Back Children's Books | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Children's Books  
The Youngest Marcher: The Story of Audrey Faye Hendricks, a Young Civil Rights Activist
The Youngest Marcher: The Story of Audrey Faye Hendricks, a Young Civil Rights Activist

Cynthia Levinson · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Meet the youngest known child to be arrested for a civil rights protest in Birmingham, Alabama, 1963, in this moving picture book that proves you're never too little to make a difference.Nine-year-old Audrey Faye Hendricks intended to go places and do things like anybody else. So when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Saving Wonder
Saving Wonder

Mary Knight · Scholastic Press, 2016. ©2015
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Having lost most of his family to coal mining accidents as a little boy, Curley Hines lives with his grandfather in the Appalachian Mountains of Wonder Gap, Kentucky. Ever since Curley can remember, Papaw has been giving him a word each week to learn and live. Papaw says words are Curley's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beautiful Blue World
Beautiful Blue World

Suzanne M LaFleur · Wendy Lamb Books
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

Beautiful Blue World is a thrilling and moving story of children who become the key to winning a war. Sofarende is at war. For twelve-year-old Mathilde, it means food shortages, feuding neighbors, and bombings. Even so, as long as she and her best friend, Megs, are together, they'll...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wandmaker
Wandmaker

Ed Masessa · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Magic is real -- and it runs in the family -- in this charming fantasy adventure about a boy who must balance his magical education with the demands of big-brotherhood, perfect for fans of Jenny Nimmo and Angie Sage. Henry Leach the Eighth doesn't know it yet, but he's descended...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Imagination Box
The Imagination Box

Martyn Ford · Delacorte Press
Pages: 231
Format: Print book

Fans of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library and The Mysterious Benedict Society will race through this exciting adventure about an orphan, his unusual friends, and the power of imagination. What if everything you imagined could become real? It all starts when Professor Eisenstone,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bicycle Spy
The Bicycle Spy

Yona Zeldis McDonough · Scholastic Press
Pages: 197
Format: Print book

Marcel loves riding his bicycle, whether he's racing through the streets of his small town in France or making bread deliveries for his parents' bakery. He dreams of someday competing in the Tour de France, the greatest bicycle race. But ever since Germany's occupation of France began two years...
Read More check catalog