Back TLCPL Picks for Kids | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  TLCPL Picks for Kids  
I'll Love You Till the Cows Come Home

KATHRYN CRISTALDI · HarperCollins
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

I will love you till the cows come homefrom a trip to Mars through skies unknownin a rocket ship made of glass and stone.I will love you till the cows come home. Love knows no bounds in this lyrical, gentle lullaby, a tender tribute to the depths of family love. Filled with warm, funny...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Rhino in Right Field

Stacy DeKeyser · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A boy who loves baseball must get past his hard-working immigrant parents - and the rhino in the outfield - to become a batboy in this laugh-out-loud middle grade novel in the tradition of The Sandlot.Nick wants to change his life. For twelve whole years, he's done what his hard-working,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Wish It Would Snow!

Sarah Dillard · Aladdin
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Let it snow! Let it snow! Let it snow! A little rabbit's wish comes true when the world becomes a winter wonderland in this witty, wistful picture book from the author of Extraordinary Warren.Winter has just begun, and one little bunny wants it to snow, hopes it will snow, and wishes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Herstory: 50 Women and Girls Who Shook Up the World

Katherine Halligan · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 112
Format: Hardcover

Move aside history - it's time for herstory. Celebrate fifty inspiring and powerful women who changed the world and left their mark in this lavishly illustrated biography compilation that's perfect for fans of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls and She Persisted. Throughout history, girls...
Read More check catalog
 
 
101 Kids Activities that are the Ooey, Gooey-est Ever!: Nonstop Fun with DIY Slimes, Doughs and Moldables

Jamie Harrington · Page Street Publishing
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

Squishy, Stretchy, Sticky, Smelly and Sparkly Ways to Play with Slime, Doughs and Other Squeezable Concoctions!Let your creativity and your imagination soar with these colorful, crazy-fun recipes for slime, dough, clay, foam, mud and more. Create amazing concoctions like Fake Snow, Color-Changing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Stitch in Time

Daphne Kalmar · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

An orphan grapples with her unpleasant aunt and the even more unpleasant idea of moving to Boston in this poignant middle-grade debut that handles loss and renewal."Heartbreaking and heartwarming at the same time, Donut's story is gritty, hopeful and ultimately all about the various...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Harold Loves His Woolly Hat

Vern Kousky · Schwartz & Wade
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

In this sweet picture book that celebrates selflessness and the joy of helping others, a little bear named Harold loses his beloved woolly hat--only to discover that others need it more.What makes a bear special? For Harold, it is his beloved striped woolly hat. He wears it when he sleeps,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spectacularly Beautiful: A Refugee's Story

Lisa Lucas · POW!
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A young refugee living in America learns to see herself as beautiful, in spite of physical and emotional scars from her troubled homeland, thanks to a gifted teacher.Spectacularly Beautiful tells the story of Shahad, a refugee who has moved to a new country and started at a new school with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stewart's Best Pen

Stephen W. Martin · Clarion Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Boy meets pen in this funny, concise, and touching picture book about maintaining friendship across great distances.Stewart may be a boy, and Craig may be a pen, but they are definitely best friends. The kind of friends who do everything together, who rely on each other, and who feel lost...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girls' Home Spa Lab: All-Natural Recipes, Healthy Habits, and Feel-Good Activities to Make You Glow

Maya Pagan · Storey Publishing, LLC
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback

For today's active, plugged-in girls ages 9 to 13, finding healthy ways to unwind and de-stress is an important part of well-being. Girls' Home Spa Lab is packed with all-natural recipes, activities, and tips for self-care and relaxation specially designed for tweens. From homemade...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beavers

Rachel Poliquin · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 96
Format: Hardcover

Beavers, the first book in the new middle-grade nonfiction Superhero Field Guide series by Rachel Poliquin and award-winning illustrator Nicholas John Frith, is a delightfully informative, laugh-out-loud full-color look at the most unsuspecting of animal heroes, perfect for readers who like...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Struttin' with Some Barbecue: Lil Hardin Armstrong Becomes the First Lady of Jazz

Patricia Hruby Powell

Lil Hardin and her man, Louis Armstrong, were musical royalty--inventing a new kind of sound--makin' jazz. Believe it, baby!This is the true story of Lil Hardin Armstrong: pianist, composer, and bandleader in the early days of jazz. Ahead of her time, Lil made a career for
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Owl's Snow

Divya Srinivasan · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Little Owl experiences his first snow and first winter in this perfect follow-up to Little Owl's Night and Little Owl's Day!"Winter's almost here!" says Little Owl, as he observes leaves falling, animal friends hibernating, and a chill from his feathers to his feet. And just as he and his friend...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Is That You, Eleanor Sue?

TRICIA TUSA · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Saturdays are dress-up days when Eleanor SueClimbs out the window . . .Tiptoes over to the front door . . .And rings the doorbell. Ding dong.When her mother answers, she doesn't see Eleanor Sue. She sees A cranky old neighbor. Or a hungry witch.Or a white-bearded wizard.Eleanor Sue is a master...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mia Mayhem Is a Superhero!

Kara West · Little Simon
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

Meet Mia Macarooney, an ordinary eight-year-old who finds out she has an extraordinary super-secret in this first chapter book in the brand-new Mia Mayhem series!Mia Macarooney is a regular eight-year-old girl who finds out that she's A SUPERHERO! Her life literally goes from totally...
Read More check catalog