Back Library Staff Picks | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Library Staff Picks  
A Man Called Ove: A Novel

Fredrik Backman · Atria Books
Format: Hardcover

NPR Bestseller Boston Globe Bestseller In this "charming debut" (People) from one of Sweden's most successful authors, a grumpy yet loveable man finds his solitary world turned on its head when a boisterous young family moves in next door.Meet Ove. He's a curmudgeon...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spill Simmer Falter Wither

Sara Baume · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2016. ©2015
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

A debut novel already praised as "unbearably poignant and beautifully told" (Eimear McBride) this captivating story follows - over the course of four seasons - a misfit man who adopts a misfit dog. It is springtime, and two outcasts - a man ignored, even shunned by his village,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'm Traveling Alone

Samuel Bjork · Viking
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

International bestseller Samuel Bjork makes his US debut, a chilling and fast-paced thriller in which two detectives must hunt down a vengeful killer--and uncover the secret that ties each of them to the crimeA six-year-old girl is found in the Norwegian countryside, hanging lifeless from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Royal We

Heather Cocks · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

The Washington Post and USA Today Bestseller
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girl at War: A Novel

Sara Novic · Random House
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

For readers of The Tiger's Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl's coming of age - and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war. Zagreb, 1991. Ana Juri? is a carefree ten-year-old, living with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours

Helen Oyeyemi · Riverhead Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

From the award-winning author of Boy, Snow, Bird and Mr. Fox comes an enchanting collection of intertwined stories. Playful, ambitious, and exquisitely imagined, What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours is cleverly built around the idea of keys, literal and metaphorical. The key to a house, the key to a heart,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Kraken Project

Douglas Preston · St Martins Pr
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Wyman Ford is back again in The Kraken Project, the thrilling new novel from New York Times bestselling author Douglas Preston.NASA is building a probe to be splashed down in the Kraken Mare, the largest sea on Saturn's great moon, Titan. It is one of the most promising habitats for extraterrestrial...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Name Is Lucy Barton: A Novel

Elizabeth Strout · Random House
Pages: 193
Format: Print book

A new book by Pulitzer Prize winner Elizabeth Strout is cause for celebration. Her bestselling novels, including Olive Kitteridge and The Burgess Boys, have illuminated our most tender relationships. Now, in My Name Is Lucy Barton, this extraordinary writer shows how a simple hospital visit...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Moonwalking With Einstein: The Art and Science of Remembering Everything

Joshua Foer · The Penguin Press; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

Foers unlikely journey from chronically forgetful science journalist to US Memory Champion frames a revelatory exploration of the vast hidden impact of memory on every aspect of our lives On average people squander forty days annually compensating for things theyve forgotten Joshua Foer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Between the World and Me

Ta-Nehisi Coates · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 152
Format: Print book

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER * NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST * NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review * The Washington Post * People * Entertainment Weekly * Vogue * Los Angeles Times * Chicago Tribune...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Slouching Towards Bethlehem: Essays

Joan Didion

The first nonfiction work by one of the most distinctive prose stylists of our era, Slouching Towards Bethlehem remains, forty years after its first publication, the essential portrait of America -- particularly California -- in the sixties. It focuses on such subjects
Read More check catalog
 
 
Into the Wild

Jon Krakauer · Anchor
Pages: 207
Format: Paperback

In April a young man from a well-to-do family hitchhiked to Alaska and walked alone into the wilderness north of Mt McKinley His name was Christopher Johnson McCandless He had given in savings to charity abandoned his car and most of his possessions burned all the cash in his wallet...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Infidel

Ayaan Hirsi Ali · Free Press; First Edition edition
Pages: 353
Format: Hardcover

In this profoundly affecting memoir from the internationally renowned author of "The Caged Virgin, " Ayaan Hirsi Ali tells her astonishing life story, from her traditional Muslim childhood in Somalia, Saudi Arabia, and Kenya, to her intellectual awakening and activism in the Netherlands,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Time Traveler's Guide to Medieval England: A Handbook for Visitors to the Fourteenth Century

Ian Mortimer · Touchstone; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

The past is a foreign country. This is your guidebook.A time machine has just transported you back to the fourteenth century. What do you see? How do you dress? How do you earn a living and how much are you paid? What sort of food will you be offered by a peasant or a monk or a lord? And more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The 5th Wave: The First Book of the 5th Wave Series

Rick Yancey · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 512
Format: Print book

The blockbuster bestseller comes to the big screen! "Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances." - Entertainment Weekly "A modern sci-fi masterpiece . . ." - USAToday.com The Passage meets Ender's Game in the first book in an epic series by award-winning author...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crenshaw

Katherine Applegate · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In her first novel since The One and Only Ivan, winner of the Newbery Medal, Katherine Applegate delivers an unforgettable and magical story about family, friendship, and resilience.Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. There's no more money for rent. And not much for food,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stay Where You Are And Then Leave

John Boyne · Henry Holt and Company
Pages: 245
Format: Print book

The day the First World War broke out, Alfie Summerfield's father promised he wouldn't go away to fight -- but he broke that promise the following day. Four years later, Alfie doesn't know where his father might be, other than that he's away on a special, secret mission. Then, while shining...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mysterious Messages: a History of Codes and Ciphers

Gary L Blackwood · Dutton Children's Books
Pages: 170
Format: Print book

History?s amazing secrets and codes?and how to crack them yourself. This fascinating look at history?s most mysterious messages is packed with puzzles to decode and ciphers that kids can use themselves. Here are the encrypted notes of Spartan warriors, the brilliant code-crackers of Elizabeth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Child

Guojing · Schwartz & Wade Books,
Pages: 112
Format: Print book

Like Shaun Tans The Arrival and Raymond Briggss The Snowman, this gorgeous and imaginative 100-page graphic picture book is utterly transporting and original.   A little girl—lost and alone—follows a mysterious stag deep into the woods, and, like Alice down the rabbit hole, she finds...
Read More check catalog