Back New Fiction | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  TLCPL Picks for Fiction  
The Heavens

Sandra Newman · Grove Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

New York, late summer, 2000. A party in a spacious Manhattan apartment, hosted by a wealthy young activist. Dozens of idealistic twenty-somethings have impassioned conversations over takeout dumplings and champagne. The evening shines with the heady optimism of a progressive new millennium....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ruin of Kings

Jenn Lyons · Tor Books
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

Jenn Lyons begins The Godslayer Cycle with The Ruin of Kings, an epic fantasy novel about a man who discovers his fate is tied to the future of an empire. Kihrin is a bastard orphan who grew up on storybook tales of long-lost princes and grand quests. When he is claimed against his will...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Past Due for Murder: A Blue Ridge Library Mystery

Victoria Gilbert · Crooked Lane Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Miranda James and Jenn McKinlay, the third conspiratorially delightful third entry in Victoria Gilbert's critically acclaimed Blue Ridge Library mysteries.Has a curse fallen on the small town of Taylorsford, Virginia? After a young woman goes missing during a spring bonfire,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unconditional Freedom

Alyssa Cole · Kensington
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

An assassination plot that could end the Civil War, and a hidden enemy that could destroy a secret league of unsung heroes . . .

Daniel Cumberland, born free in Massachusetts, studied law with dreams of helping his people - dreams that died the night he was kidnapped and sold...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Unforgettable You

Brenda Novak · MIRA
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author Brenda Novak returns to Silver Springs, where no past mistake is so big the heart can't find a way to fix itJada Brooks couldn't have known how her life would change when she fell for bad boy Maddox Richardson back in high school. She couldn't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Vanishing Man: A Prequel to the Charles Lenox Series

Charles Finch · Minotaur Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the critically acclaimed and USA Today bestselling author Charles Finch comes THE VANISHING MAN, the second in a prequel trilogy to his Charles Lenox Victorian series, in which the theft of an antique painting sends Detective Lenox on a hunt for a criminal mastermind.

London,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Forget You Know Me: A Novel

Jessica Strawser · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The next "masterful" (Publishers Weekly) novel from "the gifted Jessica Strawser" (Adriana Trigiani) , hailed as "immensely satisfying" (Kathleen Barber) and "that book you can't put down" (Sally Hepworth) . A video call between...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Josephine Baker's Last Dance

Sherry Jones · Gallery Books
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.

Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Good Lie: A Novel

Tom Rosenstiel · Ecco
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

An intelligent and propulsive international political thriller in which political fixer Peter Rena is hired by the president to investigate the bombing of an American military base overseas

When a shadowy American diplomatic complex is attacked in North Africa, the White House...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Next to Die: A Novel

Sophie Hannah · William Morrow
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of The Monogram Murders and Woman with a Secret returns with a disturbing tale of psychological suspense and obsession that hits at the heart of some of our most precious relationships.

What if having a best friend could put you in the crosshairs...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Psychology of Time Travel: A Novel

Kate Mascarenhas · Crooked Lane Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly's Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel, a mind-bending, time-travel debut.

In 1967, four female scientists worked together to build the world's first time machine. But just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trigger

David Swinson · Mulholland Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover



Frank Marr was a good cop, until his burgeoning addictions to alcohol and cocaine forced him into retirement from the D.C. Metro police. Now, he's barely eking out a living as a private investigator for a defense attorney--also Frank's ex-girlfriend.
Ostracized by his family...
Read More check catalog
 
 
As Long as We Both Shall Live: A Novel

JoAnn Chaney · Flatiron Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

What happens when you're really, truly done making your marriage work? You can't be married to someone without sometimes wanting to bash them over the head ...

As Long As We Both Shall Live is JoAnn Chaney's wicked, masterful examination of a marriage gone very wrong,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Death in Provence: A Novel

Serena Kent · Harper
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The first entry in a clever, lighthearted mystery series set in modern Provence - a delightful blend of Agatha Christie and Peter Mayle - featuring the irrepressible Penelope Kite, a young-at-heart divorcee with a knack for stumbling across dead bodies.

It's love at first sight...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Cherokee America

Margaret Verble · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the Pulitzer Prize finalist Maud's Line, an epic novel that follows a web of complex family alliances and culture clashes in the Cherokee Nation during the aftermath of the Civil War, and the unforgettable woman at its center.It's the early spring of 1875 in the Cherokee...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Terminal Uprising

Jim C. Hines · DAW
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Human civilization didn't just fall. It was pushed. The Krakau came to Earth in the year 2104. By 2105, humanity had been reduced to shambling, feral monsters. In the Krakau's defense, it was an accident, and a century later, they did come back and try to fix us. Sort of. It's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hunting Party: A Novel

Lucy Foley · William Morrow
Pages: 320
Format: Book

Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect...

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Atlas of Reds and Blues: A Novel

Devi S. Laskar · Counterpoint
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

"Devi S. Laskar's The Atlas of Reds and Blues is as narratively beautiful as it is brutal. In prose that moves between cushioning characters' falls and ushering our understandings of characters' utopias, Laskar creates a world where the consequences of American terror never...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Woman in the Lake

Nicola Cornick · Graydon House
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

In the tradition of the lush historical dramas of Kate Morton, Philippa Gregory and Barbara Erskine, USA TODAY bestselling author Nicola Cornick's The Woman in the Lake is a delicious tale of jealousy, greed, plotting and revenge that spans the generations between decadent Georgian society...
Read More check catalog