Medford Library
 
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Summiting Everest: How a Photograph Celebrates Teamwork at the Top of the World

Emma Carlson Berne · Compass Point Books
Format: Paperback

The summit of Mount Everest—the highest place on Earth. Could it be conquered? Could a climber literally stand on top of the world? No one had ever reached the summit and returned alive. Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay wanted to be the first. Not far from the top, before their...
 
 
Paint It: The Art of Acrylics, Oils, Pastels, and Watercolors

Mari Bolte · Capstone Press
Pages: 143
Format: Paperback

Any master starts at the beginning. Dip your brush into oil, acrylic, and watercolor paints, and sharpen your pastels. Develop essential techniques that will propel your art from scribbles to masterpieces.
 
 
One Small Thing

Erin Watt · Harlequin Teen
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author duo of The Royals and When It's Real comes a sensational new novel about a girl falling for the one boy she should never have met ... Beth's life hasn't been the same since her sister died. Her parents try to lock her down, believing they can keep...
 
 
Conquering Anorexia

Katherine Walden · Rosen Publishing
Pages: 64
Format: Print book

Like other eating disorders, anorexia is especially common among teens and young adults. Anorexia is a serious disease that, in a small but significant percentage of patients, can end in death. However, it is also a condition that can be treated; meaningful recovery is a real possibility....
 
 
The Sixth Man

John Feinstein · Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Library Binding

New York Times bestselling author John Feinstein delivers a hard-hitting account of prejudice and perseverance on the basketball court. It's basketball season. And for once, triple threat Alex Myers is not the one in the spotlight. There's a new new guy in town, and Max Bellotti...
 
 
The Royal Ranger

John A. Flanagan · Puffin Books; Reprint edition
Format: Book

Ranger's Apprentice, the international sensation, comes to a close in this twelfth installment. For fans of Tolkien, Redwall, Game of Thrones, and T.H. White, RANGER'S APPRENTICE delivers fantasy-adventure thrills with real-world historical details.John Flanagan returns for one final bow to the series...
 
 
The Death Penalty: Just Punishment or Cruel Practice?

Allison Krumsiek · Lucent Books
Pages: 104
Format: Library Binding

When a violent crime is committed, some people believe the only fair punishment is for the perpetrator to be put to death. Others feel that this practice is inhumane and that no one should be deliberately killed, regardless of what he or she may have done. This volume examines the history...
 
 
Day 21

Kass Morgan · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

It's been 21 days since the hundred landed on Earth. They're the only humans to set foot on the planet in centuries...or so they thought.
 
 
Toys

Kevin Cunningham · Scholastic
Pages: 64
Format: Library Binding

Readers will get a close look at how people in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) careers are helping to build our future. Discover how people use STEM skills to solve problems and innovate throughout history. Diagrams, graphs, and charts help to clarify complex subjects...
 
 
Stonewall: Breaking Out in the Fight for Gay Rights

Ann Bausum · Viking Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

That's the Stonewall.The Stonewall Inn.Pay attention.History walks through that door.In 1969 being gay in the United States was a criminal offense. It meant living a closeted life or surviving on the fringes of society. People went to jail, lost jobs, and were disowned by their families...
 
 
Dreaming in Indian: Contemporary Native American Voices

Lisa Charleyboy · Annick Press
Format: Hardcover

A powerful and visually stunning anthology from some of the most groundbreaking Native artists working in North America today. Truly universal in its themes, Dreaming In Indian will shatter commonly held stereotypes and challenge readers to rethink their own place in the world. Divided...
 
 
Summiting Everest: How a Photograph Celebrates Teamwork at the Top of the World

Emma Carlson Berne · Compass Point Books
Format: Paperback

The summit of Mount Everestthe highest place on Earth. Could it be conquered? Could a climber literally stand on top of the world? No one had ever reached the summit and returned alive. Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay wanted to be the first. Not far from the top, before their final hours...
 
 
Dear Killer

Katherine Ewell · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 359
Format: Print book

Full of "can't look away" moments, Dear Killer is a psychological thriller perfect for fans of gritty realistic fiction such as Dan Wells's I Am Not a Serial Killer and Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why, as well as television's Dexter. Rule One - Nothing is right, nothing is wrong....