Back Psychology & Philosophy | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Psychology & Philosophy
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
Brave, Not Perfect: Fear Less, Fail More, and Live Bolder

Reshma Saujani · Currency
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author and Girls Who Code founder/CEO inspires us to discover the power of female bravery.Do you run yourself ragged trying to not just do it all, but do it all flawlessly? Do you lose sleep ruminating over small mistakes or worrying that something you said or did might...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Healing a Community: Lessons for Recovery after a Large-Scale Trauma

Melissa Glaser MSLPC · Central Recovery Press
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

The tragedy of large-scale trauma has etched the names of cities on a national monument of heartbreak and senseless loss. First responders, caregivers, and civic leaders are often left with the daunting task of navigating the emotional and physical aftermath and stitching their communities...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Be Yourself: Quiet Your Inner Critic and Rise Above Social Anxiety

Ellen Hendriksen · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 298
Format: Hardcover

Picking up where Quiet ended, How to Be Yourself is the best book you'll ever read about how to conquer social anxiety."This book is also a groundbreaking road map to finally being your true, authentic self." -- Susan Cain, New York Times, USA Today and nationally bestselling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Inflamed Mind: A Radical New Approach to Depression

EDWARD BULLMORE · Picador
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Worldwide, depression will be the single biggest cause of disability in the next twenty years. But treatment for it has not changed much in the last three decades. In the world of psychiatry, time has apparently stood still...until now with Edward Bullmore's The Inflamed Mind: A Radical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Aristotle's Way: How Ancient Wisdom Can Change Your Life

Edith Hall · Penguin Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From renowned classicist Edith Hall, ARISTOTLE'S WAY is an examination of one of history's greatest philosophers, showing us how to lead happy, fulfilled, and meaningful livesAristotle was the first philosopher to inquire into subjective happiness, and he understood its essence...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Women Rowing North: Navigating Life's Currents and Flourishing As We Age

Mary Bray Pipher · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of Reviving Ophelia, a guide to wisdom, authenticity, and bliss for women as they age.Women growing older contend with ageism, misogyny, and loss. Yet as Mary Pipher shows, most older women are deeply happy and filled with gratitude for the gifts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir

Maude Julien · Back Bay Books
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

AN AMAZON BEST BOOK OF THE MONTH. For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, an astonishing memoir of one woman rising above an unimaginable childhood. Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor--raising her in isolation,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Your Brain on Plants: Improve the Way You Think and Feel with Safe―and Proven―Medicinal Plants and Herbs

Nicolette Perry · The Experiment
Pages: 204
Format: Paperback

This practical, authoritative, and beautiful reference guide introduces you to more than 50 medicinal plants that offer natural, safe ways to optimize your brain health. Expert authors and mother-daughter team Elaine and Nicolette Perry have mastered an ever-growing body of scientific research...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Collision on Tenerife: The How and Why of the World's Worst Aviation Disaster

Jon Ziomek · Post Hill Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The world's worst air disaster happened more than 40 years ago on a remote Atlantic Ocean island, when two fully loaded 747 passenger jets collided after a horrendous series of human errors.One of the jets, KLM Flight 4805, was traveling more than 150 miles an hour and was within seconds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Doctor You: Introducing the Hard Science of Self-Healing

Jeremy Howick · Quercus
Pages: 301
Format: Hardcover

Examining modern medicine's overuse of pharmaceutical and surgical intervention, and the scientific evidence for your body's innate power to heal itself. "Read this breakthrough book!" --Deepak Chopra The miracles of modern medicine--and our overreliance on prescription...
Read More check catalog