Back TLCPL Picks for Kids | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  TLCPL Picks for Kids  
What Do You Do with a Voice Like That?: The Story of Extraordinary Congresswoman Barbara Jordan

Chris Barton · Beach Lane Books
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

"When Barbara Jordan talked, we listened." - Former President of the United States, Bill Clinton Congresswoman Barbara Jordan had a big, bold, confident voice - and she knew how to use it! Learn all about her amazing career in this illuminating and inspiring picture book biography...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace for Gus

HARRY BLISS · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Bestselling cartoonist and master visual storyteller Harry Bliss has concocted a delightful, near wordless graphic picture book with nods to famous cartoons, cultural icons, and the secret lives that creative people make for themselves.Grace is the quiet girl in the class. And Gus is the class...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Snowy Nap

Jan Brett · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

When winter comes, Hedgie tries to stay awake so he doesn't miss out on all the fun his friends are having.Snow is on the way, and as Hedgie trundles around the farm all his friends tell him of the winter-time fun he will miss as he hibernates--Icicles decorating the chicken coop! Lisa...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Marlo and the Dinosaurs

Christopher Browne · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Inspired by the author's rescue pit bull, this follow up to Marlo is another stunning oversized picture book with a playful seek-and-find element for readers to pore over. Perfect for fans of Aaron Becker's Caldecott Honor-winning book Journey and parents who loved Jurassic Park. When Marlo...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In a Small Kingdom

Tomie DePaola · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

This enthralling modern fairy tale from Caldecott and Newbery Honor winner Tomie dePaola and debut illustrator Doug Salati celebrates the greatest power of all: love.In a small kingdom along an ancient road, a bell rings out. The beloved king has died, leaving his magnificent and powerful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Poe Won't Go

Kelly DiPucchio · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

When an elephant plants himself in the road and refuses to move, the people of Prickly Valley try all sorts of methods to get him to go-but one thoughtful little girl works up the courage to do what no one else has done: ask him.Balancing both hilarity and sensitivity, Poe Won't Go has the feel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Island War

Patricia Reilly Giff · Holiday House
Format: Hardcover

A two-time Newbery Honor-winning author spins a tale of children surviving on their own on a remote Japanese-occupied island during World War II.Izzy has come to the remote Aleutian Island in 1941 because her mother is studying the rare birds there. Matt has been dragged there by his father,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lifeboat 12

Susan Hood · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of The War That Saved My Life and Stella By Starlight, this poignant novel in verse based on true events tells the story of a boy's harrowing experience on a lifeboat after surviving a torpedo attack during World War II.With Nazis bombing London every night, it's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pearl

Molly Schaar Idle · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Caldecott Honor author-illustrator Molly Idle dazzles with an original mermaid tale about how small, persistent actions can achieve great things.Sometimes the tiniest light can shine the brightest! Like the other mermaids of the deep, Pearl longs to care for the endless beaches, coral reefs,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Russell Wrestles the Relatives

CINDY CHAMBERS JOHNSON · Aladdin
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Everyone loves family reunions. Well everyone except Russell, whose family of big, brawny, and boisterous wrestlers has him on the run in this vibrant celebration of what it means to be a family.When the Relatives Came meets Wrestlemania in debut author Cindy Chambers Johnson's rollicking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ogre Enchanted

Gail Carson Levine · HarperCollins
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Set in the world of the Newbery Honor-winning Ella Enchanted, this tale by beloved author Gail Carson Levine stars a clever heroine who is determined to defy expectations - and outwit a fairy's curse.Evie is happiest when she is healing people, diagnosing symptoms and prescribing medications,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'm Tough!

KATE MCMULLAN

From the popular creators of I Stink! and I'm Dirty! comes the perfect tough addition to their noisy series: a pick-up truck!I'm not the BIGGEST TRUCK in the parking lot . . . but when my cargo bed's PACKED and STACKEDI've got what it takes to HAUL it ALL!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Something Rotten: A Fresh Look at Roadkill

Heather L Montgomery · Bloomsbury Children's Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl With a Mind for Math: The Story of Raye Montague

Julia Finley Mosca · The Innovation Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Meet Raye Montague -- the hidden mastermind who made waves in the U.S. Navy! After touring a German submarine in the early 1940s, young Raye set her sights on becoming an engineer. Little did she know sexism and racial inequality would challenge that dream every step of the way, even keeping...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eavesdropping on Elephants: How Listening Helps Conservation

Patricia Newman · Millbrook Pr
Pages: 56
Format: Library Binding

"Can understanding how forest elephants communicate help scientists find ways to protect them? Come behind the scenes of Cornell University's Elephant Listening Project to see what's being done to keep these majestic animals safe."--
Read More check catalog
 
 
Aquicorn Cove

KATIE O'NEILL · Oni Press
Pages: 96
Format: Hardcover

Unable to rely on the adults in her storm-ravaged seaside town, a young girl must protect a colony of magical seahorse-like creatures she discovers in the coral reef.From the award-winning author of PRINCESS PRINCESS EVER AFTER and THE TEA DRAGON SOCIETY comes AQUICORN COVE, a heartfelt...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Giants, Trolls, Witches, Beasts: Ten Tales from the Deep, Dark Woods

Craig Phillips · Allen & Unwin
Pages: 222
Format: Paperback

A cobbler girl tricks the Wawel Dragon, after all the king's knights fail. The Polar Bear King loses his skin. Momotaro, born from a peach, defies the ogres everyone else is too scared to face. Snow White and Rose Red make friends with a bear. From Poland to Iceland, Japan to Germany,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lu

JASON REYNOLDS · Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Lu must learn to leave his ego on the sidelines if he wants to finally connect with others in the climax to the New York Times bestselling and award-winning Track series from Jason Reynolds. Lu was born to be cocaptain of the Defenders. Well, actually, he was born albino, but that's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Dictionary Caper

Judy Sierra · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

When all of the words escape from the dictionary, it's up to Noah Webster to restore alphabetical order in this supremely wacky picture book that celebrates language.Words have secret lives. On a quiet afternoon the words escape the dictionary (much to the consternation of Mr. Noah Webster)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Girl: Garden to Table: Fresh Recipes to Cook & Share

Williams Sonoma Test Kitchen · Bonnier WO
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

New in the best-selling American Girl cooking series are more than 50 recipes for kid-friendly dishes that highlight seasonal ingredients, Garden to Table will inspire young chefs to learn about eating fresh food - and cooking delicious (and nourishing!) dishes while perfecting kitchen...
Read More check catalog