Back TLCPL Picks for Kids | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  TLCPL Picks for Kids  
The Undefeated

Kwame Alexander · Versify
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

The Newbery Award-winning author of THE CROSSOVER pens an ode to black American triumph and tribulation, with art from a two-time Caldecott Honoree. Originally performed for ESPN's The Undefeated, this poem is a love letter to black life in the United States. It highlights the unspeakable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trace

PAT CUMMINGS · HarperCollins
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In a debut novel that's perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Erin Entrada Kelly, award-winning author/illustrator and educator Pat Cummings tells a poignant story about grief, love, and the untold stories that echo across time. Trace Carter doesn't know how to feel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Do Not Bring Your Dragon to Recess

JULIE GASSMAN · Capstone Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Dragons are more than just fire and wings. They have outside interests like slides and swings. But can a dragon follow the rules and use proper playground manners at recess? With the help of her best friend she can! This is the third book in author Julie Gassman's popular dragon series....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Indoors

Julie Falatko

When the humans head out to go camping, the animals settle in for a relaxing holiday of their own! Teen bear takes over the bathroom with her curling iron, the beavers prepare their fanciest recipes, and the deer kick up their feet for a dance party. What starts as a little unwind
Read More check catalog
 
 
Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers

Margaret Peterson Haddix · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Told from separate viewpoints, Chess, Emma, and Finn Greystone, ages twelve, ten, and eight, investigate why their mother went missing and uncover their ties to an alternate world.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Billions, Trillions, Quadrillions: Making Sense of Really Big Numbers

Lynn Huggins-Cooper · Qeb Publishing - Quarto Library
Pages: 80
Format: Library Binding

Billions, Trillions, Quadrillions helps readers understand large numbers by relating them to everyday situations. It's hard to imagine what a crowd of one billion people would look like—but if one billion children stood on each other's shoulders, they would reach past the moon! Simple...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Home Run, Touchdown, Basket, Goal!: Sports Poems for Little Athletes

Leo Landry · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A picture book of rhyming verse celebrates sports throughout the seasons, from baseball and basketball to karate and swimming.
Read More check catalog
 
 
When a Tiger Comes to Dinner

Jessica Olien · Balzer Bray
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A funny interactive picture book that's great for reading aloud. Perfect for fans of Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus.A tiger is coming to dinner! Are you ready?Luckily, this book can help. Ask yourself, do tigers . . . Like to play a rousing game of Go Fish?Prefer peanut butter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Seeds Move!

Robin Page · Beach Lane Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Discover the fascinating and surprising ways that seeds move and find a place to grow in this gorgeous picture book from Caldecott Honoree Robin Page.Every seed, big or small, needs sunlight, water, and an uncrowded place to put down roots. But how do seeds get to the perfect place to grow?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
50 Things to see With a Telescope: A young stargazer's guide

John A. Read · Formac
Pages: 72
Format: Hardcover

John A. Read covers everything needed to identify constellations, planets, stars, galaxies, nebulae and more. Inquisitive stargazers will find planet hunting and star hopping easy with clearly plotted routes and images of the sky both as seen by the naked eye and detailed views from a telescope.Many...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Here and There

Tamara Ellis Smith

A young boy, Ivan, experiences the early stages of his parents' separation and finds hope in the beauty and music of nature. This tale of personal growth will provide a much-needed mirror for children in times of change -- and an important reminder for all that there's beauty ever
Read More check catalog
 
 
Backyard Adventure: Get Messy, Get Wet, Build Cool Things, and Have Tons of Wild Fun! 51 Free-Play Activities

Amanda Thomsen · Storey Publishing, LLC
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback

The backyard has long been a space associated with recreation and relaxation, a private patch of earth to escape to, and a springboard for the imagination. In her signature style and drawing on her personal experience as a mother, gardener, and author, Amanda Thomsen encourages kids to create...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Guitar Genius: How Les Paul Engineered the Solid-Body Electric Guitar and Rocked the World

Kim Tomsic · Chronicle Books
Pages: 56
Format: Hardcover

This is the story of how Les Paul created the world's first solid- body electric guitar, countless other inventions that changed modern music, and one truly epic career in rock and roll. How to make a microphone? A broomstick, a cinderblock, a telephone, a radio. How to make an electric...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Kite for Moon

Jane Yolen

A Kite for Moon, written by New York Times bestselling author of How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight? Jane Yolen and her daughter, Heidi E. Y. Stemple, tells a heartfelt story about a young boy's fascination and unlikely friendship with the moon. With whimsical illustrations by awar
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Night Library

David Zeltser · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

The Polar Express meets The Night at the Museum in this fantastical picture-book adventure about the magic of books and libraries, perfect for book lovers of all ages!After a young boy goes to sleep upset that he's getting a book for his birthday, he's visited in the night by Patience...
Read More check catalog