Back Children's Books | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
The House That Zack Built

Alison Murray · Candlewick
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A buzzy fly and a mischievous kitten make a mess on the farm in this contemporary twist on a classic rhyme.

This is the fly that
buzzed on by
over the house
that Zack built . . .

Readers in the know may recognize Zack and his trusty...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Pledge Allegiance

Pat Mora · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Libby's great aunt, Lobo, is from Mexico, but the United States has been her home for many years, and she wants to become a U.S. citizen. At the end of the week, Lobo will say the Pledge of Allegiance at a special ceremony. Libby is also learning the Pledge this week, at school—at...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This book just ate my dog!

Richard Byrne · Henry Holt
Pages: 32
Format: Book

When her dog disappears into the gutter of the book, Bella calls for help. But when the helpers disappear too, Bella realizes it will take more than a tug on the leash to put things right. Cleverly using the physicality of the book, This book just ate my dog! is inventive, ingenious,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Big Rig

Jamie A. Swenson · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Come along for the ride as Frankie the big rig truck takes us on the job, driving past kiddie cars (school buses) and land yachts (RVs) . Hear the horn blow and the wipers schwat the windshield clean. But, BANG! SHHUUU! Uh-oh: a blow-out! Don't worry, a service truck saves the day so we can get the job done...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It's only Stanley

Jon Agee · Dial Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Fans of Jon Klassen and Oliver Jeffers will love this mischievously funny read-aloud from award-winning author/illustrator Jon Agee

Mysterious noises keep waking up the Wimbledon family. "That's very odd," says Mr. Wimbledon each time, but when he returns from checking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Little Snowplow

Lora Koehler · Candlewick
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times bestseller!

Big trucks may brag and roar, but small and steadfast wins the day in this cheerful story with timeless appeal.

On the Mighty Mountain Road Crew, the trucks come in one size: BIG. That is, until the little snowplow joins the crew....
Read More check catalog
 
 
My First Swim Class

ALYSSA SATIN CAPUCILLI · Simon Spotlight
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Young readers can learn all about what happens at swim class in this Pre-level 1 Ready-to-Read with sweet text and photographs of swimmers-in-training!It's the first day of swim class in this early reader by Biscuit creator Alyssa Satin Capucilli. What will it be like? In swim class,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Your Lion Needs a Bath

Susanna Leonard Hill · Little Simon
Pages: 26
Format: Board book

When your lion needs a bath, you have to be pretty sneaky! This charming and hilarious board book highlights the many ways to get your lion into that tub!Does your lion need a bath? When your lion needs a bath, you must be a little sneaky. After all, have you ever met a cat who likes water?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Waiting for Santa

Steve Metzger · Tiger Tales
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

It's Christmas Eve. 'We've got to get ready for Santa Claus!' Bear tells his friends. While the other animals are excited, Badger isn't convinced. Badger grumbles that Santa's not coming. But Bear tells Badger and his friends that they must believe! So Bear organizes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mighty Dads

Joan Holub · Scholastic Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A new constructacular picture book from the New York Times bestselling creator of Pete the Cat, James Dean and bestselling author, Joan Holub.

Mighty dads, strong and tall,
help their children, young and small.

They keep them safe and bolted tight
and show them how to build...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Betty Goes Bananas

Steve Antony · Schwartz & Wade Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Like Molly Bang's When Sophie Gets Angry - Really, Really Angry, this book offers families a perfect opportunity to openly discuss emotions and behavior. Meet Betty, a gorilla. She wants to eat a banana, but . . . try as she might, she can't open it! Poor Betty - she just can't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sleep, My Bunny

ROSEMARY WELLS · Candlewick
Pages: 24
Format: Hardcover

From the treasured creator of Max and Ruby comes a soothing, quintessential lullaby of a book for the very young.

The owls and the crickets are singing together.

Outside the window, night falls in a vivid, expressionistic ode to Van Gogh. But inside the cozy house,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My First BOB Books: Pre-Reading Skills

Lynn Maslen Kertell · Scholastic
Pages: 48
Format: Paperback

Scholastic s award-winning reading program is now available to pre-readers with the creation of My First Bob BooksTM. Expanding upon the Bob Books method and philosophy, these brand new sets offer children and their parents simple and satisfying tools that lay an important foundation for reading...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Twinkle Thinks Pink!

Katharine Holabird
Format: Hardcover


Read More check catalog
 
 
Miffy Rides a Bike

Maggie Testa · Simon Spotlight
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Miffy learns to ride a bike in this Pre-level 1 Ready-to-Read story based on a popular episode of Miffy's Adventures Big and Small.Miffy is excited to ride her new bike. Snuffy, the dog, even comes along! After a few ups and downs, Miffy finds herself with a boo-boo. Luckily, Mummy...
Read More check catalog