Back Ages 4-8 | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
A Most Unusual Day

SYDRA MALLERY · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Something rather extraordinary is happening in Caroline's life today . . . her family is adopting a new baby sister! A warm and loving story about school, family, siblings, and adoption, for anyone eagerly awaiting the arrival of a new sibling.Today is a very unusual day! Caroline wakes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Let the Children March

Monica Clark-Robinson · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

I couldn't play on the same playground as the white kids. I couldn't go to their schools. I couldn't drink from their water fountains. There were so many things I couldn't do. In 1963 Birmingham, Alabama, thousands of African American children volunteered to march for their civil rights...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pinkalicious and the Sick Day

Victoria Kann · HarperCollins
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria Kann is back with a new I Can Read story featuring Pinkalicious!Pinkalicious gets to be Principal for a Day because she has perfect attendance! Pinkalicious can't wait to be in charge, but when she wakes up sick on the big day, will her dreams...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Mistakes

Corinna Luyken · Dial Books
Pages: 56
Format: Hardcover

Zoom meets Beautiful Oops! in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which "mistakes" can blossom into inspirationOne eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake. The weird frog-cat-cow thing? It made an excellent bush. And the inky...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All Right Already!: A Snowy Story

JORY JOHN · HarperCollins
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling and award-winning creators of Goodnight Already!, I Love You Already!, and Come Home Already!SNOW DAY! Duck is super excited and can't wait to play in the snow with his best friend, Bear. Bear isn't excited about playing with Duck, or going out in the snow....
Read More check catalog
 
 
If I Was the Sunshine

Julie Fogliano · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

A breathtaking picture book about the relationships we share from New York Times bestselling storytellers Julie Fogliano and Loren Long in the tradition of The Runaway Bunny and Guess How Much I Love You.if i was the sunshine and you were the day i'd call you hello! and you'd call me stay...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Poop Eaters

Ellen Lawrence · Bearport Publishing
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

Why do rabbits and guinea pigs feed on their own droppings? How is munching on hyena dung helpful to an African leopard tortoise? And why might you spot scientists carrying buckets of fox poop and dirty diapers into the woods? To humans, eating poop sounds disgusting, but many members of the animal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
There's a Bison Bouncing on the Bed!

Paul Bright · Tiger Tales
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Bison is having fun bouncing on the bed. Then Aardvark and Chipmunk join in the fun. Along comes Beetle, who wants to bounce, too. But uh-oh! There are too many friends on the bed, and now it's broken! And who's that under the covers?
Read More check catalog
 
 
A New Friend

Poppy Green · Little Simon
Pages: 117
Format: Hardcover

In this first of a charming series about a little mouse and her forest friends, Sophie Mouse must convince her classmates - and herself - that a new student is nothing to fear. Even if he is a snake! Readers will delight in The Adventures of Sophie Mouse!In the first book of The Adventures...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hot and Cold

Susannah McFarlane · Kane Miller
Pages: 126
Format: Print book

Special Agent EJ12 foils evil plans all over the world. Emma Jacks worries about mean girls and not having perfect hair. EJ12 is Emma Jacks. Saving the world is the easy part. The heat is on as someone seems to be melting the polar ice cap. Special Agent EJ12 needs to crack the codes and keep...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Elvis: The Story of the Rock and Roll King

Bonnie Christensen · Henry Holt
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

An only child, a mama's boy--Elvis was a shy kid who struggled to make friends and found comfort singing in church and learning guitar. While in high school, he continued his music but was often ridiculed by students. On a whim, he recorded a song for his mom's birthday at Sun Record...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Readers L2: LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens

David Fentiman · DK Publishing (Dorling Kindersley)
Pages: 48
Format: Paperback

A dark power is rising, and the galaxy is in danger in DK Readers L2: LEGO® Star Wars: The Force Awakens™!Meet the brave new heroes who must battle to protect the galaxy. Join them in their fight against evil. Can they stop the First Order's sinister plans?Level 2 titles contain carefully...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Si yo fuera una libelula / If I Were a Dragonfly

Peter Steele · Powerkids Pr
Pages: 24
Format: Audiobook

A boy sees a dragonfly while fishing with his father and imagines what it would be like to be a dragonfly, considering their life cycle, anatomy, diet, and behavior.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Poptropica: Book 1: Mystery of the Map

Jack Chabert · Harry N. Abrams
Pages: 112
Format: Hardcover

New York Times Bestseller Based on a concept by Wimpy Kid author Jeff Kinney comes Poptropica, a brand-new graphic novel adventure series by Jack Chabert and Kory Merritt. In Mystery of the Map, Oliver, Mya, and Jorge take a ride in a hot-air balloon, only to crash-land on an unknown island...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Charlie the Ranch Dog: Rock Star

Ree Drummond · HarperCollins
Pages: 32
Format: Paperback

Charlie is the lovable basset hound of the Pioneer Woman, Ree Drummond, and the star of the #1 New York Times bestselling picture book Charlie the Ranch Dog. Now our favorite bacon-loving dog is rocking and rolling in this new I Can Read story! Charlie the Ranch Dog is ready to live the good...
Read More check catalog