Toledo Lucas County Public Library
 
Simple News Pro
  New African American Fiction  
American Spy: A Novel

Lauren Wilkinson · Random House
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

What if your sense of duty required you to betray the man you love? One woman struggles to choose between her honor and her heart in this enthralling espionage drama that deftly hops between New York and West Africa. It's 1986, the heart of the Cold War, and Marie Mitchell is an intelligence...
 
 
Blurred Lines

Mona Scott-Young · Zola Books Inc.
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

When Carys Reece, the daughter of music royalty Bishop and Alana Reece, and her boyfriend, up-and-coming recording artist Nikko Williams, decide it's time to move past the "safe zone" and take their relationship to the next level, their long-awaited sexy getaway is derailed by a shocking...
 
 
The Fearless King

Katee Robert · Forever
Pages: 368
Format: Mass Market Paperback

From the New York Times bestselling author of Undercover Attraction comes a sexy convenience romance between the heir to a Texas oil company and the rugged, dangerous man who may be the only one who can help her out of deep family drama. Ultra-wealthy and super powerful, the King family...
 
 
Josephine Baker's Last Dance

Sherry Jones · Gallery Books
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker - actress, singer, dancer,...
 
 
Notes from a Black Woman's Diary: Selected Works of Kathleen Collins

Kathleen Collins · Ecco
Pages: 464
Format: Paperback

A stunning collection of fiction, diary entries, screenplays, and scripts by the brilliant African-American artist and filmmakerRelatively unknown during her life, the artist, filmmaker, and writer Kathleen Collins emerged on the literary scene in 2016 with the posthumous publication of the short...
 
 
Over the Fence

Mary Monroe · Dafina
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

In this page-turning novel set in the Depression-era South, New York Times bestselling author Mary Monroe transports readers to a small Alabama town where home is not always a sanctuary, and two neighboring families let pleasantries mask increasing resentment. . . Bootlegging was Milton...
 
 
Pleasured by You

Elle Wright · Dafina
Pages: 320
Format: Mass Market Paperback

For decades, the fate of Wellspring, Michigan, has been tied to the Wells family's fortunes - for better and worse. Their corporation keeps the small town afloat, despite the greed and corruption at its heart. But now, as the next generation comes into its own, a new day dawns . . . It's...
 
 
Queenie

Candice Carty-Williams · Gallery/Scout Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

"[B]rilliant, timely, funny, heartbreaking." - Jojo Moyes, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You Bridget Jones's Diary meets Americanah in this disarmingly honest, boldly political, and truly inclusive novel that will speak to anyone who has gone looking for love...
 
 
The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls

Anissa Gray · Berkley
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The Mothers meets An American Marriage in this dazzling debut novel about mothers and daughters, identity and family, and how the relationships that sustain you can also be the ones that consume you.The Butler family has had their share of trials - as sisters Althea, Viola, and Lillian...
 
 
The Perfect Love Storm

Anna Black · Urban Renaissance
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

A playboy bachelor helps a grieving widow learn to love again, but her heart is broken once more when she learns their relationship was based on a bet in the latest novel from Anna Black.Chase Storm is a rich, young bachelor with no intention of settling down. His reputation as the town's...
 
 
We Cast a Shadow: A Novel

Maurice Carlos Ruffin · One World
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A bold, provocative debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty's The Sellout, about a father's obsessive quest to protect his son - even if it means turning him white"An incisive and necessary work of brilliant satire." - Roxane Gay, author of Bad Feminist"You can be beautiful,...