Back Readers Recommend - Next meeting, July 10 | June Newsletter

Simple News Pro
 

Readers Recommend

Calling all Bibliophiles!  Don't know what to read next?  Bring the book you are currently reading along with a title of another book that you love or would recommend highly.  Share your passion for reading by giving a brief booktalk and sharing your titles or favorite authors with others.  Meet like minded readers, or explore a new genre by chatting with others about books. 

Next meeting:  Monday, July 10, 6:30 to 7:30

Below are some of the recent books we've loved and shared.  All are available at the Culpeper County Library:

 
 
   
 
All the Light We Cannot See

Anthony Doerr · Scribner
Pages: 531
Format: Hardcover

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End

Atul Gawande · Metropolitan Books
Pages: 282
Format: Hardcover

In Being Mortal, bestselling author Atul Gawande tackles the hardest challenge of his profession: how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its endingMedicine has triumphed in modern times, transforming birth, injury, and infectious disease from harrowing to manageable....
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
The Day I Died: A Novel

Lori Rader-Day · William Morrow & Company
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

From the award-winning author of Little Pretty Things comes this gripping, unforgettable tale of a mother's desperate search for a lost boy.Anna Winger can know people better than they know themselves with only a glance - at their handwriting. Hired out by companies wanting to land trustworthy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
The Devil's Triangle

Catherine Coulter · Gallery Books
Pages: 495
Format: Hardcover

From New York Times bestselling authors Catherine Coulter and J.T. Ellison comes the highly anticipated thriller in their Brit in the FBI series, featuring special agents Nicholas Drummond and Michaela Caine in their new roles as heads of the Covert Eyes team - but will their first case...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
Golden Prey

John Sandford · Putnam
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

The man was smart and he didn't mind killing people. Welcome to the big leagues, Davenport. Lucas Davenport's first case as a U.S. Marshal sends him into uncharted territory, in the thrilling new novel in the #1 New York Times-bestselling series. Thanks to some very influential...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
In This Grave Hour: A Maisie Dobbs Novel

Jacqueline Winspear · Harpercollins
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

"A female investigator every bit as brainy and battle-hardened as Lisbeth Salander." - Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air, on Maisie Dobbs Sunday September 3rd 1939. At the moment Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain broadcasts to the nation Britain's declaration of war with Germany,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
Into the Water

PAULA HAWKINS · Penguin Publishing Group
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The author of the #1 New York Times bestseller and global phenomenon The Girl on the Train returns with Into the Water, her addictive new novel of psychological suspense. A single mother turns up dead at the bottom of the river that runs through town. Earlier in the summer, a vulnerable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
Journey to Munich: A Maisie Dobbs Novel

Jacqueline Winspear · Harper
Pages: 287
Format: Large print book

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERWorking with the British Secret Service on an undercover mission, Maisie Dobbs is sent to Hitler's Germany in this thrilling tale of danger and intrigue - the twelfth novel in Jacqueline Winspear's New York Times bestselling "series that seems to get better...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
The Kitchen Daughter

Jael McHenry · Gallery Books
Format: Hardcover

After the unexpected death of her parents, painfully shy and sheltered 26-year-old Ginny Selvaggio seeks comfort in cooking from family recipes. But the rich, peppery scent of her Nonna’s soup draws an unexpected visitor into the kitchen: the ghost of Nonna herself, dead for twenty...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
Love and Trouble: A Midlife Reckoning

CLAIRE DEDERER · Knopf
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times best-selling author of Poser: My Life in Twenty-Three Yoga Poses, a ferocious, sexy, hilarious memoir about going off the rails at midlife and trying to reconcile the girl she was with the woman she has become. Claire Dederer is a happily married mother of two, ages...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
Miss You

Kate Eberlen · Harper
Pages: 433
Format: Hardcover

-If ever a couple was 'meant to be, ' it's Tess and Gus. This is such a witty, poignant, and uplifting story of two lives crisscrossing over the years, with near miss after near miss. . . . I couldn't put it down. ---Sophie Kinsella A wryly romantic debut novel with echoes of One Day that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
A Month in the Country (New York Review Books Classics)

J.L. Carr · NYRB Classics; First edition. edition
Pages: 135
Format: Paperback

In J. L. Carr's deeply charged poetic novel, Tom Birkin, a veteran of the Great War and a broken marriage, arrives in the remote Yorkshire village of Oxgodby where he is to restore a recently discovered medieval mural in the local church. Living in the bell tower, surrounded by the resplendent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
News of the World: A Novel

Paulette Jiles · William Morrow
Pages: 213
Format: Print book

National Book Award Finalist - FictionIt is 1870 and Captain Jefferson Kyle Kidd travels through northern Texas, giving live readings to paying audiences hungry for news of the world. An elderly widower who has lived through three wars and fought in two of them, the captain enjoys his rootless,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
One Perfect Lie

Lisa Scottoline · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"Scottoline keeps the pace relentless as she drops a looming threat into the heart of an idyllic suburban community, causing readers to hold their breath in anticipation." -BOOKLIST "Readers can be assured that the author nails the high school milieu, from athletic rivalries...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
The Orphan's Tale

Pam Jenoff · Mira Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
The Stars Are Fire: A novel

Anita Shreve · Knopf
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLERFrom the New York Times best-selling author of The Weight of Water and The Pilot's Wife (an Oprah's Book Club selection) : an exquisitely suspenseful new novel about an extraordinary young woman tested by a catastrophic event and its devastating aftermath--based...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
We Were the Lucky Ones

Georgia Hunter · Viking
Pages: 403
Format: Hardcover

NATIONAL BESTSELLER"Reading Georgia Hunter's We Were the Lucky Ones is like being swung heart first into history. . . . A brave and mesmerizing debut, and a truly tremendous accomplishment." - Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris WifeNAMED ONE OF GLAMOUR...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
When Breath Becomes Air

Paul Kalanithi · Random House
Pages: 228
Format: Print book

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
The Whole Town's Talking: A Novel

Fannie Flagg · Random House
Pages: 402
Format: Print book

The bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is at her superb best in this fun-loving, moving novel about what it means to be truly alive. Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
Year of No Clutter: A Memoir

Eve O Schaub · Sourcebooks
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Eve has a problem with clutter. Too much stuff and too easily acquired, it confronts her in every corner and on every surface in her house. When she pledges to tackle the worst offender, her horror of a "Hell Room," she anticipates finally being able to throw away all of the unnecessary...
Read More check catalog