Back Business & Investing | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Business & Investing  
Why Wall Street Matters

WILLIAM D COHAN · RANDOM HOUSE
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

For readers of Michael Lewis comes a counterintuitive defense of the banks. One of America's most respected financial journalists debunks all the misinformed arguments against Wall Street - while acknowledging the greed and excess that fuel those feelings - and argues persuasively that,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Murdoch Method: Observations on Rupert Murdoch's Management of a Media Empire

IRWIN STELZER · Pegasus Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Following Murdoch's journey from a small-town newspaperman to a globe-dominating media mogul, a clear-eyed examination of Rupert Murdoch's business philosophies and management techniques, from a key advisor of thirty-five years. After having worked closely with the legendary media...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Significant Zero: Heroes, Villains, and the Fight for Art and Soul in Video Games

WALT WILLIAMS · Atria Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From the award-winning videogame writer behind Spec Ops: The Line comes an exclusive behind-the-scenes look at how today's blockbuster video games are made.When his satirical musings in a college newspaper got him discharged from the Air Force, it became clear to Walt Williams that his destiny...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Inside Guide to Funding Real Estate Investments: How to Get the Money You Need for the Property You Want

Ross Hamilton · AMACOM
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

Because financing can make or break the deal. Finding great financing is the Holy Grail of real estate. Whether it's your first deal or 50th, it can be the most daunting--but most important--challenge you face. The good news is that today there are more ways to finance a property...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Investing Demystified: How to create the best investment portfolio whatever your risk level

Lars Kroijer · FT Press
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

Don't spend your time worrying whether you can beat the markets: you don't need to beat them to be a successful investor. By showing you how to build a simple and rational portfolio and tailor it to your specific needs, Investing Demystified will help you generate superior returns....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Uterus Is a Feature, Not a Bug: The Working Woman's Guide to Overthrowing the Patriarchy

SARAH LACY · HarperBusiness
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A rally cry for working mothers everywhere that demolishes the "distracted, emotional, weak" stereotype and definitively shows that these professionals are more focused, decisive, and stronger than any other force.Working mothers aren't a liability. They are assets you - and every...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Loulou & Yves: The Untold Story of Loulou de La Falaise and the House of Saint Laurent

Christopher Petkanas · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

No one interested in fashion, style, or the high-flying intrigues of café society will want to miss the exuberantly entertaining oral biography Loulou & Yves: The Untold Story of Loulou de La Falaise and the House of Saint Laurent, by Christopher Petkanas.Dauntless,"in the bone"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Mission: How Leaders Build a Team of Teams

CHRIS FUSSELL · Portfolio
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

How could we be so highly competent at the small team level, yet incapable of moving with the same agility as an enterprise? If we did not align behind one mission, our individual capabilities would prove insufficient. We could all be great and still lose. This problem -- which former Navy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Biennials, Triennials, and Documenta: The Exhibitions that Created Contemporary Art

Charles Green · Wiley-Blackwell
Pages: 296
Format: Hardcover

This innovative new history examines in-depth how the growing popularity of large-scale international survey exhibitions, or 'biennials', has influenced global contemporary art since the 1950s. Provides a comprehensive global history of biennialization from the rise of the European...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The End of Advertising: Why It Had to Die, and the Creative Resurrection to Come

Andrew Essex · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

A recovering Mad Man throws down the ultimate challenge to his profession: Innovate or die.The ad apocalypse is upon us. Today millions are downloading ad-blocking software, and still more are paying subscription premiums to avoid ads. This $600 billion industry is now careening toward...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dictionary of Real Estate Terms

JACK P PH D FRIEDMAN · Barron's Educational Series
Pages: 600
Format: Paperback

Need to know real estate jargon? This quick-reference guide can help.Home buyers and sellers, as well as real estate professionals, investors, and attorneys can rely on this quick-reference source. More than 3,000 terms and definitions cover topics that include appraisal, architectural...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Finance Your Business: Secure Funding to Start, Run, and Grow Your Business

Entrepreneur Media. · Entrepreneur Press
Pages: 262
Format: Paperback

FUND YOUR DREAM BUSINESSEvery business needs money. Whether you're just starting out or are ready to expand, hunting for cash isn't easy and you'll need a game plan to be successful.The experts of Entrepreneur can help improve your odds of success by exploring the available options to guiding...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gangsters to Governors: The New Bosses of Gambling in America

David Clary · Rutgers University Press
Pages: 344
Format: Hardcover

Generations ago, gambling in America was an illicit activity, dominated by gangsters like Benny Binion and Bugsy Siegel. Today, forty-eight out of fifty states permit some form of legal gambling, and America's governors sit at the head of the gaming table. But have states become addicted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
More Sales, Less Time: Surprisingly Simple Strategies for Today's Crazy-Busy Sellers

Jill Konrath · Portfolio Penguin
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

"I felt like time was taunting me: 'Behind again? You'll never get it all done.' I worked harder and longer hours, sacrificing my limited personal time to stay ahead of the game. Still, it wasn't sufficient. My work just kept expanding, demanding more of me. I could...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jeffrey Gitomer's 21.5 Unbreakable Laws of Selling: Proven Actions You Must Take to Make Easier, Faster, Bigger Sales....Now and Forever

Jeffrey Gitomer · Bard Press
Format: Hardcover

There are universal laws of selling that determine whether you succeed, or don’t succeed — whether you earn enough to enjoy the lifestyle you want or struggle to make ends meet. When you align the wind with your sails, you move effortlessly across the water. When your sails...
Read More check catalog