Back Teens | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
On a Clear Day

Walter Dean Myers · Crown Books for Young Readers
Format: Library Binding

Visionary This book should be in every readers hands ndashJACQUELINE WOODSON National Book Award-winning author of Brown Girl DreamingYoung heroes decide that they are not too young or too powerless to change their world in this gripping futuristic young adult novel by the New York Times...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lion Island: Cuba's Warrior of Words

Margarita Engle · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 176
Format: Print book

In a haunting yet hopeful novel in verse, award-winning author Margarita Engle tells the story of Antonio Chuffat, a young man of African, Chinese, and Cuban descent who became a champion of civil rights.Asia, Africa, Europe - Antonio Chuffat's ancestors clashed and blended on the beautiful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Feeder

Patrick Weekes · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A monster-hunter teams up with super-powered teens to protect her brother in this fast-paced adventure novel that's X-Men meets Men in Black.Lori Fisher hunts monsters. Not with a sword or a gun, but with an interdimensional creature called Handler. Together they take down "feeders"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost & Found

Katrina Leno · HarperTeen
Pages: 339
Format: Hardcover

A charming and imaginative new YA novel about getting lost before you can be found, for fans of Adi Alsaid's Let's Get Lost and Margo Rabb's Kissing in America.LOST Frannie and Louis met online when they were both little and have been pen pals ever since. They have never met face-to-face,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Real Justice: Jailed for Life for Being Black: The Story of Rubin "Hurricane" Carter

Bill Swan · James Lorimer
Format: Print book

Rubin Carter was in and out of prison from the age of twelve. At twenty-four, he became a professional boxer and was turning his life around. But Carter was very vocal about racism in the local police force. In 1966, he and a friend were arrested and convicted of a triple murder. Carter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kawasaki: World's Fastest Bike

Mary-Lane Kamberg · Rosen Pub Group
Format: Paperback

The Kawasaki name is one that has been associated with high-quality, top performance motorcycles. This volume is dedicated to the best of the best in the Kawasaki name, breaking down each of the most popular models and giving readers some reasons to buy them. Every aspect is covered, including...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dinosaurs #3: Jurassic Smarts

Arnaud Plumeri · Papercutz
Pages: 56
Format: Hardcover

Everybody knows the Brontosaurs, but what about the Mamenchisaurus? The third chapter in the Dinosaurs saga delves deeper into the world of these fearsome lizards, exploring rarely discussed creatures like the Cryolophosaurus, taking a look at the spines of the Stegosaurus, and asking important...
Read More check catalog
 
 
U.S. Air Force True Stories: Tales of Bravery

Adam Miller · Capstone Press
Format: Book

For members of the U.S. Air Force, the call to arms is a great honor and a solemn duty. Defending their country takes strength, determination, and an uncommon amount of courage. U.S. airmen have faced life and death on battlefields throughout American history. Experience for yourself the sights...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Steroids

Daniel Benjamin · Marshall Cavendish
Format:  Book : Juvenile audience : English : 1st ed

Dangerous Drugs gives middle-school students the lowdown on the consequences of drug use.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Vermont

Ann Heinrichs · Childrens Pr; Revised edition
Format: Book

The third series of America the Beautiful is back in a revised edition. The books in this series are bursting with fascinating facts, updated statistics, and brand-new full-color photographs. America the Beautiful's dynamic design and editorial approach to the geography, history, people,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What is a blog and how do I use it?

Leon Gray · Britannica Educational Publishing
Format:  Book : Juvenile audience : English : First editionView all editions and formats

The widespread use of blogging today has made understanding how to read and write these online journals an essential skill for digital literacy at any age. In these pages, the ins and outs of several kinds of blogsincluding political, news, and personal onesare explained in clear terms....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Porcupine of Truth

Bill Konigsberg · Arthur A. Levine Books
Pages: 325
Format: Print book

The author of OPENLY STRAIGHT returns with an epic road trip involving family history, gay history, the girlfriend our hero can't have, the grandfather he never knew, and the Porcupine of Truth.Carson Smith is resigned to spending his summer in Billings, Montana, helping his mom take care...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Google It: A History of Google

Anna Crowley Redding · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Think. Invent. Organize. Share. Don't be evil. And change the world.Larry Page and Sergey Brin started out as two Stanford college students with a wild idea: They were going to organize the world's information. From that one deceptively simple goal, they created one of the most influential...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Strange Lies

MAGGIE THRASH · Simon Pulse
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Critically acclaimed author Maggie Thrash's second novel in the Strange Truth series blends crackling suspense, subversive humor, and biting social commentary to become the "definition of a page-turner" (John Corey Whaley) .Only at Winship Academy would an evening science...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Arizona

Barbara A. Somervill · C. Press/F. Watts Trade
Pages: 144
Format: Book

The third series of America the Beautiful is back in a revised edition. The books in this series are bursting with fascinating facts, updated statistics, and brand-new full-color photographs. America the Beautiful's dynamic design and editorial approach to the geography, history, people,...
Read More check catalog