Back History | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - History
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
Chamber Divers: The Untold Story of the D-Day Scientists Who Changed Special Operations Forever

Rachel Lance - Dutton
Format: Hardcover

For readers of The Making of the Atomic Bomb and Code Girls, who want stories about the tech behind military successes and the maverick groups that generate historic innovations This is the previously classified story of one group of scientific researchers - men and women - who exposed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Survivors of the Clotilda: The Lost Stories of the Last Captives of the American Slave Trade

Hannah Durkin - Amistad
Format: Hardcover

Joining the ranks of Rebecca Skloot's The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and Zora Neale Hurston's rediscovered classic Barracoon, an immersive and revelatory history of the Clotilda, the last slave ship to land on US soil, told through the stories of its survivors - the last documented...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ghosts of Honolulu: A Japanese Spy, A Japanese American Spy Hunter, and the Untold Story of Pearl Harbor

Mark Harmon - Harper Select
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"A fast-paced debut...Espionage buffs will savor this vibrant account." - Publishers WeeklyA U.S. naval counterintelligence officer working to safeguard Pearl Harbor; a Japanese spy ordered to Hawaii to gather information on the American fleet. On December...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Native Nations: A Millennium in North America

Kathleen DuVal - Random House
Format: Hardcover

A magisterial history of Indigenous North America that places the power of Native nations at its center, telling their story from the rise of ancient cities more than a thousand years ago to fights for sovereignty that continue today. "A feat of both scholarship and storytelling."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
History Lover's Guide to Cincinnati, A (History & Guide)

Robert Schrage - The History Press
Format: Paperback

A tour of the Queen City's rich heritage One of the oldest cities in the Midwest, Cincinnati has history in its bones. In the 1800s, the city was often styled the "Paris of America" due in part to ambitious architectural projects like the Music Hall, Cincinnatian Hotel, and city...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Medgar and Myrlie: Medgar Evers and the Love Story That Awakened America

Joy-Ann Reid - Mariner Books
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times Bestseller"Medgar Evers deserves a place alongside Malcolm X and Dr. King in our historical memory. Evers, with Myrlie as his partner in activism and in life, was doing civil rights work in the single most hostile and dangerous environment in America." - from...
Read More check catalog