Back Library Staff Picks | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Library Staff Picks  
The New World: A Novel

Chris Adrian , · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Format: Hardcover

An innovative story of love, decapitation, cryogenics, and memory by two of our most creative literary mindsThe New World is the story of a marriage. Dr. Jane Cotton is a pediatric surgeon; her husband, Jim, is a humanist chaplain. They are about to celebrate their eighth wedding anniversary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Truth According to Us: A Novel

Annie Barrows · The Dial Press
Pages: 491
Format: Print book

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE * From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Caleb's Crossing: A Novel

Geraldine Brooks · Viking; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

Once again, Geraldine Brooks takes a remarkable shard of history and brings it to vivid life. In 1665, a young man from Martha's Vineyard became the first Native American to graduate from Harvard College. Upon this slender factual scaffold, Brooks has created a luminous tale of love...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Hologram for the King

Dave Eggers · McSweeney's; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

In a rising Saudi Arabian city, far from weary, recession-scarred America, a struggling businessman pursues a last-ditch attempt to stave off foreclosure, pay his daughter's college tuition, and finally do something great. In this novel the author takes us around the world to show how one man fights...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Housewife: Stories

Helen Ellis · Doubleday
Pages: 188
Format: Print book

A sharp, funny, delightfully unhinged collection of stories set in the dark world of domesticity, American Housewife features murderous ladies who lunch, celebrity treasure hunters, and the best bra fitter south of the Mason Dixon line.Meet the women of American Housewife: they wear lipstick,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Grownup: A Story by the Author of Gone Girl

Gillian Flynn · Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Pages: 64
Format: Print book

Gillian Flynn's Edgar Award-winning homage to the classic ghost story, published for the first time as a standaloneA canny young woman is struggling to survive by perpetrating various levels of mostly harmless fraud. On a rainy April morning, she is reading auras at Spiritual Palms...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fates and Furies: A Novel

Lauren Groff · Riverhead Books
Pages: 390
Format: Print book

AMAZON'S 2015 BEST BOOK OF THE YEARNEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A FINALIST FOR THE 2015 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD NPR MORNING EDITION BOOK CLUB PICKNAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY: THE WASHINGTON POST, NPR, TIME, THE SEATTLE TIMES, MINNEAPOLIS STAR-TRIBUNE, SLATE, LIBRARY JOURNAL, KIRKUS, AND MANY...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Passenger

Lisa Lutz · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Spellman Files series, Lisa Lutz's latest blistering thriller is about a woman who creates and sheds new identities as she crisscrosses the country to escape her past: you'll want to buckle up for the ride!In case you were wondering, I didn't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Short stories.

Anthony Marra · Hogarth
Pages: 332
Format: Print book

A collection of interwoven tales explores themes of family, sacrifice, war, and the redemptive power of art.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Midnight Sun: A novel

Jo Nesbø · Alfred A Knopf, 2016.
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

The internationally acclaimed author of Blood on Snow and the Harry Hole novels now gives us the tightly wound tale of a man running from retribution, a renegade hitman who goes to ground far above the Arctic circle, where the never-setting sun might slowly drive a man insane. He calls...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sympathizer

Viet Thanh Nguyen · Grove Press
Pages: 371
Format: Print book

A profound, startling, and beautifully crafted debut novel, The Sympathizer is the story of a man of two minds, someone whose political beliefs clash with his individual loyalties.It is April 1975, and Saigon is in chaos. At his villa, a general of the South Vietnamese army is drinking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Name Is Lucy Barton: A Novel

Elizabeth Strout · Random House
Pages: 193
Format: Print book

A new book by Pulitzer Prize winner Elizabeth Strout is cause for celebration. Her bestselling novels, including Olive Kitteridge and The Burgess Boys, have illuminated our most tender relationships. Now, in My Name Is Lucy Barton, this extraordinary writer shows how a simple hospital visit...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brooklyn: A Novel

Colm Toibin · Scribner
Pages: 262
Format: Print book

From the award-winning author of The Master, a hauntingly compelling novel - by far Tóibín's most accessible book - set in Brooklyn and Ireland in the early 1950s about a young woman torn between her family in Ireland and the american who wins her heart.Eilis Lacey has come of age in small-town...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Think Like a Freak: The Authors of Freakonomics Offer to Retrain Your Brain

Steven D Levitt · William Morrow
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling Freakonomics changed the way we see the world, exposing the hidden side of just about everything. Then came SuperFreakonomics, a documentary film, an award-winning podcast, and more.Now, with Think Like a Freak, Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner have...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Deep Down Dark: The Untold Stories of 33 Men Buried in a Chilean Mine, and the Miracle That Set Them Free

Héctor Tobar · Farrar, Straus and Giroux; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

When the San José mine collapsed outside of Copiapó, Chile, in August 2010, it trapped thirty-three miners beneath thousands of feet of rock for a record-breaking sixty-nine days. The entire world watched what transpired above-ground during the grueling and protracted rescue, but the saga...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dear Mr. You

Mary-Louise Parker · Scribner
Pages: 228
Format: Print book

A wonderfully unconventional literary debut from the award-winning actress Mary-Louise Parker.An extraordinary literary work, Dear Mr. You renders the singular arc of a woman's life through letters Mary-Louise Parker composes to the men, real and hypothetical, who have informed the person...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend

Kody Keplinger · Brilliance Audio; Mti edition
Format: Audio CD

Soon to be a major motion picture!Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper may not be the prettiest girl in her high school, but she has a loyal group of friends, a biting wit, and a spot-on BS detector. She's also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War

Steve Sheinkin · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 384
Format: Book

Winner of the 2016 YALSA Award for excellence in nonfiction for young adults!  From Steve Sheinkin, the award-winning author of The Port Chicago 50 and Bomb comes a tense, exciting exploration of what the Times deemed "the greatest story of the century": how Daniel Ellsberg...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Goblin's Puzzle: Being the Adventures of a Boy with No Name and Two Girls Called Alice

Andrew S Chilton · Alfred A. Knopf, 2016.
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Brimming with dragons, goblins, and logic puzzles, this middle-grade fantasy adventure is perfect for readers who enjoyed The Princess Bride or Rump.THE BOY is a nameless slave on a mission to uncover his true destiny. THE GOBLIN holds all the answers, but he's too tricky to be trusted....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Last Night in Montreal

Emily St. John Mandel · Vintage; Reprint edition

When Lilia Albert was a child, her father appeared on the doorstep of her mothers house and took her away. Now, haunted by an inability to remember much about her early childhood, Lilia moves restlessly from city to city, abandoning lovers and eluding the private detective who has dedicated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rooms: A Novel

Lauren Oliver · Ecco
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery,...
Read More check catalog