Back Ages 4-8 | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
Ivy and Bean One Big Happy Family (Ivy and Bean Series #11)

Annie Barrows · Chronicle Books
Pages: 124
Format: Hardcover

Annie Barrows' bestselling chapter book series, Ivy & Bean, is a classroom favorite and has been keeping kids laughing- - and reading - for more than a decade! With more than 5 million copies in print, Ivy & Bean return with a brand-new book for a new generation!Ivy & Bean are back...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Official DC Super Hero Cookbook: 50+ Simple, Healthy, Tasty Recipes for Growing Super Heroes

Matthew Mead · Downtown Bookworks; Nov Spi edition
Format: Hardcover

The DC SUPER HERO COOKBOOK is packed with simple, fun recipes designed to evoke kids favorite super heroes and to enhance their super powers. DC Super Hero logo stencils and character cut-outs make for extra-fun food styling. More than fifty easy, tasty recipes inspired by beloved DC characters...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Plain Sight: A Game

Richard Jackson · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

Sophie lives with Mama and Daddy and Grandpa, who spends his days by the window. Every day after school, it's Grandpa whom Sophie runs to."Here I am, Grandpa!""Ah, Sophie, how was your day?"As Sophie and her grandpa talk, he asks her to find items he's "lost"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dino-Wrestling

Lisa Wheeler · Lerner Publishing Group
Pages: 1
Format: Print book

The Dino-Wrestling Jamboree is ON! Dinos compete in all styles of wrestling at this gigantic event. Allo and Ankylo grapple in a folkstyle match. Lucha Libre fans go wild as the masked Tarbosaurus takes on Iguano. Tricera and Gigano loom large on the sumo dohyo, while over in the freestyle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Small Walt

Elizabeth Verdick · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

"Charming and endearing." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "The grit of The Little Engine that Could, the nostalgic illustrations of Katy and the Big Snow, and a touch of modernity from an accomplished author and illustrator, combine to become Small Walt." - School...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hortense and the Shadow

NATALIA O'HARA · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A haunting, original fairy tale from two dazzling debut picture book talents, in the spirit of Neil Gaiman and Carson Ellis. Hortense is a kind and brave girl, but she is sad--even angry--that her shadow follows her everywhere she goes. She hates her shadow, and thinks her shadow must...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eat Like a Bear

April Pulley Sayre · Henry Holt and Company
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Can you eat like a bear?A sleepy bear awakes in spring and goes to find food. But what is there to eat in April? In May? Follow along and eat like a bear throughout the year: fish from a stream, ants from a tree, and delicious huckleberries from a bush. Fill up your belly and prepare for the long...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mystery Mountain Getaway

WALKER STYLES · Little Simon
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Rider and the PI Pack solve a snow monster mystery in this ninth Rider Woofson adventure.Even the greatest dog detective in the world deserves a little time away from fighting crime, so Rider and the PI Pack head to the Mystery Mountain ski resort for a well-deserved vacation. But when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Henry Holton Takes the Ice

Sandra Bradley · Dial Books; Ragbk edition
Format: Hardcover

A lively hockey and ice dancing picture book in the tradition of Billy Elliot and The Sissy DucklingHenry Holton's whole family is hockey mad. Everyone, that is, except Henry. When he holds a hockey stick, Henry becomes a menace to the game - and an embarrassment to his sports-minded...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Parrots Over Puerto Rico

Cindy Trumbore · Lee & Low Books Inc.
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Above the treetops of Puerto Rico flies a flock of parrots as green as their island home. . . . These are Puerto Rican parrots. They lived on this island for millions of years, and then they nearly vanished from the earth forever. Puerto Rican parrots, once abundant, came perilously close...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Star Wars Origami: 36 Amazing Paper-folding Projects from a Galaxy Far, Far Away....

Chris Alexander · Workman Publishing Company
Format: Paperback

Kids love origami—and what could be cooler than transforming a piece of paper into Boba Fett, Princess Leia, Yoda, or R2-D2? And not just any paper, but custom-designed paper illustrated with art from the movies. Star Wars® Origami marries the fun of paper folding with the obsession...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Looniverse #1: Stranger Things

David Lubar · Scholastic
Pages: 90
Format: Paperback

This wacky new series will have kids on the edge of their seats!This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line called Branches, which is aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations on every page,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Old Dog Baby Baby

Julie Fogliano · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

old doglazy lazylying on the kitchen floorhere comes babybabycrawling through the kitchen doorFollow the antics of a curious baby and his silly old dog in this funny, rhythmic, and joyful picture book from Julie Fogliano, illustrated by Caldecott Medalist Chris Raschka.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cocodrilo va al dentista

Gomi Taro · Fondo de Cultura Econ√≥mica; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

A veces, hay cosas que no nos gusta nada hacer. Pero debemos hacerlas. Cuando un cocodrilo con una caries debe visitar al dentista, ambos intuyen, cada uno por sus propias razones, que no será una visita ni placentera ni sencilla. Y aunque ambos piensan lo mismo, tienen que pasar por un largo...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fly Guy #13: Fly Guy and the Frankenfly

Tedd Arnold · Cartwheel Books
Pages: 30
Format: Hardcover

Buzz dreams about Frankenfly--but Fly Guy is a friend, not a monster!In the latest installment of the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling Fly Guy series, Buzz and Fly Guy spend a day together playing some spooky games and doing arts and crafts projects. When Buzz goes to bed, Fly Guy stays awake...
Read More check catalog