Back History | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Bones of My Grandfather: Reclaiming a Lost Hero of WWII

CLAY BONNYMAN EVANS CLAY BONNYMAN EVANS · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In November 1943, Marine 1st Lt. Alexander Bonnyman, Jr. was mortally wounded while leading a successful assault on a critical Japanese fortification on the Pacific atoll of Tarawa, and posthumously awarded the Medal of Honor, the nation's highest military honor. The brutal, bloody...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

REBECCA SKLOOT · BROADWAY BOOKS
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

Soon to be an HBO® Film starring Oprah Winfrey and Rose Byrne.Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells - taken without her knowledge - became one of the most important...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Revolutionary Science: Transformation and Turmoil in the Age of the Guillotine

Steve Jones · Pegasus Books
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

The surprising and sometimes shocking history of the scientific innovations in Paris during the French Revolution, by the author of Darwin's Ghost. Paris at the time of the French Revolution was the world capital of science. Its scholars laid the foundations of today's physics, chemistry...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Vory: Russia's Super Mafia

MARK GALEOTTI · Yale University Press
Pages: 344
Format: Hardcover

The first English-language book to document the men who emerged from the gulags to become Russia's much-feared crime class: the vory v zakone Mark Galeotti is the go-to expert on organized crime in Russia, consulted by governments and police around the world. Now, Western readers can explore...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Oceans Ventured: Winning the Cold War at Sea

JOHN F LEHMAN · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A thrilling story of the Cold War, told by a former navy secretary on the basis of recently declassified documents.When Ronald Reagan took office in January 1981, the United States and NATO were losing the Cold War. The USSR had superiority in conventional weapons and manpower in Europe,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
At the Edge of the World: The Heroic Century of the French Foreign Legion

Jean-Vincent Blanchard · Bloomsbury Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The remarkable story of the French Foreign Legion, its dramatic rise throughout the nineteenth century, and its most committed champion, General Hubert Lyautey.An aura of mystery, romance, and danger surrounds the French Foreign Legion, the all-volunteer corps of the French Army, founded...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lincoln's White House: The People's House in Wartime

James B Conroy · Rowman & Littlefield
Pages: 328
Format: Print book

Lincoln's White House is the first book devoted to capturing the look, feel, and smell of the executive mansion from Lincoln's inauguration in 1861 to his assassination in 1865. James Conroy brings to life the people who knew it, from servants to cabinet secretaries. We see the constant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It's Up to the Women

Eleanor Roosevelt · Nation Books
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

Written at the height of the Great Depression, It's Up to the Women is Eleanor Roosevelt's advice to women of all ages on every aspect of life. During a time of extreme hardship, she called on women particularly to do their part-cutting costs where needed, spending reasonably, and taking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Autumn of the Black Snake: The Creation of the U.S. Army and the Conquest That Opened the West

WILLIAM HOGELAND · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

The forgotten story of how the U.S. Army was created to fight a crucial Indian warIn 1783, with the signing of the Peace of Paris, the American Revolution was complete. And yet even as the newly independent United States secured peace with Great Britain, it found itself losing an escalating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Jewry: A New History

Eli Lederhendler · Cambridge University Press
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Understanding the history of Jews in America requires a synthesis of over 350 years of documents, social data, literature and journalism, architecture, oratory, and debate, and each time that history is observed, new questions are raised and new perspectives found. This book presents a readable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City

Kate Winkler Dawson · Hachette Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing. In winter 1952, London automobiles and thousands...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ticker: The Quest to Create an Artificial Heart

Mimi Swartz · Crown
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

It wasn't supposed to be this hard. If America could send a man to the moon, shouldn't the best surgeons in the world be able to build an artificial heart? In Ticker, Texas Monthly executive editor and two time National Magazine Award winner Mimi Swartz shows just how complex and difficult...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The History of Human Space Flight

TED SPITZMILLER · UNIV PR OF FLORIDA
Pages: 624
Format: Print book

"A fascinating human saga of dedication, competition, sacrifice, and achievement." - Dave Finley, National Radio Astronomy Observatory "An ambitious and thorough history, extending back to the earliest risk takers and innovators who laid the groundwork for the astronauts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Four Princes: Henry VIII, Francis I, Charles V, Suleiman the Magnificent and the Obsessions that Forged Modern Europe

JOHN JULIUS NORWICH · ATLANTIC MONTHLY
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

John Julius Norwich -- who the Wall Street Journal called "the very model of a popular historian" -- has crafted a big, bold tapestry of the early sixteenth century, when Europe and the Middle East were overshadowed by a quartet of legendary rulers, all born within a ten-year...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secret Token: Myth, Obsession, and the Search for the Lost Colony of Roanoke

ANDREW LAWLER · Doubleday
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

A sweeping account of America's oldest unsolved mystery, the people racing to unearth its answer, and what the Lost Colony reveals about America todayIn 1587, 115 men, women, and children arrived at Roanoke Island on the coast of North Carolina to establish the first English settlement...
Read More check catalog