Back Teens | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
A Little Bit of Spectacular

Gin Phillips · Dial Books
Format: Hardcover

An authentic coming-of-age story about finding magic in the every day - perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead, Joan Bauer, and Wendy Mass.Olivia and her mom have just moved in with her grandmother, and Olivia has exactly zero friends at her new school. But after a strange message on the bathroom...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Farmerettes

Gisela Sherman · Second Story Press
Pages: 348
Format: Paperback

Six girls just out of high school live together during the summer of 1943 on a farm as part of the Farm Service Force, doing the work of the men who are off fighting the war in Europe. We follow the stories of Helene, who sends her wages home to support her single mother; Peggy, a flirt...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mickey Price: Journey to Oblivion

John P. Stanley · Tanglewood Press
Format: Hardcover

The moon is under threat of a nuclear meltdown due to a space station malfunction. Complicating things is the presence of pleurinium, a magnetic material that makes humans instantly, seriously ill - well, all humans who are 14 years old and up.Mickey Price is an orphan in Orlando; Trace...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rich Dad Poor Dad for Teens: The Secrets about Money--That You Don't Learn in School!

Robert T. Kiyosaki · Plata Publishing; 2nd edition

Personal finance author and lecturer Robert T. Kiyosaki developed his unique economic perspective from two very different influences - his two fathers. This text lays out Kiyosaki's philosophy and his relationship with money.
Read More check catalog
 
 
King Dork Approximately

Frank Portman · Delacorte Press; Advance Reader's Copy edition
Format: Hardcover

From Frank Portman comes the long-awaited sequel to the beloved cult classic King Dork, of which John Green, author of The Fault in Our Stars, said, Basically, if you are a human being with even a vague grasp of the English language, King Dork will rock your world.   Aside from the stitches...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens

Sean Covey · Touchstone; Updated edition

With more than five million copies in print all around the world, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens is the ultimate teenage success guide - now updated for the digital age.Imagine you had a roadmap - a step-by-step guide to help you get from where you are now, to where you want to be in the future....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Greene Heist

Varian Johnson · Scholastic
Pages: 226
Format: Hardcover

Jackson Greene swears he's given up scheming. Then school bully Keith Sinclair announces he's running for Student Council president, against Jackson's former friend Gaby de la Cruz. Gaby wants Jackson to stay out of it -- but he knows Keith has "connections" to the principal,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Scorpion Rules

Erin Bow · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 374
Format: Print book

The children of world leaders are held hostage in an attempt to keep the peace in this "slyly humorous, starkly thought-provoking" (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) novel.Greta is a Duchess and a Crown Princess. She is also a Child of Peace, a hostage held by the de facto ruler...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Storms

Ruth Hatfield · Henry Holt and Company, 2015.
Pages: 357
Format: Print book

When his parents disappear after a fierce storm, eleven-year-old Danny, unaccustomed to acts of bravery, comes to their rescue after finding a valuable shard of wood that enables him to talk to plants and animals and battle terrifyingly powerful enemies, including the demonic Sammael.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Close to the Wind

Jon Walter · David Fickling Books
Format: Hardcover

A simple, resonant, and utterly heart-shattering debut about greed, love, trust and what matters most when your world falls apart. A war-torn country . . . only one way out. Ten-year-old Malik's world is falling apart. Soldiers have invaded town, and his mother is missing, leaving Malik...
Read More check catalog