Back Business & Investing | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Business & Investing  
Let Me Out: Unlock Your Creative Mind and Bring Your Ideas to Life

Peter Himmelman · TarcherPerigee
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning musician turned communications expert Peter Himmelman, science-based techniques and simple exercises to get unstuck and unlock your creative potential. Do you want to stop procrastinating? Would you love to be more creative? Is there an idea you've dreamt of making...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Herbert Hoover in the White House: The Ordeal of the Presidency

Charles Rappleye · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 554
Format: Print book

"A deft, filled-out portrait of the thirty-first president...by far the best, most readable study of Hoover's presidency to date." - Publishers Weekly Rappleye's surprising portrait of a Depression-era president Herbert Hoover reveals a very different figure than the usual Hoover,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gigged: The End of the Job and the Future of Work

Sarah Kessler · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"With deep reporting and graceful storytelling, Sarah Kessler reveals the ground truth of a key part of the American workforce. Her analysis is both astute and nuanced, making GIGGED essential reading for anyone interested in the future of work." -- Daniel H. Pink, author of WHEN...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Glass House: The 1% Economy and the Shattering of the All-American Town

Brian Alexander · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land**A New York Post Must-Read Book, a Newsweek Best New Book, one of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017, one of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books Coming in February 2017**"A devastating read...For anyone wondering why swing-state...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Coders: The Making of a New Tribe and the Remaking of the World

Clive Thompson · Penguin Press
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

Hello, world.Facebook's algorithms shaping the news. Self-driving cars roaming the streets. Revolution on Twitter and romance on Tinder. We live in a world constructed of code--and coders are the ones who built it for us. From acclaimed tech writer Clive Thompson comes a brilliant anthropological...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unequal Gains: American Growth and Inequality since 1700

Peter H Lindert · Princeton University Press
Pages: 398
Format: Print book

"Unequal Gains" offers a radically new understanding of the economic evolution of the United States, providing a complete picture of the uneven progress of America from colonial times to today. While other economic historians base their accounts on American wealth, Peter Lindert...
Read More check catalog
 
 
AgeProof: Living Longer Without Running Out of Money or Breaking a Hip

Jean Chatzky · Grand Central Life & Style
Pages: 328
Format: Hardcover

Two of the world's leading experts explain the vital link between health and wealth that could add years to your life and dollars to your retirement savings.All the money in the world doesn't mean a thing if we can't get out of bed. And the healthiest body in the world won't stay that way if we're...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trustee's Legal Companion, The: A Step-by-Step Guide to Administering a Living Trust

Liza Hanks Attorney · NOLO
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback

You're the trustee. Now what? Living trusts are popular estate planning tools, but if you've been chosen to serve as a trustee, you're probably wondering where to begin. The Trustee's Legal Companion has everything you need to get organized, get started, and get the job done. You'll learn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Resumes For Dummies

Laura DeCarlo · For Dummies
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

Polish up that old resume - and land your dream jobWe've all been there: it's time to apply for a job or internship and you have to create or revise your resume. Many questions pop in your head. What do employers want? What skills should I highlight? How do I format this? How do I get noticed?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
For-Profit Democracy: Why the Government Is Losing the Trust of Rural America

LOKA ASHWOOD · Yale University Press
Pages: 328
Format: Hardcover

A fascinating sociological assessment of the damaging effects of the for?profit partnership between government and corporation on rural Americans Why is government distrust rampant, especially in the rural United States? This book offers a simple explanation: corporations and the government...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Big Money Thinks Small: Biases, Blind Spots, and Smarter Investing

Joel Tillinghast · Columbia University Press
Pages: 312
Format: Hardcover

Investors are tempted daily with misinformation. They make lucky bets that breed false confidence, and their high-stakes gambles can take an emotional toll. How can anyone stay focused in such a volatile profession?In Big Money Thinks Small, veteran fund manager Joel Tillinghast urges investors...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Every Landlord's Legal Guide

MARCIA STEWART · NOLO
Pages: 496
Format: Paperback

Every Landlord's Legal Guide gives landlords and property managers the legal and practical solutions they need to rent residential property right. From move-in to move-out, this book covers a wide range of issues, including fair housing, repairs, sublets, screening for good tenants,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Creator's Code: The Six Essential Skills of Extraordinary Entrepreneurs

Amy Wilkinson · Simon & Schuster
Format: Hardcover

Each of us has the capacity to spot opportunities, invent products, and build businesses - even $100 million businesses.How do some people turn ideas into enterprises that endure? Why do some people succeed when so many others fail? The Creator's Code unlocks the six essential skills...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Art Thinking: How to Carve Out Creative Space in a World of Schedules, Budgets, and Bosses

Amy Whitaker · HarperBusiness
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

An indispensable and inspiring guide to creativity in the workplace and beyond, drawing on art, psychology, science, sports, law, business, and technology to help you land big ideas in the practical world.Anyone from CEO to freelancer knows how hard it is to think big, let alone follow...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Never Split the Difference: Negotiating As If Your Life Depended On It

Christopher Voss · HarperBusiness
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A former international hostage negotiator for the FBI offers a new, field-tested approach to high-stakes negotiations - whether in the boardroom or at home.After a stint policing the rough streets of Kansas City, Missouri, Chris Voss joined the FBI, where his career as a hostage negotiator...
Read More check catalog