Back Great reads from your Library Staff | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Great reads from your Library Staff  
Luckiest Girl Alive: A Novel

Jessica Knoll · Simon & Schuster, 2015. ©2015
Pages: 341

Recommended by Tracy in Abingdon

The instant New York Times bestseller and "the perfect page-turner to start your summer" (People, Book of the Week) , Luckiest Girl Alive is about secrets and lies ... and whether or not the truth can really set you free."Loved...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mare: A Novel

Mary Gaitskill · Pantheon Books
Pages: 435

Recommended by Karen in Riverside

Following her National Book Award-nominated Veronica, here is Mary Gaitskill's most poignant and powerful work yet - the story of a Dominican girl, the Anglo woman who introduces her to riding, and the horse who changes everything...

Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Start a Fire

Lisa Lutz · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Recommended by Barb in Bel Air

From a bestselling writer, a story of unexpected friendship - three women thrown together in college who grow to adulthood united and divided by secrets, lies, and a single night that shaped all of them When UC Santa Cruz roommates...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Miniaturist: A Novel

Jessie Burton · Ecco
Pages: 397

Recommended by Morgan in Bel Air

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam - a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion - a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Chasing Lincoln's Killer

James L. Swanson · Scholastic Press; 1 edition

Recommended by Kristina in Edgewood

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author James Swanson delivers a riveting account of the chase for Abraham Lincolns assassin.Based on rare archival material, obscure trial manuscripts, and interviews with relatives of the conspirators...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boston Girl: A Novel

Anita Diamant · Scribner, 2014.
Pages: 322

Recommended by Margaret in Abingdon

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Red Tent and Day After Night, comes an unforgettable novel about family ties and values, friendship and feminism told through the eyes of a young Jewish woman growing up in Boston...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ocean at the End of the Lane: A Novel

Neil Gaiman · William Morrow; 1st edition

Recommended by Suzy in Whiteford

A brilliantly imaginative and poignant fairy tale from the modern master of wonder and terror, The Ocean at the End of the Lane is Neil Gaiman's first new novel for adults since his #1 New York Times bestseller Anansi Boys.This...

Read More check catalog
 
 
A Confederacy of Dunces

John Kennedy Toole · Louisiana State University Press; 20th Anniversary Edition edition
Pages: 338

Recommended by Bob in Bel Air

A popular Pulitzer Prize-winning comedy follows the adventures of New Orlean's lower denizens of the French Quarter.

Read More check catalog