Back Science Fiction and Fantasy | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science Fiction and Fantasy  
Ancestral Night

Elizabeth Bear · Saga Press
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

A space salvager and her partner make the discovery of a lifetime that just might change the universe in this wild, big-ideas space opera from multi award-winning author Elizabeth Bear.Halmey Dz and her partner Connla Kurucz are salvage operators, living just on the inside of the law...usually....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Middlewest Book 1

Skottie Young · Image Comics
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback

The lands between the coasts are vast, slow to change, and full of hidden magics. The town of Farmington has been destroyed sending an unwitting adventurer and his vulpine companion in search of answers to quell a coming storm that speaks his name. From author SKOTTIE YOUNG (I HATE FAIRYLAND,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Grand Dark

Richard Kadrey · Harper Voyager
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

rom the bestselling author of the Sandman Slim series, a lush, dark, stand-alone fantasy built off the insurgent tradition of China Mieville and M. John Harrison - a subversive tale that immerses us in a world where the extremes of bleakness and beauty exist together in dangerous harmony...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Circle of the Moon

FAITH HUNTER · Ace
Pages: 368
Format: Mass Market Paperback

Set in the same world as Faith Hunter's New York Times bestselling Jane Yellowrock novels, the fourth Soulwood novel stars Nell Ingram, who channels her power from the earth.Nell can draw magic from the land around her, and lately she's been using it to help the Psy-Law Enforcement Division,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rise

Ellen Goodlett · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Dark pasts and forbidden romances haunt three ambitious sisters as they fight to inherit the throne in this sequel to Rule, which New York Times bestselling author Elly Blake called "dazzling" and "pulse-pounding."Sisters Akeylah, Ren, and Zofi are all a step closer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
FKA USA: A Novel

Reed King · Flatiron Books
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

Reed King's amazingly audacious novel is something of a cross between L. Frank Baum's The Wizard of Oz, Douglas Adams's A Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Cormac McCarthy's The Road, and Ernest Cline's Ready Player One.In Reed King's wildly imaginative and possibly prescient debut, the United...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Emily Eternal

M. G. Wheaton · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Meet Emily, "the best AI character since HAL 9000" (Blake Crouch) . She can solve advanced mathematical problems, unlock the mind's deepest secrets, but unfortunately, even she can't restart the sun. Emily is an artificial consciousness, designed in a lab to help humans process...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Storm and Fury

Jennifer L. Armentrout · Inkyard Press
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the #1 New York Times, USA TODAY and internationally bestselling author of the fantastical Dark Elements and the Lux series comes a new novel set in a world of gargoyle protectors, rising demons and one girl with an explosive secret.Eighteen-year-old Trinity Marrow may be going blind,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Green Valley

Louis Greenberg · Titan Books
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Chilling near-future SF for fans of Black Mirror and True Detective.When Lucie Sterling's niece is abducted, she knows it won't be easy to find answers. Stanton is no ordinary city: invasive digital technology has been banned, by public vote. No surveillance state, no shadowy companies...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Soulkeeper

David Dalglish · Orbit
Pages: 720
Format: Paperback

When magic returns to the world, one man must lay aside his words of peace and take up the sword to defend humanity in the first book of this bold new trilogy by USA Today bestselling author David Dalglish. Devin Eveson is a Soulkeeper, traveling through remote villages as a preacher and healer....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ghosts of the Shadow Market

Cassandra Clare · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 672
Format: Hardcover

From New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Cassandra Clare comes an exciting new short story collection that follows Jem Carstairs as he travels through the many Shadow Markets around the world. Ghosts of the Shadow Market is a Shadowhunters novel. The Shadow Market is a meeting...
Read More check catalog