Back Ages 9-12 | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Ages 9-12
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
The Search for Snake River

HOUGHTON MIFFLIN HARCOURT. · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

Explore the frontier, young pioneer--the third leg of your journey starts here. You're halfway to Oregon City, but as you know, the Oregon Trail is full of risks and surprises! This is the third installment of four books that will take you all the way to Oregon Territory--if you make...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pay Attention, Carter Jones

Gary D. Schmidt · Clarion Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Bestselling author Gary D. Schmidt tells a coming-of-age story with the light touch of The Wednesday Wars, the heart of Okay for Now, and the unique presence of a wise and witty butler. Carter Jones is astonished early one morning when he finds a real English butler, bowler hat and all,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hamstersaurus Rex Gets Crushed

Tom O'Donnell · HarperCollins
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

This hilarious classroom comedy series is perfect for fans of Dog Man and Stick Dog!Mysterious hauntings are causing major trouble at Horace Hotwater Middle School. Sam Gibbs and his super-strong tiny buddy, Hammie Rex, keep encountering creepy abnormal objects, including a floating sports...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dragon Pearl

Yoon Ha Lee · Rick Riordan Presents
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Rick Riordan Presents Yoon Ha Lee's space opera about thirteen-year-old Min, who comes from a long line of fox spirits. But you'd never know it by looking at her. To keep the family safe, Min's mother insists that none of them use any fox-magic, such as Charm or shape-shifting....
Read More check catalog
 
 
TBH #3: TBH, Too Much Drama

Lisa Greenwald · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Told entirely in text messages, the third book in this addictive series from the acclaimed author of 11 Before 12 is perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rachel Renee Russell.Cece, Gabby, and Prianka can't wait for Spirit Week, aka the last week of school before summer break! And they're...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ghost of Slappy

R. L. Stine · Scholastic Paperbacks
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback

Slappy's back as a ghost! And this time, the only thing you'll play is hide-and-go-shriek!
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wright Brothers: Nose-Diving into History

Ben Thompson · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

A hilarious nonfiction look at two of history's most epic "failures": the Wright brothers, whose countless crashes ultimately led to groundbreaking success.Although Orville and Wilbur Wright are celebrated today as heroes for their revolutionary contributions to science and engineering...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nature's Deadliest Creatures Visual Encyclopedia

DK. · DK Children
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Come face-to-face with 150 of the world's scariest killer creatures, from the lion and great white shark to the tarantula, anaconda snake, golden eagle, vampire bat, and even the fierce ant!The book profiles every kind of animal--mammals, reptiles, birds, fish, insects, and arachnids....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hamstersaurus Rex vs. the Cutepocalypse

TOM O'DONNELL · HarperCollins
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The fourth and final book in this hilarious classroom comedy series that's perfect for fans of Dog Man and Stick Dog!Things are calm at last in Maple Bluffs.The evil manufacturer SmilesCorp is out of business, Hammie Rex is a new dad to three tiny mutant offspring (Stompy, Chompy, and Hatshepsut)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Boy

Catherine Gilbert Murdock · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A young outcast is swept up into a thrilling and perilous medieval treasure hunt in this literary page-turner by acclaimed bestselling author Catherine Gilbert Murdock.This epic and engrossing quest story is for fans of Adam Gidwitz's The Inquisitor's Tale and Grace Lin's Where...
Read More check catalog