Back Weekly Staff Picks | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Weekly Staff Picks  
Red, White & Royal Blue: A Novel

Casey McQuiston · St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback

First Son Alex Claremont-Diaz is the closest thing to a prince this side of the Atlantic. With his intrepid sister and the Veep's genius granddaughter, they're the White House Trio, a beautiful millennial marketing strategy for his mother, President Ellen Claremont. International...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mind and Matter: A Life in Math and Football

John Urschel · Penguin Press
Pages: 256
Format: Book

John Urschel, mathematician and former offensive lineman for the Baltimore Ravens--with biographer Louisa Thomas--tells the story of a life balanced between two passions. For John Urschel, what began as an insatiable appetite for puzzles as a child quickly evolved into mastery of the elegant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
If She Wakes

Michael Koryta · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 400
Format: Book

Tara Beckley is a senior at idyllic Hammel College in Maine. As she drives to deliver a visiting professor to a conference, a horrific car accident kills the professor and leaves Tara in a vegetative state. At least, so her doctors think. In fact, she's a prisoner of locked-in syndrome:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The White Devil's Daughters: The Fight Against Slavery in San Francisco's Chinatown

Julia Flynn Siler · Knopf
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

A revelatory history of the trafficking of young Asian girls that flourished in San Francisco during the first century of Chinese immigration (1848-1943) and the "safe house" on the edge of Chinatown that became a refuge for those seeking their freedomFrom 1874, a house on the edge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rules for Visiting: A Novel

Jessica Francis Kane · Penguin Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A beautifully observed and deeply funny novel of May Attaway, a university gardener who sets out on an odyssey to reconnect with four old friends over the course of a year.At forty, May Attaway is more at home with plants than people. Over the years, she's turned inward, finding pleasure...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Once More We Saw Stars: A Memoir

Jayson Greene · Knopf
Pages: 256
Format: Book

For readers of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake of unimaginable grief. As the book opens: two-year-old Greta Greene is sitting with her grandmother on a park bench on the Upper West Side...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Obsoletes: A Novel

Simeon Mills · Skybound Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The Obsoletes is a thought-provoking coming-of-age novel about two human-like teen robots navigating high school, basketball, and potentially life-threatening consequences if their true origins are discovered by the inhabitants of their intolerant 1980s Michigan hometown.Fraternal twin...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Good American Family: The Red Scare and My Father

David Maraniss · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

In a riveting book with powerful resonance today, Pulitzer Prize-winning author David Maraniss captures the pervasive fear and paranoia that gripped America during the Red Scare of the 1950s through the chilling yet affirming story of his family's ordeal, from blacklisting to vindication.Elliott...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Satapur Moonstone

SUJATA MASSEY · Soho Crime
Format: Hardcover

India, 1922: It is rainy season in the lush, remote Satara mountains southeast of Bombay, where the kingdom of Satapur is tucked away. A curse seems to have fallen upon Satapur's royal family, whose maharaja died of a sudden illness shortly before his teenage son was struck down in a tragic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
No Visible Bruises: What We Don't Know About Domestic Violence Can Kill Us

Rachel Louise Snyder · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 320
Format: Book

An award-winning journalist's intimate investigation of the true scope of domestic violence, revealing how the roots of America's most pressing social crises are buried in abuse that happens behind closed doors. We call it domestic violence. We call it private violence. Sometimes...
Read More check catalog