Medford Library
 
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Time Bomb

Joelle Charbonneau · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Seven students trapped in their school after a bomb goes off must fight to survive while also discovering who among them is the bomber in this provocative new thriller from the author of the New York Times bestselling Testing Trilogy. Perfect for fans of This Is Where It Ends. A congressman's...
 
 
Teens and Suicide

CHERESE CARTLIDGE. · REFERENCEPOINT PR INC
Pages: 80
Format: Print book

Each year in the United States, thousands of youths take their own livesand the teen suicide rate is climbing. Teens and Suicide examines the nature of teen suicide, what causes it, what it is like to live with it, and how or whether it can be treated or cured.
 
 
I'll Give You the Sun

Jandy Nelson · Dial Books
Pages: 371
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times Bestselling story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, Jenny Offill, Emma Straub, and Rainbow Rowell "We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story."...
 
 
Game Changer

Tom Greenwald · Amulet Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Thirteen-year-old Teddy Youngblood is in a coma fighting for his life after an unspecified football injury at training camp. His family and friends flock to his bedside to support his recovery - and to discuss the events leading up to the tragic accident. Was this an inevitable result of playing...
 
 
The Gender Wage Gap

MELISSA HIGGINS · ESSENTIAL LIBRARY
Pages: 112
Format: Print book

The Gender Wage Gapcovers the history of women's wages, the differences between men's and women's wages that still exist, and today's efforts to close the gap. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing,...
 
 
The Freedom Summer Murders

Don Mitchell · Scholastic (Us)
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

To coincide with the 50th anniversary of the Freedom Summer murders, this will be the first book for young adults to explore the harrowing true story of three civil rights workers slain by the KKK.In June of 1964, three idealistic young men (one black and two white) were lynched by the Ku Klux...
 
 
Wildlife

Fiona Wood · Poppy/Little
Pages: 385
Format: Print book

During a semester in the wilderness, sixteen year- old Sib expects the tough outdoor education program and the horrors of dorm life, but friendship drama and love that gets complicated? That will take some navigating.
 
 
Between Two Worlds

Katherine Kirkpatrick · Wendy Lamb Books
Pages: 285
Format: Hardcover

Inspired by a true story, Between Two Worlds is an impassioned coming-of-age novel set in a land of breathtaking beauty and danger, where nature and love are powerful and unpredictable forces. On the treeless shores of Itta, Greenland, as far north as humans can settle, sixteen-year-old...
 
 
Birth Control

Jack Lasky · Greenhaven Press, 2016.
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

Each title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format; the viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications.
 
 
The Great Greene Heist

Varian Johnson · Arthur A. Levine Books
Format: Paperback

Saving the school -- one con at a time. (And in paperback!)"A political heist page-turner set in middle school? Is that even possible? Varian Johnson shows us how it's done." - Gordon Korman, author of SWINDLE"Do yourself a favor and start reading immediately." - Rebecca...
 
 
Unbroken: 13 Stories Starring Disabled Teens

Marieke Nijkamp · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

This anthology explores disability in fictional tales told from the viewpoint of disabled characters, written by disabled creators. With stories in various genres about first loves, friendship, war, travel, and more, Unbroken will offer today's teen readers a glimpse into the lives of disabled...
 
 
Globalization: Why We Care About Faraway Events

Carla Mooney · Nomad Press
Pages: 120
Format: Hardcover

Have you noticed that our planet is becoming increasingly connected? At the supermarket, you can buy food from all around the world, including olive oil from Greece, cheese from France, and coffee from South America. At home, you surf the Internet on a computer made in Asia, reading news...
 
 
Critical World Issues: Animal Rights

Patty Taylor · Mason Crest
Pages: 112
Format: Print book

For thousands of years, human beings have had relationships with a variety of other animals. The at-times unequal interaction between humans and animals has led to the rise of an animal-rights movement. This book examines and addresses some basic questions about the issue of animal rights...
 
 
Front Lines

Michael Grant · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 548
Format: Print book

Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with girl soldiers fighting on the front lines.World War II, 1942. A court decision makes...