Trouble viewing this email?  Click here to see the online version

Events & New Books E-Newsletter

 calendarJune  1, 2019     issue Issue 21

image
image

2019 Summer Reading Program

Click below for more information about our 2019 Summer Reading Program for all ages! The Summer Reading Program is supported by the Friends of the Library.

button
image

Portable Planetarium

See the stars inside on Thursday, June 6 from 2:00 to 4:00 pm at Bucyrus Elementary School! Brought to you by Warren-Rupp Observatory.

image

Wump Mucket Puppets

Learn about outer space and celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing with original stories and songs! Thrusday, June 13 from 1:00 to 2:00 pm at Bucyrus Elementary School.

image

COSI Astronaut Academy

Build a scale model of the solar system, design and build your own paper rockets, and launch them on COSI's air-powered rocket launchers! Thursday, June 20 from 1:00 to 2:00 pm at Bucyrus Elementary School.

image

Whiz Bang Science Show

Join Dr. Dave, the Dean of Bang, as he presents a program on the scientific and historic aspects of the moon landing in 1969. Thursday, June 27 from 2:00 to 3:00 pm at Bucyrus Elementary School.

image

What Else is Happening this Month at BPL?!

LEGO Club - June 1 from 10:00 am-12:00 pm

Pinterest Craft (beach candle holders) - June 5 at 1:00 and 5:00 pm (Registration Required)

 Book Chatter (no required reading) - June 7 at 10:00 am

Scrapbooking & More - June 7 at 1:00 pm

First Friday - June 7 from 5:00 to 8:00 pm (downtown Bucyrus)

Rebels Against Reality Science Fiction Book Club ( The Road ) - June 10 at 6:30 pm

Family Book Bingo - June 12 at 1:00 pm

Teen Space Food Program - June 13 from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm

Crime Time Mystery Book Club  - June 13 at 2:00 pm

New Movie Night - June 13 at 6:00 pm

Food Fanatics Book Club ( Prime Time Emeril ) - June 14 at 10:00 am

Genealogy Drop-In - June 14 from 1:00-3:00 pm

Summer Reading Book Tasting - June 18 at 2:30 and 6 pm

How To: Camping and Hiking Hacks - June 19 at 5:00 pm

Stories and Stitches Book Club (To Heaven and Back) - June 26 at 10:00 am

Cursive Writing Class for all ages - June 26 at 4:00 pm

Teen Sunglasses Day - June 27 from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm

Painting Class - June 27 from 12:30-2:00 pm (Registration Required)

Monday through Friday: Free Summer Lunch for Kids up to age 18 from 12:00 to 1:00 pm

Every Monday:Music, Movement, and More at 11:00 am 

Every Monday: Coloring for Relaxation at 4:00 pm

Every Monday and Friday: Yoga at 4:30 pm

Every Tuesday: Teen Movie at 3:00 pm or Anime at 4:00 pm

Every Wednesday: Teen Table Top Gaming from 3:00 to 7:00 pm

Every Tuesday: Music, Movement, and More at 5:00 pm

Every Thursday: Sit and Stitch at 1:00 pm

Click here to view our full calendar on our website!

image

Database of the Month

In mid 2018, Ohioans received access to 12 new resources. This month's featured new database is Home Improvement Reference Center, which features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online, and videos of popular home repair projects.  Find more detailed information here.

If you have questions about these resources, please make an appointment with Assistant Director Rebecca Wilden at 419-562-7327, ext. 106.

image
 

The Book Hog by Greg Pizzoli

The Book Hog loves books—the way they look, the way they feel, the way they smell—and he’ll grab whatever he can find. There’s only one problem: he can’t read! But when a kind librarian invites him to join for storytime, this literature-loving pig discovers the treasure that books really are.

Look for this book in the BPL Online Catalog (See 5 copies owned by our new consortium!)
Check GoodReads to see what others have to say about this book
  Picture book, 48 pages, recommended for early elementary
button
 
image
 

Click by Kayla Miller

For fans of Smile and Real Friends comes a debut graphic novel about friendship and finding where you "click" in middle school. When a school variety show leaves Olive stranded without an act to join, she wonders why all of her friends have already formed their own groups without her.

Look for this book in the BPL Online Catalog (See 4 copies owned by our new consortium!)
Check GoodReads to see what others have to say about this book
  Graphic novel, 191 pages, recommended for upper elementary/middle school
button
 
image
 

Heroine by Mindy McGinnis

When a car crash sidelines Mickey just before softball season, she has to find a way to hold on to her spot as the catcher for a team expected to make a historic tournament run. Behind the plate is the only place she's ever felt comfortable, and the painkillers she's been prescribed can help her get there. The pills do more than take away pain; they make her feel good. With a new circle of friends--fellow injured athletes, others with just time to kill--Mickey finds peaceful acceptance, and people with whom words come easily, even if it is just the pills loosening her tongue. But as the pressure to be Mickey Catalan heightens, her need increases, and it becomes less about pain and more about want, something that could send her spiraling out of control. The newest novel from an author who has visited BPL in June 2018 and February 2019.
button
 
image
 

The Stillwater Girls by Minka Kent

Wren and Sage have been left to fend for themselves in their isolated, off-the-grid, primitive cabin in upstate New York after their mother leaves with their sick younger sister to get help from the nearest town. As the months pass their hope vanishes when a stranger comes. The stranger claims to be looking for the girls' mother, and he won't leave without them. The sisters break the rule to never go beyond the forest in order to escape. But once on the other side the sisters must confront what has been hidden from them, and what they're running from. 

 Look for this book in the BPL online catalog
Check Goodreads to see what others have to say about this book
Fiction/thriller, 246 pages, recommended for adults
button