Back Children's Books | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Unplugged

Steve Antony · Scholastic Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Meet Blip. Blip loves being plugged into her computer. When a blackout occurs, Blip trips over her wire and tumbles outside. Suddenly, Blip's gray world is filled with color and excitement. She plays with her new friends and has adventures all day long. When Blip finally returns home, she realizes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unexpected Love Story of Alfred Fiddleduckling

Timothy Basil Ering · Candlewick Press
Pages: 48
Format: Print book

Expect something unexpected when a duckling lost at sea adopts a musical new friend in a whimsical, heart-lifting story from Timothy Basil Ering.Captain Alfred is sailing home with new ducks for his farm when his little boat is caught in an unexpected and mighty storm. Everything aboard...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Time Out!

Ale Barba · Philomel Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

This imaginative picture book, filled with rocket ships and dreams of flying to the moon, is perfect for fans of Not A Box and Harold and the Purple Crayon.CRASH! A young boy has made a mess, and his mother sends him to his room for a Time Out. But is Time Out really such a punishment?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Giant Jumperee

Julia Donaldson · Dial Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Two of the world's most celebrated picture book creators, Julia Donaldson and Helen Oxenbury, team up for the first time in this jaunty animal fable for fans of Room on the Broom and We're Going on a Bear HuntRabbit arrives home one day to hear a loud voice coming from inside his burrow:"I'm...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Thousand Billion Things

Loic Clement · words & pictures
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Every day presents us with a wide range of choices including what to have to breakfast, what to wear and what to do in our spare time. Even deciding which piece of homework to tackle first presents a challenge. But when night comes and it's time for bed, what choice is there but to lie in the dark...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mr. Tweed And The Band In Need

Jim Stoten (Illustrator) · Flying Eye Books
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Mr. Tweed is back with a brand new adventure, and he needs your help once more! He's come to the zoo to see his favorite ten-piece band perform, but they can't find each other - can you spot them amongst all the other animals?A beautifully illustrated search-and-find book from the wacky...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Just Want to Say Good Night

Rachel Isadora · Nancy Paulsen Books
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Caldecott Honor-winner Rachel Isadora's stunning oil paintings illustrate this delightful bedtime tale, set on the African plains. The sun has set and the moon is rising, and that means it's bedtime. But not if Lala has a say - because she's not ready to go to sleep! First...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nanette's Baguette

Mo Willems · Hyperion Books for Children
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

Today is the day Nanette gets to get the baguette Is she set? YOU BET Mo Willems' hilarious new picture book, Nanette's Baguette, follows our plucky heroine on her first big solo trip to the bakery. But . . . will Nanette get the baguette from baker Juliette? Or will Nanette soon be beset...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blue Penguin

Petr Horacek · Candlewick Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

A moving fable about friendship and belonging from award-winning illustrator Petr Horácek.Far away, near the South Pole, a blue penguin is born. It is not something you see every day. "I feel like a penguin," says Blue Penguin. "But you're not like us," the others...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cancer Hates Kisses

Jessica Reid Sliwerski · Dial Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Mothers are superheroes when they're battling cancer, and this empowering picture book gives them an honest yet spirited way to share the difficult experience with their kids. Author Jessica Reid Sliwerski was diagnosed with breast cancer four months after giving birth to her daughter....
Read More check catalog
 
 
All-of-a-Kind Family Hanukkah

Emily Jenkins · Schwartz & Wade
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

The beloved characters from Sydney Taylor's All-of-a-Kind Family return in this heartwarming picture book from a critically adored team--perfect for Hanukkah gift-giving!Acclaimed author Emily Jenkins (A Greyhound, a Groundhog) and Caldecott Award-winning artist Paul O. Zelinsky (Rapunzel)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Night Lion

Sanne Dufft · Pajama Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

From rising star Sanne Dufft comes a richly illustrated picture book about nighttime fears, a grandmother's love, and the power of a child's imagination.Morgan, an endearing tousle-haired little boy, feels big and strong during the day with his tall hat and his toy sword. But at night,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My First Karate Class

Alyssa Satin Capucilli · Simon & Schuster Books
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Beginning readers can learn all about what happens at karate class in this Pre-level 1 Ready-to-Read with sweet text and photographs of young martial artists-in-training!It's the first day of karate class. What will it be like? Find out in this early reader by Biscuit creator Alyssa...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Am a Cat

Galia Bernstein · Abrams Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A simple housecat named Simon encounters some bigger cats: Lion, Puma, Panther, Tiger, and Cheetah. Each of the big cats has something to say about Simon not being "cat" enough. According to them, he just doesn't measure up. He doesn't have Lion's mane or Cheetah's spots. He doesn't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My New Shoes

Leilani Sparrow · Little Bee Books Inc
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Get ready to buy some new shoes in this fun follow-up to My First Day.My feet are growing. What great news! It's time to buy a pair of shoes. In this simple introduction to buying a new pair of shoes, a little bear (the same one from My First Day) shops for shoes with his dad. He gets...
Read More check catalog