Back New Juvenile Fiction and Nonfiction | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Juvenile Fiction and Nonfiction  
Gillbert #2: The Curious Mysterious

Art Baltazar

Young Gillbert is the prince of the underwater world of Atlanticus. Together with his best friend Sherbert and mysterious new friend Anne Phibian, Gillbert is curious to where all these bottled messages floating throughout the ocean are coming from. Could the fiery Pyrockians from
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Kids' Complete Guide to Elections

Emma Carlson Berne

What's a ballot? Can you dance at a politcal party? And what do a donkey and an elephant have to do with it all? Election Day is coming up and with it comes a lot of questions about the U.S. electoral process. From campaigns and politcal parties to voting, kids can find out all ab
Read More check catalog
 
 
It's a Numbers Game! Basketball: The math behind the perfect bounce pass, the buzzer-beating bank shot, and so much more!

James Buckley Jr

Why do NBA players only have 24 seconds to score a basket? What's the geometry behind making the perfect shot? Become a basketball pro and learn all about the numbers and math behind this popular sport.

Numbers are everywhere in basketball--from the dimensions of the court
Read More check catalog
 
 
1,000 Facts About Dinosaurs, Fossils, and Prehistoric Life

Patricia Daniels

T. rex, triceratops, pterosaurs, saber-toothed cats! This colorful reference book is jam-packed with 1,000 fascinating facts about what these prehistoric creatures looked like, how they lived, and the evidence they left behind.

From dinosaurs like Stegosaurus
Read More check catalog
 
 
Farah Rocks Fifth Grade

Susan Muaddi Darraj

Farah and her best friend, Allie Liu, are getting excited to turn in their applications to the Magnet Academy, where they both hope to attend sixth grade. But when new girl Dana Denver shows up, Farah's world is turned upside down. As Dana starts bullying Farah's little brother, S
Read More check catalog
 
 
Major Impossible

Hale, Nathan

The ninth book in the bestselling series tells the story of John Wesley Powell, the one-armed geologist who explored the Grand Canyon

John Wesley Powell (1834-1902) always had the spirit of adventure in him. As a young man, he traveled all over the United States ex

Read More check catalog
 
 
Notorious

Gordon Korman

A funny, suspenseful mystery and unlikely friendship story from New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman - perfect for fans of Swindle and Ungifted.

Keenan has lived all over the world but nowhere quite as strange as Centerlight Island, which is split between the U

Read More check catalog
 
 
True to Your Selfie

Megan McCafferty · Scholastic Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The most hilarious, charming, realistic story of middle-grade friendships you'll ever read, from Megan McCafferty, the mega bestselling, beloved author of Sloppy Firsts.Twelve-year-old Ella has everything she needs to take seventh grade by storm, from the perfect outfit to the perfect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Real Pigeons Fight Crime

Andrew McDonald

Ever wonder why pigeons act so weird? Because they are secretly chasing bad guys and flying around saving your butt! This hilarious illustrated series is perfect for fans of BAD GUYS and DOG MAN.

What do REAL PIGEONS do? They fight crime, of course! Wait, what? You didn't k
Read More check catalog
 
 
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties

Sue Macy

Award-winning author Sue Macy offers a fresh and timely account of women in sports in the 1920s, and how their determination, talent, and defiance in the face of criticism promoted women's rights, redefined femininity, and changed the course of history.

Macy offers a rare a
Read More check catalog
 
 
From the Desk of Zoe Washington

Janae Marks · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"Enticing and enthralling." -Jewell Parker RhodesFrom debut author Janae Marks comes a captivating mystery full of heart, as one courageous girl questions assumptions, searches for the truth, and does what she believes is right - even in the face of great opposition. A perfect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Birdie and Me

J. M. M. Nuanez

"Here is a book you will want to hug before you put it down." --Kathi Appelt

An emotional and uplifting debut about a girl named Jack and her gender creative little brother, Birdie, searching for the place where they can be their true and best selves.

Afte
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Magnificent Monsters of Cedar Street

Lauren Oliver

From the bestselling author of E. B. White Read-Aloud Honor Book Liesl & Po comes a timely and relevant adventure story about monsters of all kinds - and a girl brave enough to save them.

Cordelia Clay loves the work she and her father do together: saving and healing

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Amazing Life of Azaleah Lane

Nikki Shannon Smith

Azaleah can't wait for her class field trip to the National Zoo in Washington D.C., especially when her teacher announces the chance to earn extra credit. But when Azaleah gets home, she quickly realizes extra credit isn't as easy as she thought. Azaleah's younger sister Tiana can
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Survived The Sinking of the Titanic, 1912

Lauren Tarshis

A thrilling graphic novel adaptation of Lauren Tarshis's bestselling I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912!

Ten-year-old George Calder can't wait to explore every inch of the Titanic, even if his little sister, Phoebe, has to tag along. But when Georg

Read More check catalog