Back Weekly Staff Picks | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Weekly Staff Picks  
City of Girls: A Novel

Elizabeth Gilbert · Riverhead Books
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

From the # 1 New York Times bestselling author of Eat, Pray, Love and The Signature of All Things, a delicious novel of glamour, sex, and adventure, about a young woman discovering that you don't have to be a good girl to be a good person."Life is both fleeting and dangerous, and there...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fall; Or, Dodge in Hell: A Novel

Neal Stephenson · William Morrow
Pages: 880
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Seveneves, Anathem, Reamde, and Cryptonomicon returns with a wildly inventive and entertaining science fiction thriller - Paradise Lost by way of Philip K. Dick - that unfolds in the near future, in parallel worlds.In his youth, Richard "Dodge"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Magic for Liars

Sarah Gailey · Tor Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Sharp, mainstream fantasy meets compelling thrills of investigative noir in Magic for Liars, a fantasy debut by rising star Sarah Gailey. Ivy Gamble was born without magic and never wanted it.Ivy Gamble is perfectly happy with her life - or at least, she's perfectly fine.She doesn't in any way wish...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ayesha At Last

Uzma Jalaluddin · Berkley
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

A modern-day Muslim Pride and Prejudice for a new generation of love.Ayesha Shamsi has a lot going on. Her dreams of being a poet have been set aside for a teaching job so she can pay off her debts to her wealthy uncle. She lives with her boisterous Muslim family and is always being reminded...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Patsy: A Novel

Nicole Dennis-Benn · Liveright
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From nationally celebrated novelist Nicole Dennis-Benn, a brave, stirring portrait of a Jamaican woman who leaves her daughter behind for a new life in America. When Patsy gets her long-coveted visa to America, it's the culmination of years of yearning to be reunited with Cicely, her oldest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
100 Side Hustles: Unexpected Ideas for Making Extra Money Without Quitting Your Day Job

Chris Guillebeau · Ten Speed Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Best-selling author Chris Guillebeau presents a full-color ideabook featuring 100 stories of regular people launching successful side businesses that almost anyone can do. This unique guide features the startup stories of regular people launching side businesses that almost anyone can do: an urban...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mostly Dead Things

Kristen Arnett · Tin House Books
Pages: 354
Format: Hardcover

"One of the strangest and funniest and most surprising first novels I've ever read. A love letter to Florida and to family, to half-lit swamps and the 7/11, and to the beasts that only pretend to hold their poses inside us." -- Karen Russell A Most Anticipated Book of 2019 at Esquire,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
More Than Enough: Claiming Space for Who You Are

Elaine Welteroth · Viking
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In this part-manifesto, part-memoir, the revolutionary editor who infused social consciousness into the pages of Teen Vogue explores what it means to come into your own--on your own termsThroughout her life, Elaine Welteroth has climbed the ranks of media and fashion, shattering ceilings...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Underland: A Deep Time Journey

Robert Macfarlane · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the best-selling, award-winning author of Landmarks and The Old Ways, a haunting voyage into the planet's past and future.Hailed as "the great nature writer of this generation" (Wall Street Journal) , Robert Macfarlane is the celebrated author of books about the intersections...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In West Mills

De'Shawn Charles Winslow · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

For readers of The Twelve Tribes of Hattie and The Turner House, an intimately told story about a woman living by her own rules and the rural community that struggles to understand her.Azalea "Knot" Centre is determined to live life as she pleases. Let the people of West Mills...
Read More check catalog