Back Staff Picks: Nikki | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Staff Picks: Nikki  

Then She Was Gone: A Novel

Lisa Jewell · Atria Books
Format: Print book

"Ten years after her teenage daughter disappears, a woman crosses paths with a charming single father whose young child feels eerily familiar, in this evocative, suspenseful drama from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell--perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Liane Moriarty....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tin Man: A Novel

SARAH WINMAN · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

"This is an astoundingly beautiful book. It drips with tenderness. It breaks your heart and warms it all at once." --Matt Haig, author of How to Stop Time

From the internationally bestselling author Sarah Winman comes an unforgettable and heartbreaking novel celebrating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness

Susannah Cahalan · HighBridge Company; Unabridged,Unabridged; 7.75 hours edition
Format: Audio CD

One day, Susannah Cahalan woke up in a strange hospital room, strapped to her bed, under guard, and unable to move or speak. Her medical records—from a month-long hospital stay of which she had no memory—showed psychosis, violence, and dangerous instability. Yet, only weeks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Homeland: Season 1

Claire Danes · Showtime
Format: DVD

So what is Brody's real agenda, if he even has one? There are plenty of indications early on that Mathison's suspicions about him are correct. But are his visions memories, or simply hallucinations? Does even the fact that Brody kneels on a prayer rug in his garage, chanting in Arabic,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Unforgettable: The Bold Flavors of Paula Wolfert's Renegade Life

Emily Kaiser Thelin · M&P
Pages: 329
Format: Hardcover

A biographical cookbook about legendary food authority Paula Wolfert, featuring 50 of her most unforgettable recipes. For more on the book's inception, visit unforgettablepaula.com. "All recipes are, in some way, an exploration of the link between food and memory. We cook the food...
Read More check catalog