Back All Children | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - All Children
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
Guts

Telgemeier, Raina · Graphix
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A true story from Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York Times bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of Smile, Sisters, Drama, and Ghosts!Raina wakes up one night with a terrible upset stomach. Her mom has one, too, so it's probably just a bug. Raina eventually returns to school,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hero Next Door

Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From We Need Diverse Books, the organization behind Flying Lessons & Other Stories, comes another middle-grade short story collection--this one focused on exploring acts of bravery--featuring some of the best own-voices children's authors, including R. J. Palacio (Wonder) , Rita...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nixie Ness: Cooking Star

Mills, Claudia · Margaret Ferguson Books
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Best friends Nixie and Grace spend every afternoon together . . . until Nixie's mom gets a new job and Nixie must attend the after-school program, without Grace.Third graders Nixie Ness and Grace Kenny have been best friends since they were two-years-old. They have always spent every...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spot & Dot

Cole, Henry · Little Simon
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

From beloved author-illustrator Henry Cole comes the stunning follow-up to Spot, the Cat. In this beautiful wordless picture book, Spot the cat finds a dog named Dot who's off on her own adventure through the city!In Henry Cole's vivid wordless picture book Spot, the Cat, readers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Waylon! The Most Awesome of All

Pennypacker, Sara · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Waylon can't wait to participate in the Boston Science Expo June 14. He's confident that his project will impress the crowd, and his idol, Neil deGrasse Tyson, is sure to be in attendance. Maybe Waylon will finally get a chance to meet him! The Expo is on the same day of his sister's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Oh, Rats!

Seidler, Tor · Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

When a hawk snatches up an adventurous squirrel named Phoenix, he's ready to kiss his tail goodbye. But what should have been a death sentence becomes the beginning of a sweeping big-city adventure in this captivating novel by National Book Award­-nominated author Tor Seidler.Phoenix...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Big Mouth Elizabeth

Vail, Rachel
Format: Hardcover

Second-grader Elizabeth longs to be a member of the Big Mouth club, which is made up of kids who have lost at least one baby tooth. Elizabeth is WAY behind on losing her baby teeth, and so is Cali, a quiet girl who is also left out of the Big Mouth Club. Elizabeth thinks Cali is so much...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ultrabot's First Playdate

Schneider, Josh · Clarion Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Boy Bot meets School's First Day of School in this hilarious and reassuring take on first experiences and making new friends, from a Theodor Seuss Geisel Award winner.Ultrabot is a big robot with a big problem. Its professor is planning a playdate with Becky Tingle, the little girl...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl Who Sailed the Stars

Woods, Matilda · Philomel Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Adventure, friendship, and magical realism come together in this heartwarming, whimsical story. Perfect for fans of A Snicker of Magic and The Penderwicks.When Oona Britt was born in the magical town of Nordlor, where all of the homes are built from wrecked ships, her parents never expected...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Free Lunch

Ogle, Rex · Norton Young Readers
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

A distinctive new voice: Rex Ogle's story of starting middle school on the free lunch program is timely, heartbreaking, and true.Free Lunch is the story of Rex Ogle's first semester in sixth grade. Rex and his baby brother often went hungry, wore secondhand clothes, and were short...
Read More check catalog