive account of sexuality in the movies and of how actors and actresses on screen have fed our desire.

Film can make us want things we can not have. But, while sometimes rapturous,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Like Brothers

Mark Duplass · Ballantine Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The multitalented writers, directors, producers, and actors (as seen on The League, Transparent, and The Mindy Project) share the secrets of their lifelong partnership in this unique memoir.

Whether producing, writing, directing, or acting, the Duplass...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Château: A Novel

PAUL GOLDBERG · Picador
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

"We have proverb in Florida...You know why it's good to be on beach?"
Bill smiles, but says nothing. He wants the guy to keep talking.
"Because on beach you are surrounded by idiots on only three sides."
"And on the remaining side you have what?"...

Read More check catalog
 
 
A Long Way from Home: A novel

Peter Carey · Knopf
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The two-time Booker Prize-winning author now gives us a wildly exuberant, wily new novel that circumnavigates 1954 Australia, revealing as much about the country/continent as it does about three audacious individuals who take part in the infamous 10,000-mile race, the Redex Trial.

Irene...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Strange Disappearance of a Bollywood Star

VASEEM KHAN · Redhook
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

Mumbai is a city that thrives on extravagant spectacles and larger-than-life characters.
But as Chopra is about to discover, even in the city of dreams, there is no guarantee of a happy ending.

Rising star and incorrigible playboy Vikram Verma has disappeared, leaving his latest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Captain's Daughter: A Novel

Meg Mitchell Moore · Doubleday
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have been

Growing up in Little Harbor, Maine, the daughter of a widowed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Electric Woman: A Memoir in Death-Defying Acts

Tessa Fontaine · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Tessa Fontaine's astonishing memoir of pushing past fear, The Electric Woman, follows the author on a life-affirming journey of loss and self-discovery-- through her time on the road with the last traveling American sideshow and her relationship with an adventurous, spirited mother....

Read More check catalog
 
 
Roar

Cecelia Ahern · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

From the bestselling author of P.S., I Love You, a fiercely feminist story collection that blends fables with magical realism--perfect for fans of Roxane Gay.In this singular and imaginative story collection, Cecelia Ahern illuminates the myriad ways in which women overcome adversity with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Space Odyssey: Stanley Kubrick, Arthur C. Clarke, and the Making of a Masterpiece

Michael Benson · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

Celebrating the fiftieth anniversary of the film's release, this is the definitive story of the making of 2001: A Space Odyssey, acclaimed today as one of the greatest films ever made, including the inside account of how director Stanley Kubrick and writer Arthur C. Clarke created...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Orson Welles in Focus: Texts and Contexts

James Gilmore · Indiana University Press
Pages: 230
Format: Hardcover

Through his radio and film works, such as The War of the Worlds and Citizen Kane, Orson Welles became a household name in the United States. Yet Welles's multifaceted career went beyond these classic titles and included lesser-known but nonetheless important contributions to television,...
Read More check catalog