Back What's New at MCDL | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  What's New at MCDL  
The Sleepwalker: A Novel

Chris Bohjalian · Doubleday
Pages: 284
Format: Print book

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Guest Room comes a spine-tingling novel of lies, loss, and buried desire - the mesmerizing story of a wife and mother who vanishes from her bed late one night. When Annalee Ahlberg goes missing, her children fear the worst. Annalee is a sleepwalker...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wicked City: A Novel

Beatriz Williams · William Morrow
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

New York Times bestselling author Beatriz Williams recreates the New York City of A Certain Age in this deliciously spicy adventure that mixes past and present and centers on a Jazz Age love triangle involving a rugged Prohibition agent, a saucy redheaded flapper, and a debonair Princetonian...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Law and Disorder

Heather Graham · Harlequin
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Trust the enemy? Desperate to escape her kidnappers, Kody Cameron can turn to only one man ... and he's holding a gun. Outnumbered and trapped in the deadly Everglades, she has little recourse, but something in this captor's eyes makes her believe she can trust him. Does she dare...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Deaths: A Novel

Emma Flint · Hachette Books
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

"A phenomenal achievement."---Jeffery Deaver "A gem of a whodunit."---Mary Kubica, author of The Good Girl It's 1965 in a tight-knit working-class neighborhood in Queens, New York, and Ruth Malone--a single mother who works long hours as a cocktail waitress--wakes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Nowhere Man

Gregg Hurwitz · Minotaur Books
Pages: 358
Format: Print book

Spoken about only in whispers, the Nowhere Man can only be reached by the truly desperate, he can -- He will do anything to save them. Evan Smoak is the Nowhere Man. Taken from a group home at twelve, Evan was raised and trained as part of the Orphan Program, an off-the-books operation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Life and Times of Persimmon Wilson: A Novel

Nancy Peacock · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

For fans of Cold Mountain and The Invention of Wings comes "a tour de force of historical fiction" (Henry Wiencek, author of Master of the Mountain) that follows the epic journey of a slave-turned-Comanche warrior who travels from the brutality of a New Orleans sugar cane plantation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Is Not Over: A Novel

Holly Brown · William Morrow Paperbacks
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

You'll have your deposit within seven business days, just like it says on Getaway.com. I've put through a refund to your credit card for the full amount, minus $200 to replace the stained sheets...MirandaWhen 30-year-old Dawn reads Miranda's email, she sees red. People have always told...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Clownfish Blues: A Novel

Tim Dorsey · William Morrow
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

A (Serge A.) Storm is brewing for a cabal of bad guys gaming the Florida state lottery in this insanely funny novel from the maestro of mayhem, Tim Dorsey.If you're loud and proud Floridian Serge A. Storms, how do you follow up your very own remake of Easy Rider? You shoot your own "episodes"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fifth Petal: A Novel

Brunonia Barry · Crown
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

Beloved author Brunonia Barry returns to the world of THE LACE READER with this spellbinding new thriller, a complex brew of suspense, seduction and murder.When a teenage boy dies suspiciously on Halloween night, Salem's chief of police, John Rafferty, now married to gifted lace reader...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl Before: A Novel

J P Delaney · Ballantine Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Silent Wife, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman's seemingly good fortune, and another woman's mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Death's Mistress

Terry Goodkind · Tor
Pages: 512
Format: Print book

Onetime lieutenant of the evil Emperor Jagang, known as "Death's Mistress" and the "Slave Queen", the deadly Nicci captured Richard Rahl in order to convince him that the Imperial Order stood for the greater good. But it was Richard who converted Nicci instead, and for years...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Silver City: A Novel of the American West

Jeff Guinn · Putnam
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

Cash McLendon faces stone-cold enforcer Killer Boots in an Old West showdown, in New York Times-bestselling author Jeff Guinn's riveting follow-up to Buffalo Trail. Cash McLendon, reluctant hero of the epic Indian battle at Adobe Walls, has journeyed to Mountain View in the Arizona...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mrs. Sherlock Holmes: The True Story of New York's City's Greatest Female Detective and the 1917 Missing Girl Case that Captivated a Nation

Brad Ricca · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

Mrs. Sherlock Holmes tells the incredible true life story of Mrs. Grace Humiston, the New York lawyer and detective who solved the famous cold case of Ruth Cruger, an 18-year-old girl who disappeared in 1917. Grace was an amazing lawyer and traveling detective during a time when no women...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Food, Health and Happiness: 115 On-Point Recipes for Great Meals and a Better Life

Oprah Winfrey · Flatiron Books
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Oprah's favorite meals; a stunning four-color cookbook featuring 100 delicious and healthy recipes. Oprah Winfrey has spent her life trying to make peace with food, which has been such a source of pleasure and meaning for her. Now Oprah has found ways to have her favorite meals while also...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Hate Everyone, Except You

Clinton Kelly · Gallery Books
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Bestselling author and television host Clinton Kelly pens a hilariously candid, deliciously snarky collection of essays about his journey from awkward kid to slightly-less-awkward adult.Clinton Kelly is probably best known for teaching women how to make their butts look smaller. But in I Hate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ripper: The Secret Life of Walter Sickert

Patricia Cornwell · Thomas & Mercer

From New York Times bestselling author Patricia Cornwell comes Ripper: The Secret Life of Walter Sickert, a comprehensive and intriguing exposé of one of the world's most chilling cases of serial murder - and the police force that failed to solve it.Vain and charismatic Walter Sickert...
Read More check catalog