Back Teens | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Teens
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life

Wendelin Van Draanen · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Part writing guide and part memoir, this inspiring book from the author of Flipped and The Running Dream is like Bird by Bird for YA readers and writers.Wendelin Van Draanen didn't grow up wanting to be a writer, but thirty books later, she's convinced that writing saved her life....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The PLAIN Janes

Cecil Castellucci · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

Meet the Plain Janes--artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town. This cult classic graphic novel is perfect for fans of The LumberJanes and Awkward.When artsy misfit Jane Beckles is forced to leave her beloved city life behind for the boring suburb of Kent Waters,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Say Her Name

Zetta Elliott · Jump At The Sun
Pages: 96
Format: Hardcover

Inspired by the #SayHerName campaign launched by the African American Policy Forum, these poems pay tribute to victims of police brutality as well as the activists insisting that Black Lives Matter. Elliott engages poets from the past two centuries to create a chorus of voices celebrating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Normal: One Kid's Extraordinary Journey

Magdalena Newman · HOUGHTON MIFFLIN
Format: Hardcover

A beautifully illustrated and lyrical picture-book biography of eccentric and beloved writer Praised by R.J. Palacio as "wondrous" - this moving memoir follows a teenage boy with TC syndrome and his exceptional family from diagnosis at birth to now. "This touching memoir...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Citizen Science: How Anyone Can Contribute to Scientific Discovery

Kathryn Hulick · Referencepoint Press
Pages: 80
Format: Hardcover

Citizen science has opened up the world of scientific research to anybody and everybody. It is being done in all areas of scienceincluding zoology, biology, astronomy, chemistry, and more. Some projects involve going outside and observing nature while others revolve around data obtained...
Read More check catalog
 
 
19 Love Songs

David Levithan · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of Every Day, Someday, and Two Boys Kissing is back with a short story collection about love--perfect for Valentine's Day or year-round reading!A resentful member of a high school Quiz Bowl team with an unrequited crush. A Valentine's Day in the life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girl Gone Viral

Ahmadi, Arvin · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of Warcross and Black Mirror, Girl Gone Viral is the inventive and timely story of a seventeen-year-old coder's catapult to stardom.For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire worlds from scratch: Mars craters, shimmering lakes, any virtual...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Heartwood Box

Ann Aguirre · Tor Teen
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Stranger Things meets The Lakehouse in Heartwood Box, a dark, romantic YA suspense novel with an SF edge from New York Times bestselling author Ann Aguirre. In this tiny, terrifying town, the lost are never found. When Araceli Flores Harper is sent to stay with her great-aunt Ottilie in her ramshackle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dark and Deepest Red

Anna-Marie McLemore · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

With Anna-Marie McLemore's signature lush prose, Dark and Deepest Red pairs the forbidding magic of a fairy tale with a modern story of passion and betrayal.Summer, 1518. A strange sickness sweeps through Strasbourg: women dance in the streets, some until they fall down dead. As rumors...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Daughter of Chaos

Sarah Rees Brennan · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

Half-witch, half-mortal sixteen-year-old Sabrina Spellman has made her choice: She's embraced her dark side and her witchy roots. Now her power is growing daily... but will it come at too high a price?Sabrina Spellman has just made the hardest decision of her life: She's leaving...
Read More check catalog