Toledo Lucas County Public Library
 
Simple News Pro
  Science Fiction and Fantasy  
Cry Pilot

Joel Dane · Ace
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback

A devastated Earth. Rogue bio-weapons. And a recruit with secrets. In this explosive new military science fiction novel, a tight-knit infantry squad is thrown into battle against a mysterious enemy that appears without warning and strikes without mercy.

There's only one way for a man with...
 
 
Stranger Things: SIX

Jody Houser · Dark Horse Books
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback

A prequel comic from Netflix' award-winning series, delving into the mysterious workings of Project MKUltra and the weird science that opened the door to the Upside Down.Francine, a teenage girl with precognition, has struggled through a lifetime of exploitation: first by her parents,...
 
 
The Library of the Unwritten

A. J. Hackwith · Ace
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

In the first book in a brilliant new fantasy series, books that aren't finished by their authors reside in the Library of the Unwritten in Hell, and it is up to the Librarian to track down any restless characters who emerge from those unfinished stories.

Many years ago, Claire was named...
 
 
Fallen

Benedict Jacka · Ace
Pages: 304
Format: Mass Market Paperback

For Mage Alex Verus, everything is on the line in the tenth urban fantasy novel from the national bestselling author of Marked.Once Alex Verus was a diviner trying to live quietly under the radar. Now he's a member of the Light Council who's found success, friends...and love. But it's...
 
 
Rusty Brown

Chris Ware · Pantheon
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A major graphic novel event more than 16 years in progress: part one of the ongoing bifurcated masterwork from the brilliant and beloved author of Jimmy Corrigan: The Smartest Kid on Earth and Building Stories.

Rusty Brown is a fully interactive, full-color articulation...
 
 
Aurora Blazing: A Novel

Jessie Mihalik · Harper Voyager
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

To save her brother and protect her family's future, a powerful princess must join forces with a dashing man from her past in this thrilling space adventure, the second novel in the Consortium Rebellion trilogy.As the dutiful daughter of High House von Hasenberg, Bianca set aside her personal...
 
 
The Gurkha and the Lord of Tuesday

Saad Z. Hossain · Tor.com
Pages: 176
Format: Paperback

"Saad Z. Hossain continues to blow through the flimsy walls of genre like a whirlwind with The Gurkha and the Lord of Tuesday, sweeping science-fiction, fantasy, myth, and satire into the wildly imaginative vortex of his ever-expanding fictional universe of alternate djinn-history...

 
 
The Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy 2019

John Joseph Adams · Mariner Books
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback

The best science fiction and fantasy stories from 2018, guest-edited by National Book Award finalist Carmen Maria Machado. Today's readers of science fiction and fantasy have an appetite for stories that address a wide variety of voices, perspectives, and styles. There is an openness...
 
 
Angel Mage

Garth Nix · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

A new fantasy masterpiece from Garth Nix, bestselling author of the Old Kingdom series.

More than a century has passed since Liliath crept into the empty sarcophagus of Saint Marguerite, fleeing the Fall of Ystara. But she emerges from her magical sleep still beautiful, looking...

 
 
The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future

Veronica Roth · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth delivers a stunning collection of novella-length stories set in the future, illustrated with startling black-and-white artwork.

No world is like the other. Within this masterful collection, each setting is more strange...

 
 
Call Down the Hawk

Maggie Stiefvater · Scholastic Press
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Raven Boys, a mesmerizing story of dreams and desires, death and destiny. The dreamers walk among us . . . and so do the dreamed. Those who dream cannot stop dreaming - they can only try to control it. Those who are dreamed cannot have...
 
 
Fireborne

Rosaria Munda · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

"Fireborne is everything I want in fantasy."--Rachel Hartman, New York Times bestselling author of SeraphinaGame of Thrones meets Red Rising in a debut young adult fantasy that's full of rivalry, romance . . . and dragons.Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal revolution...
 
 
Sword and Pen

Rachel Caine · Berkley
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

With the future of the Great Library in doubt, the unforgettable characters from Ink and Bone must decide if it's worth saving in this thrilling adventure in the New York Times bestselling series.

The corrupt leadership of the Great Library has fallen. But with the Archivist...
 
 
Supernova

Marissa Meyer · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

All's fair in love and anarchy... Supernova, the epic conclusion to New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer's thrilling Renegades Trilogy finds Nova and Adrian struggling to keep their secret identities concealed while the battle rages on between their alter egos, their...
 
 
Song of the Dark Crystal #2

J. M. Lee · Penguin Workshop
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

Before you watch the upcoming Netflix series, read the original novels from J. M. Lee (The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance) that intertwine with the events of the series.Kylan of Sami Thicket is a skilled song teller, but singing the tales of long-gone heroes won't help his friends...
 
 
Tides of the Dark Crystal #3

J. M. Lee · Penguin Workshop
Pages: 296
Format: Paperback

The third book in an original series of novels set in the world of Netflix's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance.Tides of the Dark Crystal is the third book in a series of original young adult novels set in the world of Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal. As the Skeksis turn on the Gelfling,...
 
 
Beyond the Black Door

A. M. Strickland · Imprint
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Beyond the Black Door is a young adult dark fantasy about unlocking the mysteries around and within us -- no matter the cost...Everyone has a soul. Some are beautiful gardens, others are frightening dungeons. Soulwalkers -- like Kamai and her mother -- can journey into other people's...
 
 
Meet Me in the Future: Stories

Kameron Hurley · Tachyon Publications
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

"One of the best story collections of the past few years." -- BOOKLIST , starred review
"16 hard-edged pieces that gleam like gems in a mosaic." -- Publishers Weekly, starred review
"Kameron Hurley is a badass." -- Annalee Newitz, author...
 
 
Lies of Descent

Troy Carrol Bucher · Daw Books
Format: Book

In this compelling fantasy from a debut author, two young people must unite two warring cultures to banish the gods who destroyed their homeland.

The Fallen Gods' War drove the remnants of a victorious army across the ocean in search of a new homeland. A thousand...

 
 
The Echo Chamber: A Novel

Rhett J. Evans · Permuted Press
Format: Paperback

Mike is a Silicon Valley wunderkind who stood idly by while his company launched an addicting social media platform that made the world take a turn for the worse. He did nothing when an outrageous tech scandal pushed a polarized country to the brink of collapse. Then, after becoming...

 
 
Crier's War

Nina Varela · HarperTeen
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

From debut author Nina Varela comes the first book in an Own Voices, richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girls - one human, one Made - whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution.

Perfect for fans of Marie Rutkoski's The Winner's Curse...

 
 
The Waters and the Wild

Mercedes Lackey · Baen
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BEST-SELLING AUTHOR. ENTRY #10 IN MERCEDES LACKEY'S CELEBRATED SERRATED EDGE URBAN FANTASY SERIES! Deeply depressed Olivia, whose parents are divorcing, is ripe for manipulation. And swimming star Blake is looking for someone just like her. Although her friend tries...
 
 
The New Annotated H.P. Lovecraft: Beyond Arkham

H. P. Lovecraft · Liveright
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

No lover of gothic literature will want to be without this literary keepsake, the final volume of Leslie Klinger's tour-de-force chronicle of Lovecraft's canon.

In 2014, The New Annotated H. P. Lovecraft was published to widespread acclaim -- vaunted as a "treasure trove"...

 
 
The Night

Philippe Druillet · Titan Comics
Pages: 72
Format: Hardcover

Comics master Philippe Druillet muses on death in this psychedelic tale of drug-addled biker gangs battling it out at the end of the world.In 1975 Philippe Druillet lost his wife Nicole to cancer. He exorcized the demons her death left behind in The Night, a nihilistic story about the inevitable...
 
 
Monster Hunter Guardian

Larry Correia
Format: Book

NEW ENTRY IN THE BESTSELLING MONSTER HUNTER INTERNATIONAL SERIES BY DRAGON AWARD-WINNING AUTHORS LARRY CORREIA AND SARAH A. HOYT

When Owen Pitt and the rest of the Monster Hunter International crew are called away to mount a month's-long rescue mission in a monster-infested...

 
 
The Gossamer Mage

Julie E. Czerneda · Daw Books
Format: Book

Only in Tananen do people worship a single deity: the Deathless Goddess. Only in this small, forbidden realm are there those haunted by words of no language known to woman or man. The words are Her Gift, and they summon magic.

Mage scribes learn to write Her words as intentions:...

 
 
Children of Virtue and Vengeance

Tomi Adeyemi · Macmillan Young Listeners
Format: Audiobook

After battling the impossible, Zélie and Amari have finally succeeded in bringing magic back to the land of Orïsha. But the ritual was more powerful than they could've imagined, reigniting the powers of not only the maji, but of nobles with magic ancestry,...

 
 
Kingdom of Exiles

Maxym M. Martineau · Sourcebooks Casablanca
Format: Book

Exiled Charmer Leena Edenfrell is running out of time. Empty pockets forced her to sell her beloved magical beasts-an offense punishable by death-and now there's a price on her head. With the realm's most talented murderer-for-hire nipping at her heels, Leena makes Noc an offer...