Back Children's Books | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
The Little Ice Cream Truck

Margery Cuyler · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

The Little Ice Cream Truck is loaded up with tasty treats in this new addition to ever-popular The Little Dump Truck, The Little School Bus and The Little Fire Truck series.

Join the little ice cream truck and its cheerful driver, Sue, as they trot all over...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Bus! Stop!

James Yang · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Few words are needed in this inventive and fun transportation adventure!

"Bus! Stop!" a boy yells, as his bus pulls away one early morning. He must wait for the next bus. But the next one does NOT look like his bus at all. And neither does the next one, or the next. At first,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Old MacDonald Had a Baby

Emily Snape
Format: Hardcover


Read More check catalog
 
 
The Friend Ship

Kat Yeh · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Little Hedgehog is very lonely. But then she overhears passersby talking about something that gives her hope-something called a Friend Ship!

Hedgehog imagines a ship filled with friends of all kinds, and soon she's ready to hit the open seas in a boat of her own to track it down....
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Pledge Allegiance

Pat Mora · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Libby's great aunt, Lobo, is from Mexico, but the United States has been her home for many years, and she wants to become a U.S. citizen. At the end of the week, Lobo will say the Pledge of Allegiance at a special ceremony. Libby is also learning the Pledge this week, at school—at...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Plankton is Pushy

Jonathan Fenske · Scholastic Press
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

In this funny, underwater picture book, Plankton says hello to Mussel, but Mussel doesn't say anything back. Plankton tries everything to get quiet Mussel to talk. In fact, Plankton gets VERY pushy about it! Will Mussel ever open his mouth? Kids will relate to Plankton's frustration...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Vacation for Dexter!

Lindsay Ward · Two Lions
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Dexter T. Rexter is on a plane - for the very first time.

Dexter can't wait to go on vacation with his best friend, Jack. Supercool orange sunglasses? Check. Nifty travel hat? Check. Plane tickets? Uh, what? Dexter may be the toughest, coolest dinosaur around, but everyone knows...

Read More check catalog
 
 
This Book Will Not Be Fun

Cirocco Dunlap · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A mouse who acts as a careful custodian of his book tries to guarantee his reader some peace and order in spite of escalating chaos. For fans of The Book With No Pictures and This Book Just Ate My Dog!

A book is no place for tomfoolery, and this mouse assures us that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I can ride!

Lynn Maslen Kertell · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 32

"Jack is learning how to ride a bike. Dad is helping him. Will Jack be able to do it?"--Page 4 of cover.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Muhammad Ali: The Greatest

Joanne Mattern · Children's Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Meet Muhammad Ali. He was more than the heavyweight champion of the world, more than the greatest of all time. Ali was the peoples championan athlete who completely transcended his sport. This book offers a look back at Alis fascinating lifein and out of the ring.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Littles: And How They Grow

Kelly DiPucchio · Doubleday Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

In the beloved tradition of Robert Munsch's Love You Forever and Emily Winfield Martin's The Wonderful Things You Will Be comes a beautiful rhyming ode to babies from a New York Times bestselling author/illustrator duo - perfect for baby showers, newborn gifts, first...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pirate, Viking & Scientist

Jared Chapman · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

In this tale of a classic friendship conundrum, a determined little boy won't rest until he proves his theory that you really can have more than one best friend!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Whoosh!: A Watery World of Wonderful Creatures

Marilyn Baillie · Owlkids Books
Format: Hardcover

A wonderful, whimsical exploration of various animals in the water and the ways in which children can, and do, mimic them, Whoosh! gets young readers thinking and moving. Each spread features an animal in a watery scene opposite a child mimicking the animal’s activity in some way....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Zoom! Zoom!: Sounds of Things That Go in the City

Robert Burleigh · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Format: Hardcover

Listen up! The sounds of the city come to life in this vivid picture book that’s ready-made for repetition and perfect for preschool.From the TING-A-LING-A-LING of an alarm clock in the morning to the RUMBLE RATTLE of the subway and the BEEEEEP-BEEEEP of the streaming traffic, all the way to the SHHHHHHHHHHHHHH...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hooray for Kids

Suzanne Lang · Random House
Format: Print book

Every kid is a one-of-a-kind kid!Suzanne and Max Lang (Families, Families, Families!) bring us another joyful ode to diversity in this zippy rhyming celebration of kids of all stripes. Whether you're a play-a-lot-of-ball kid, a hang-out-at-the-mall kid, a bake-delicious-pie kid,...
Read More check catalog