Back New Juvenile Fiction and Nonfiction | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Juvenile Fiction and Nonfiction  
Gold Rush Girl

Avi

Newbery Medalist Avi brings us mud-caked, tent-filled San Francisco in 1848 with a willful heroine who goes on an unintended - and perilous - adventure to save her brother.

Victoria Blaisdell longs for independence and adventure, and she yearns to accompany her father a
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Blackbird Girls

Anne Blankman · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Like Ruta Sepetys for middle grade, Anne Blankman pens a poignant and timeless story of friendship that twines together moments in underexplored history.On a spring morning, neighbors Valentina Kaplan and Oksana Savchenko wake up to an angry red sky. A reactor at the nuclear power plant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Woke: A Young Poet's Call to Justice

Mahogany L. Browne

Woke: A Young Poet's Guide to Justice is a collection of poems to inspire kids to stay woke and become a new generation of activists.

Historically poets have been on the forefront of social movements. Woke is a collection of poems by women that reflects the

Read More check catalog
 
 
Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valor

Ally Carter

New York Times best-selling author Ally Carter's middle grade debut is full of mystery, mayhem, and friendship, and it will keep you guessing until the very end.

April didn't mean to start the fire. She wasn't even the one who broke the vase.

She had absolu

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Black Girls in Town

Brandy Colbert

Award-winning YA author Brandy Colbert's debut middle-grade novel about the only two black girls in town who discover a collection of hidden journals revealing shocking secrets of the past.

Beach-loving surfer Alberta has been the only black girl in town for years. Alberta
Read More check catalog
 
 
Extreme Ocean: Amazing Animals, High-Tech Gear, Record-Breaking Depths, and More

Sylvia Earle · National Geographic Children's Books
Pages: 112
Format: Library Binding

Discover the most outrageous aspects of the deep blue---from record-breaking depths to towering tsunamis, underwater giants to tiny sea creatures--along with ocean conservation challenges and what you can do to help.Dive into a world of aquatic mystery in this action-packed combination...
Read More check catalog
 
 
InvestiGators

John Patrick Green

John Patrick Green's goofy graphic novel series follows the super spy alligator duo the InvestiGators as they travel through the sewers and fight the forces of evil.

MANGO and BRASH are the INVESTIGATORS:
sewer-loving agents of S.U.I.T.* and scourge of supervillains ev

Read More check catalog
 
 
Stand Up, Yumi Chung!

Jessica Kim · Kokila
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

One lie snowballs into a full-blown double life in this irresistible story about an aspiring stand-up comedian.On the outside, Yumi Chung suffers from #shygirlproblems, a perm-gone-wrong, and kids calling her "Yu-MEAT" because she smells like her family's Korean barbecue restaurant....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Snapdragon

Kat Leyh

Kat Leyh's Snapdragon is a magical realist graphic novel about a young girl who befriends her town's witch and discovers the strange magic within herself.

Snap's town had a witch.

At least, that's how the rumor goes. But in reality, Jacks is just a crocks-wea

Read More check catalog
 
 
Mulan: Before the Sword

Grace Lin · Disney Press
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author Grace Lin pens this novel filled with adventure and wonder set before the upcoming Walt Disney Studios Mulan film.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wondrous Rex

Patricia MacLachlan

Newbery Medal-winning author Patricia MacLachlan has written a magical and funny tale about the joy found in using words, sharing stories, and loving a wondrous dog: Rex.

Grace's aunt is a writer. She works with words every day and teaches Grace interesting words like &qu

Read More check catalog
 
 
Can You See Me?

Libby Scott

A coming-of-age story about learning to celebrate yourself -- and teaching the world to recognize you, too -- perfect for fans of R. J. Palacio's Wonder!

"This glimpse into the world of a young autistic girl is astonishingly insightful and honest. Tally's struggl
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fierce 44: Black Americans Who Shook Up the World

The Staff of The Undefeated

A dynamic and hip collective biography that presents 44 of America's greatest movers and shakers from Frederick Douglass to Aretha Franklin to Barack Obama, written by ESPN's TheUndefeated.com and illustrated with dazzling portraits by Rob Ball.

Meet forty-four of America's
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Runaway Princess

Johan Troianowski

This princess can't resist the lure of adventure, but her parents aren't quite on board in this fantastical graphic novel perfect for fans of Princess in Black and Phoebe and Her Unicorn!

Robin? Robin? Robin?! Where are you?

She couldn't have gone far. . . .

P
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Story Seeker: A New York Public Library Book

Kristin O'Donnell Tubb

The follow-up to The Story Collector, Kristen O'Donnell Tubb's The Story Thief delivers a heartwarming middle grade mystery that captures the illustrious New York Public Library during the roaring 20's...
Read More check catalog