Back Weekly Staff Picks | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Weekly Staff Picks  
Mrs. Everything: A Novel

Jennifer Weiner · Atria Books
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

From Jennifer Weiner, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Who Do You Love and In Her Shoes comes a smart, thoughtful, and timely exploration of two sisters' lives from the 1950s to the present as they struggle to find their places - and be true to themselves - in a rapidly evolving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Paris, 7 A.M.

· Simon & Schuster
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The acclaimed, award-winning author of A Watch of Nightingales imagines in a sweeping and stunning novel what happened to the poet Elizabeth Bishop during three life-changing weeks she spent in Paris amidst the imminent threat of World War II.June 1937. Elizabeth Bishop, still only a young...
Read More check catalog
 
 
More Than Enough: Claiming Space for Who You Are

Elaine Welteroth · Viking
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In this part-manifesto, part-memoir, the revolutionary editor who infused social consciousness into the pages of Teen Vogue explores what it means to come into your own--on your own termsThroughout her life, Elaine Welteroth has climbed the ranks of media and fashion, shattering ceilings...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The History of Living Forever: A Novel

Jake Wolff · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A chemistry student falls for his teacher and uncovers a centuries-old quest for the Elixir of LifeConrad Aybinder is a boy with a secret; sixteen and ready for anything. A chemistry genius, he has spent the summer on an independent-study project with his favorite teacher, Sammy Tampari....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love Thy Neighbor: A Muslim Doctor's Struggle for Home in Rural America

Ayaz Virji M.D. · Convergent Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

A powerful true story about a Muslim doctor's service to a small town and the hope of overcoming our country's climate of hostility and fear.In 2013, Ayaz Virji left a comfortable job at an East Coast hospital and moved to a town of 1,400 in Minnesota, feeling called to address the shortage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sol Majestic: A novel

Ferrett Steinmetz · Tor Books
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

The Sol Majestic is a big-hearted and delightful intergalactic adventure for fans of Becky Chambers and The Good Place "A feast of a book." -- Hugo Award-winning author Seanan McGuire Kenna, an aspirational teen guru, wanders destitute across the stars as he tries to achieve his parents'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Places and Names: On War, Revolution, and Returning

Elliot Ackerman · Penguin Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

From a decorated Marine war veteran and National Book Award Finalist, an astonishing reckoning with the nature of combat and the human cost of the wars in Iraq, Afghanistan and Syria."War hath determined us ..." - John Milton, Paradise LostToward the beginning of Places and Names,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bunny: A Novel

Mona Awad · Viking
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The Vegetarian meets Heathers in this darkly funny, seductively strange novel about a lonely graduate student drawn into a clique of rich girls who seem to move and speak as one"We were just these innocent girls in the night trying to make something beautiful. We nearly died. We very...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Elderhood: Redefining Aging, Transforming Medicine, Reimagining Life

Louise Aronson · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

As revelatory as Atul Gawande's Being Mortal, physician and award-winning author Louise Aronson's Elderhood is an essential, empathetic look at a vital but little respected stage of life. For more than 5,000 years, "old" has been defined as beginning between the ages of 60 and 70. That...
Read More check catalog