Back elementary-middle grades | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Ban This Book: A Novel

ALAN GRATZ · Starscape
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

You're Never Too Young to Fight Censorship!In Ban This Book by Alan Gratz, a fourth grader fights back when From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E. L. Konigsburg is challenged by a well-meaning parent and taken off the shelves of her school library. Amy Anne is shy and soft-spoken,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bob

Wendy Mass · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

It's been five years since Livy and her family have visited Livy's grandmother in Australia. Now that she's back, Livy has the feeling she's forgotten something really, really important about Gran's house.It turns out she's right.Bob, a short, greenish creature dressed in a chicken suit,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ghost Boys

Jewell Parker Rhodes · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a police officer, drawing connections through history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes.Only the living can make the world better. Live and make it better.Twelve-year-old Jerome is shot by a police officer who mistakes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Penderwicks at Last

JEANNE BIRDSALL · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

The finale you've all been waiting for: The Penderwicks at Last is the final, flawless installment in the modern classic series from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestselling author Jeanne Birdsall!Nine years, five older siblings, a few beloved dogs, and an endless array...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Endling #1: The Last

Katherine Applegate · HarperCollins
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

The award-winning powerhouse author Katherine Applegate is back with an epic new middle grade animal fantasy series that delivers both the heart and emotional heft we loved in The One and Only Ivan and her signature action-packed adventure from the Animorphs series. --This text refers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lemons

Melissa Savage · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The search for Bigfoot gets juicy in this funny and touching story that's perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo's Flora & Ulysses and Katherine Applegate's Crenshaw! Lemonade Liberty Witt's mama always told her: When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. But Lem can't possibly make lemonade...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Joan Procter, Dragon Doctor: The Woman Who Loved Reptiles

Patricia Valdez · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Ada Twist: Scientist comes a fascinating picture book biography of a pioneering female scientist--who loved reptiles!Back in the days of long skirts and afternoon teas, young Joan Procter entertained the most unusual party guests: slithery and scaly ones, who turned over teacups...
Read More check catalog