Back Ages 9-12 | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Orphan Island

LAUREL SNYDER · Walden Pond Press
Pages: 269
Format: Hardcover

"A wondrous book, wise and wild and deeply true." - Kelly Barnhill, Newbery Medal-winning author of The Girl Who Drank the MoonFor readers who loved Sara Pennypacker's Pax and Lois Lowry's The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Survivors: The Gathering Darkness #3: Into the Shadows

Erin Hunter · HarperCollins
Pages: 293
Format: Hardcover

Darkness threatens the Wild Pack in this epic third book in the second Survivors series! From Erin Hunter, #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors, Survivors is full of "wild and wonderful adventure" (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) that will thrill fans of Spirit Animals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eat Up!: An Infographic Exploration of Food

Antonia Banyard · Annick Press
Pages: 72
Format: Paperback

Written for middle-grade readers, Eat Up! is a colorful infographic look at the many surprising and fascinating facts about food. Information is presented in easy-to-understand graphics and clear explanations. Each spread explores a different aspect of the topic. Readers will find answers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Welcome to Wonderland #2: Beach Party Surf Monkey

Chris Grabenstein · Random House
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

From Chris Grabenstein, the bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library and coauthor with James Patterson of I Funny, House of Robots, and Treasure Hunters, comes the second hilarious, fun-in-the-sun adventure in his new illustrated series about all the wacky things that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Scar Island

Dan Gemeinhart · Scholastic Press
Pages: 249
Format: Print book

Jonathan Grisby is the newest arrival at the Slabhenge Reformatory School for Troubled Boys--an ancient, crumbling fortress of gray stone rising up from the ocean. It is dark, damp, and dismal. And it is just the place Jonathan figures he deserves.Because Jonathan has done something terrible....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Warriors Super Edition: Tigerheart's Shadow

ERIN HUNTER · HarperCollins
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

An epic stand-alone adventure in Erin Hunter's #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series! Also includes an exclusive ten-page Warriors manga adventure!In this super edition, set during the events of A Vision of Shadows, one of ShadowClan's most loyal warriors must go on a perilous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Elements Book

Dk. · Dk Publishing
Pages: 208
Format: Print book

Kids can go on a visual tour of the 118 chemical elements of the periodic table, from argon to zinc, with The Elements Book.Cataloged by type, each element's properties and atomic structure is explained. More than 1,000 full-color photographs showcase the natural forms of each element,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wildcat's Claw

VARIAN JOHNSON · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 181
Format: Hardcover

Continues the adventures of Conor, Abeke, Meilin, and Rollan and their spirit animals as they continue their efforts to protect Erdas from dark forces.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Depots of the Underground Railroad

Caroline Kennon · Gareth Stevens Publishing
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

The Underground Railroad was the massive effort by slaves and free people to secretly bring thousands of blacks to freedom in the North during the 19th century. This thought-provoking book will capture readers imaginations and fill them with awe for the brave conductors and passengers on the Railroad....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bigfoot

Erin Peabody · Little Bee
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Learn all about creatures and monsters throughout history and discover if they're real or not in this new nonfiction series!Behind the Legend looks at creatures and monsters throughout history and analyzes them through a scientific, mythbusting lens, debating whether or not the sightings...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The People and Culture of the Chumash

Tatiana Ryckman · Cavendish Square Publishing
Pages: 128
Format: Library Binding

For thousands of years, Native Americans have called North America home. They built great cities, communities, and cultures in the continents hills, valleys, deserts, and forests. However, for many, with the arrival of Europeans, traditional ways of life were challenged and sometimes eradicated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Project Best Friend

Chrissie Perry · Aladdin
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Penelope Kingston tries to convince the new girl in town to become her best friend in this charming start to the brand-new Penelope Perfect chapter book series.Penelope Kingston wants to be perfect. And most of the time she is good, sensible, and calm. But then sometimes Penelope is bossy,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ciphers, Codes, Algorithms, and Keys

Laura La Bella · Rosen Young Adult
Pages: 64
Format: Library Binding

As handy and useful as it is to communicate with smartphones, email, and texts, not to mention paying bills and doing banking online, all these conveniences mean that a great deal of our sensitive, personal information needs to be protected and kept secret. Readers can anticipate an intriguing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Minecraft: Guide to Building

Josh Gregory · Cherry Lake Publishing
Pages: 32
Format: Library Binding

With more than 100 million players around the world, Minecraft is one of the most popular video games of all time. Its unique design encourages players to use their creativity and problem solving skills to build entire worlds from scratch. In this book, readers will learn everything they...
Read More check catalog