Back Historical Fiction | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Historical Fiction  
In Farleigh Field: A Novel of World War II

Rhys Bowen · Lake Union Press
Pages: 396
Format: Print book

"Instantly absorbing, suspenseful, romantic, and stylish - like binge-watching a great British drama on Masterpiece Theater." - Lee Child, New York Times bestselling authorWorld War II comes to Farleigh Place, the ancestral home of Lord Westerham and his five daughters, when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk

Kathleen Rooney · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 287
Format: Print book

"Transporting ... witty, poignant and sparkling." -- People (People Picks Book of the Week) "Prescient and quick....A perfect fusing of subject and writer, idea and ideal." -- Chicago Tribune"Extraordinary ... hilarious ... Elegantly written, Rooney creates a glorious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Manhattan Beach: A Novel

Jennifer Egan · Scribner
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

Longlisted for the National Book Award for Fiction The daring and magnificent novel from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad - "propulsive, surprising, ravishing, and revelatory ... a profound page-turner that will transport and transform every reader."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mr. Dickens and His Carol: A Novel of Christmas Past

SAMANTHA SILVA · Flatiron Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"A charming, comic, and ultimately poignant story about the creation of the most famous Christmas tale ever written. It's as foggy and haunted and redemptive as the original; it's all heart, and I read it in a couple of ebullient, Christmassy gulps." -- Anthony Doerr, #1 New York...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stolen Beauty: A Novel

Laurie Lico Albanese · Washington Square Press
Pages: 306
Format: Paperback

A "powerful and important tale of love and war, art and family" (Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author) , Stolen Beauty gives voice to two remarkable women from the dawn of the twentieth century to the devastation of World War II, and brings to life the true story...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir: A Novel

Jennifer Ryan · Crown
Pages: 371
Format: Hardcover

NATIONAL BESTSELLERFor readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Drowning King

Emily Holleman · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 421
Format: Hardcover

Ancient Egypt, 51 B.C. Sisters Arsinoe and Cleopatra face a devastating choice: to allow Rome's army to siphon power from their ailing father, or to take matters-and the dynasty-into their own handsIt's the dawn of a new era for Egypt as Cleopatra and her brother, Ptolemy, are welcomed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Ballad: A Novel

WILEY CASH · William Morrow
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of the celebrated A Land More Kind Than Home and This Dark Road to Mercy returns with this eagerly awaited new novel, set in the Appalachian foothills of North Carolina in 1929 and inspired by actual events. The chronicle of an ordinary woman's struggle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Life She Was Given

ELLEN MARIE WISEMAN · Kensington
Pages: 356
Format: Paperback

From acclaimed author Ellen Marie Wiseman comes a vivid, daring novel about the devastating power of family secrets - beginning in the poignant, lurid world of a Depression-era traveling circus and coming full circle in the transformative 1950s.On a summer evening in 1931, Lilly Blackwood...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Shadow Land: A Novel

Elizabeth Kostova · Ballantine Books
Pages: 478
Format: Hardcover

From the #1 bestselling author of The Historian comes a mesmerizing novel that spans the past and the present - and unearths the troubled history of a gorgeous but haunted country.A young American woman, Alexandra Boyd, has traveled to Sofia, Bulgaria, hoping that life abroad will salve...
Read More check catalog