Back Historical Fiction | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Historical Fiction  
A Shout in the Ruins

Kevin Powers · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Set in Virginia during the Civil War and a century beyond, this novel by the award-winning author of THE YELLOW BIRDS explores the brutal legacy of violence and exploitation in American society.Spanning over one hundred years, from the antebellum era to the 1980's, A Shout in the Ruins...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession: A Novel

Alison Weir · Ballantine Books
Pages: 592
Format: Paperback

In this second novel of Alison Weir's epic Six Tudor Queens series, the acclaimed author and historian weaves exciting new research into the story of Anne Boleyn, Henry VIII's most infamous wife, a woman ahead of her time whose very life - and death - forever changed a nation. Born...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Garden of Lies

Amanda Quick · G.P. Putnam's Sons; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

"When Ursula Kern, proprietor of the Kern Secretarial Agency, discovers the body of one of her best secretaries, she immediately suspects murder. But no one, including the police, believes her. So Ursula seeks the help of her newest and most mysterious client, Slater Roxton"--
Read More check catalog
 
 
Georgia: A Novel of Georgia O'Keeffe

Dawn Tripp · Random House
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

NATIONAL BESTSELLER * In a dazzling work of historical fiction in the vein of Nancy Horan's Loving Frank, Dawn Tripp brings to life Georgia O'Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent artist. This is not a love story. If it were,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Signature of All Things: A Novel

Elizabeth Gilbert · Riverhead Books
Format: Book

A glorious, sweeping novel of desire, ambition, and the thirst for knowledge, from the # 1 New York Times bestselling author of Eat, Pray, Love and CommittedIn The Signature of All Things, Elizabeth Gilbert returns to fiction, inserting her inimitable voice into an enthralling story of love,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tattooist of Auschwitz: A Novel

Heather Morris · Harper Paperbacks
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

Read More check catalog
 
 
We Were the Lucky Ones: A Novel

Georgia Hunter · Penguin Books
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback

Inspired by the incredible true story of one Jewish family separated at the start of World War II, determined to survive - and to reunite - We Were the Lucky Ones is a sweeping novel spanning six years and five continents and a tribute to the triumph of hope and love against all odds "Love...
Read More check catalog