Back Science Fiction & Fantasy | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science Fiction & Fantasy  
Heroine Worship

SARAH KUHN · DAW
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

Asian-American superheroines Evie Tanaka and Aveda Jupiter protect San Francisco from perilous threats in the second book in Sarah Kuhn's snarky and smart fantasy trilogy * "The superheroine we've been waiting for." - Seanan McGuireOnce upon a time, Aveda Jupiter (aka...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gone World

Tom Sweterlitsch · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Inception meets True Detective in this science-fiction thriller of spellbinding tension and staggering scope. The Gone World follows a special agent into a savage murder case with grave implications for the fate of mankind.

Shannon Moss is part of a clandestine...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Strangehold

Rene Sears · CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Pages: 177
Format: Paperback

Morgan Tenpenny has retreated from her painful, magical past, choosing to live quietly as a guardian of one of the gates between worlds. But her sister Gwen is married to a lord of the High Court of Faerie - and when Gwen asks her to protect her nieces, it's time for Morgan to emerge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Caught in Time: A Novel

JULIE MCELWAIN · Pegasus Books
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

Still stranded in 1815, FBI agent Kendra Donovan finds herself on the trail of a vicious murderer with a shocking secret.

October 1815: There is only one place Kendra Donovan wants to travel -- back to her own time period in the twenty-first century. But since that's not happening,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Age of Assassins

R J BAKER · Orbit
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback

IT'S A GAME OF ASSASSIN VERSUS ASSASSINGirton Club-foot has no family, a crippled leg, and is apprenticed to the best assassin in the land. He's learning the art of taking lives, but his latest mission tasks him with a far more difficult challenge: to save a life. Someone is trying...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Swarm and Steel

Michael R Fletcher · Talos
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

To escape the hell she created, a woman must team up with a novice warrior and return to her homeland in this gritty epic fantasy where delusions are literally made real. Zerfall awakens in an alley, wounded and unable to remember her past. Chased by an assassin out into the endless wastes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bartered Brides

MERCEDES LACKEY · DAW
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The thirteenth novel in the magical alternate history Elemental Masters series continues the reimagined adventures of Sherlock Holmes in a richly-detailed alternate Victorian England.

The threat of Moriarty is gone - but so is Sherlock Holmes.

Even as they mourn the loss...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Connect: A Novel

Julian Gough · Nan A. Talese
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

From the author of Juno & Juliet, Connect reboots the classic story of a family coming apart at the seams for our looming era of mass surveillance, virtual reality, and miraculous biotechnology.In the Nevada desert, in the near future, a family crisis sets off a chain reaction that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Street Freaks

Terry Brooks · Grim Oak Press
Pages: 376
Format: Hardcover

It begins with a dire call-right before his father disappears and his skyscraper home's doors explode inward. Street Freaks is the kind of thrilling futuristic story only New York Times bestselling author Terry Brooks can tell.

"Go into the Red Zone. Go to Street Freaks."...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Above the Ether: A Novel

Eric Barnes · Arcade
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

A mesmerizing novel of unfolding dystopia amid the effects of climate change in a world very like our own, for readers of Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven and Margaret Atwood's The Year of the Flood. In this prequel to Eric Barnes's acclaimed cli-fi novel The City Where...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Texas Hold'em: A Wild Cards novel

George R R Martin · Tor Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Wild Cards, currently in TV development, is the fan favorite superhero series edited by #1 New York Times bestselling author George R. R. Martin

San Antonio, home of the Alamo, is also host to the nation's top high school jazz competition, and the musicians at Xavier Desmond...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Plot

GENEVIEVE COGMAN · Ace
Format: Paperback

After being commissioned to find a rare book, Librarian Irene and her assistant, Kai, head to Prohibition-era New York and are thrust into the middle of a political fight with dragons, mobsters, and Fae.

In a 1920s-esque New York, Prohibition is in force; fedoras, flapper dresses,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mightier than the Sword

K J PARKER · Subterranean
Pages: 136
Format: Hardcover

An Imperial legate is called into see his aunt, who just happens to be the empress running the civilized world while her husband's in his sick bed. After some chastisement, she dispatches her nephew to take care of the dreaded Land and Sea Raiders, pirates who've been attacking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nothing to Devour: Motherless Children #3

GLEN HIRSHBERG · Tor Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Glen Hirshberg's critically-acclaimed trilogy comes to a shattering conclusion that proves that this International Horror Guild and Shirley Jackson Award winner understands the true depths and heights of this thing called life.

Librarian Emilia is alone in a library that is soon...

Read More check catalog
 
 
King of the Road

R. S. Belcher · Tor Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Set in R.S. Belcher's urban fantasy Nightwise universe, the Brotherhood of the Wheel returns to explore the haunted byways and truck stops of the U.S. Interstate Highway System in King of the Road. Jimmie Aussapile, Lovina Marcou and Heck Sinclair are members of a secret society dedicated...
Read More check catalog