Back History | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - History
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
The Palace Papers: Inside the House of Windsor--the Truth and the Turmoil

Tina Brown - ‎Crown
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The "addictively readable" (The Washington Post) inside story of the British royal family's battle to overcome the dramas of the Diana years - only to confront new, twenty-first-century crises "The beach read of the summer . . . juicy,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Call Me Indian: From the Trauma of Residential School to Becoming the NHL's First Treaty Indigenous Player

Fred Sasakamoose - Viking
Format: Hardcover

NATIONAL BESTSELLER"Fred Sasakamoose played in the NHL before First Nations people had the right to vote in Canada. This page turner will have you cheering for 'Fast Freddy' as he faces off against huge challenges both on and off the ice--a great gift to every proud hockey...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sweet Taste of Liberty: A True Story of Slavery and Restitution in America

W. Caleb McDaniel - Oxford University Press
Format: Hardcover‏

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for HistoryThe unforgettable saga of one enslaved woman's fight for justice--and reparations Born into slavery, Henrietta Wood was taken to Cincinnati and legally freed in 1848. In 1853, a Kentucky deputy sheriff named Zebulon Ward colluded with Wood's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Going Low: How Profane Politics Challenges American Democracy

Finbarr Curtis - ‎Columbia University Press
Format: Paperback

Liberalism puts its trust in civil discourse and rational argument. Today, its opponents enthusiastically flout these norms, making a show of defying so-called political correctness. In the Trump era and beyond, right-wing figures delight in sheer offensiveness. What is at stake in breaking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shadowlands: A Journey Through Britain's Lost Cities and Vanished Villages

MATTHEW GREEN - W. W. Norton & Company
Format: Hardcover

A "brilliant London historian" (BBC Radio) tells the story of Britain as never before -- through its abandoned villages and towns.Drowned. Buried by sand. Decimated by plague. Plunged off a cliff. This is the extraordinary tale of Britain's eerie and remarkable ghost towns...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Created Equal: The Painful Past, Confusing Present, and Hopeful Future of Race in America

Ben Carson - Center Street
Format: Hardcover

Now a New York Times Bestseller! Bestselling author and conservative icon Dr. Ben Carson lays out a hopeful and inspiring road map for how America can come together. External physical characteristics that are genetically encoded are things over which no individual has control. But rather...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Museum: A Short History of Crisis and Resilience

Samuel J Redman - NYU Press
Format: Hardcover

Celebrates the resilience of American cultural institutions in the face of national crises and challengesOn an afternoon in January 1865, a roaring fire swept through the Smithsonian Institution. Dazed soldiers and worried citizens could only watch as the flames engulfed the museum's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bad Mexicans: Race, Empire, and Revolution in the Borderlands

Kelly Lytle Hernández - W. W. Norton & Company
Format: Hardcover

"Rebel historian" Kelly Lytle Hernández reframes our understanding of U.S. history in this groundbreaking narrative of revolution in the borderlands.Bad Mexicans tells the dramatic story of the magonistas, the migrant rebels who sparked the 1910 Mexican Revolution from the United...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Major League Rebels: Baseball Battles over Workers' Rights and American Empire

Robert Elias - ‎Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Format: Hardcover

A captivating history of the baseball reformers and revolutionaries who challenged their sport and society - and in turn helped change America.Athletes have often used their platform to respond to and protest injustices, from Muhammad Ali and Colin Kaepernick to Billie Jean King and Megan...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Watermen: The Birth of American Swimming and One Young Man's Fight to Capture Olympic Gold

Michael Loynd - ‎Ballantine Books
Format: Hardcover

The feel-good underdog story of the first American swimmer to win Olympic gold, set against the turbulent rebirth of the modern Games - for fans of The Boys in the Boat and SeabiscuitIn the early twentieth century, few Americans knew how to swim, and swimming as a competitive sport was almost...
Read More check catalog