Back Teens | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
The Salem Witch Trials: A Crisis in Puritan New England

TANYA DELLACIO · LUCENT BOOKS
Pages: 104
Format: Print book

Mass hysteria in the late 17th century led to trials of people suspected to be witches in Salem, Massachusetts. Anyone could be accused of causing mysterious maladies or unfortunate occurrences, such as the death of cattle. Readers discover important facts and captivating details about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Magician

Lisa Maxwell · Simon Pulse
Pages: 500
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times bestseller "Splendid." - Kirkus Reviews "Vivid and compelling." - BCCB "A smart and feisty female protagonist in whom readers will delight." - BOOKLIST "Will keep you guessing until the very last page." - Cinda Williams Chima,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dazzling Heights

KATHARINE MCGEE · HarperCollins
Pages: 422
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
The End of Our Story

Meg Haston · Harper Teen
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Every love story has a breaking point... From the author of Paperweight comes the star-crossed romance of two high school friends in a tale rife with deeply buried secrets and shocking revelations.BEFORE: Bridge and Wil have been entangled in each other's lives for years. Under the white-hot...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sinking the Sultana: A Civil War Story of Imprisonment, Greed, and a Doomed Journey Home

SALLY M WALKER · Candlewick
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

The worst maritime disaster in American history wasn't the Titanic. It was the steamboat Sultana on the Mississippi River - and it could have been prevented.In 1865, the Civil War was winding down and the country was reeling from Lincoln's assassination. Thousands of Union soldiers, released...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Interlude: A Novel

Chantele Sedgwick · Sky Pony Press
Pages: 284
Format: Hardcover

When Mia Cox finds out she can't donate her kidney to save her younger sister's life, she doesn't hesitate to jump on a plane to New York, convinced she can talk their estranged birth mother, Carmen, into donating hers instead. She doesn't know the city or how she'll...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Let's Talk About Love

CLAIRE KANN · Swoon Reads
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Striking a perfect balance between heartfelt emotions and spot-on humor, this debut features a pop-culture enthusiast protagonist with an unforgettable voice sure to resonate with readers.Alice had her whole summer planned. Nonstop all-you-can-eat buffets while marathoning her favorite...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eliza and Her Monsters

FRANCESCA ZAPPIA · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she's worked for begins to crumble.Scott Westerfeld's Afterworlds meets Nimona in this novel about art, fandom, and finding...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mr. 60%

CLETE BARRETT SMITH · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

Witty, honest, and wholly captivating, Mr. 60% is a perfect read for fans of The Spectacular Now and Where Things Come Back. Matt Nolan is the high school drug dealer, deadbeat, and soon-to-be dropout according to everyone at his school. His vice principal is counting down the days until...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crazy House

JAMES PATTERSON · jimmy patterson
Pages: 354
Format: Hardcover

There were no charges. There was no trial. There will be no escape. Seventeen-year-old Becca Greenfield was snatched from her small hometown. She was thrown into a maximum-security prison and put on Death Row with other kids her age. Until her execution, Becca's told to fit in and shut...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boy She Left Behind

Gregg Olsen · Polis Books
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

The second novel in Gregg Olsen's riveting and edgy Young Adult Vengeance series brings back Rylee Cassidey and thrusts her into a search that could change her life . . . or end it.Rylee tracks a serial killer in Portland, Oregon doing what she does best - lying, reinventing, and plotting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Face Like Glass

FRANCES HARDINGE · Harry N. Abrams
Pages: 487
Format: Hardcover

In the underground city of Caverna, the world's most skilled craftsmen toil in the darkness to create delicacies beyond compare - wines that remove memories, cheeses that make you hallucinate, and perfumes that convince you to trust the wearer, even as they slit your throat. On the surface,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girling Up: How to Be Strong, Smart and Spectacular

Mayim Bialik · Philomel Books
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

Mayim Bialik, star of The Big Bang Theory, puts her Ph.D. to work as she talks to teens about the science of growing up and getting ahead. A must-have book for all teenage girls.Growing up as a girl in today's world is no easy task. Juggling family, friends, romantic relationships, social...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bridge

Stuart Prebble · Little
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

The woman of his dreams isn't what she seems. Michael Beaumont is head over heels with the woman of his dreams. The minute he and Alison saw each other across a crowded bar, there was a powerful, immediate connection. She's everything he could ever want in a woman--charismatic,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Layover

Amy Andelson · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Fans of Julie Buxbaum's Tell Me Three Things and Morgan Matson's Since You've Been Gone will get caught up in the drama of this road trip romance that begins with an unplanned flight layover in L.A. and turns into a wild adventure.FLYNN: At first we were almost strangers. But ever...
Read More check catalog