Back Ages 4-8 | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
Pony Scouts: Pony Party

Catherine Hapka · HarperCollins
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

This I Can Read story is perfect for beginning readers and pony lovers alike! In this charming story, the Pony Scouts are helping throw a pony party for a little girl's birthday. But when the birthday girl isn't having fun, it's up to the Meg, Jill, and Annie to save the day.Like...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Noisy Paint Box: The Colors and Sounds of Kandinsky's Abstract Art

Barb Rosenstock · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Format: Book

A Caldecott Honor BookVasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him to art classes, they expected him to paint pretty houses and flowers—like a proper artist....
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Readers L1: A Year on the Farm

Sue Unstead · DK Children
Format: Hardcover

Follow the busy lives of Mr. and Mrs. Farmer through A Year on the Farm, looking after the animals and growing crops. Look out for the busy Red Tractor who's helping out! Level 1 books are stories for children just beginning to learn to read. They use short, simple sentences, simple...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Adelaide's Secret World

ELISE HURST · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Library Binding

A gorgeously illustrated picture book about creativity, making connections, and finding friendship. Sure to appeal to fans of Shaun Tan or Aaron Becker.With a poetic story and lush paintings, Elise Hurst conveys how a bit of bravery, empathy, and imagination can transform our lives.Adelaide...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bizarro's Last Laugh

Read More check catalog
 
 
There's a Bug on My Book!

John Himmelman · Dawn Pubns
Format: Hardcover

Children are invited to tip, tap and turn an interactive book to change the positions of seven insects that are made to fly, hop, slide and interact on pages designed to look like natural-world environments. Simultaneous.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great American Story of Charlie Brown, Snoopy, and the Peanuts Gang!: History of Fun Stuff

CHLOE PERKINS · Simon Spotlight
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Now beginning readers can learn all about Charles M. Schulz's iconic comic strips, beloved characters, and the cartoons and movies in this nonfiction Level 3 Ready-to-Read about the history of the Peanuts Gang!Did you know that many of the characters in A Charlie Brown Christmas were...
Read More check catalog
 
 
After the Fall

DAN SANTAT · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times-bestselling creator of The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend comes the inspiring epilogue to the beloved classic nursery rhyme Humpty Dumpty.Everyone knows that when Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall, Humpty Dumpty had a great fall. But what happened after?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
April Fools', Mr. Todd!

Megan Mcdonald · Candlewick Press
Pages: 64
Format: Print book

It's April Fools' Day - and Judy's birthday - and Mr. Todd has a trick or two of his own planned in the latest Judy Moody tale for newly independent readers.April Fools' Day just happens to be one of Judy Moody's favorite days of the year. And this year she's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fish

Liam Francis Walsh · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A boy and his dog embark on a fishing journey.Their first catch of the day: a big fat letter F.Their second? A slippery I. After an epic journey beneath the lake's surface, they find what they came for-- a FISH, along with some unanticipated menace from a few other letters.This clever,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gooney Bird and All Her Charms

Lois Lowry · HMH Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

"It's March!" Mrs. Pidgeon said as she wrote the day's date on the chalkboard. "In like a lion, out like a lamb!" The morning bell has rung at Watertower Elementary School, and it's time for Mrs. Pidgeon's class to turn to page 52 in their science books...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Let's Go Nuts!: Seeds We Eat

April Pulley Sayre · Beach Lane Books
Format: Hardcover

This seed-themed companion to Rah, Rah, Radishes! and Go, Go, Grapes! proves that healthy eating can be both fun and delicious!What do nuts, beans, grains, and even some spices have in common? They’re all seeds—seeds we can eat! So get ready to greet lentils and limas, take...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Buck's Tooth

Diane Kredensor · Aladdin
Format: Hardcover

Chuckle your way through this easy-to-read illustrated chapter book about a big-toothed beaver who learns the importance of self-acceptance.All beavers have flat tails and furry coats. Most beavers have two front teeth. And then there's Buck. Unlike the rest of his family, he has one gigantic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
#1: Battle of the Bands

Melody Reed · little bee books
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

Jasmine, Maggie, Becca, and Scarlet love jamming together, but are they ready to perform in front of a real audience in a Battle of the Bands competition? Find out in the first book of this early chapter book series! Jasmine, Maggie, Becca, and Scarlet love jamming together in Jasmine's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pullman Porter

Vanita Oelschlager · Vanita Books
Format: Hardcover

Children and adults under the age of 40 are forgetting about the Pullman Porter. They were very important figures in the history of American. This book will teach children and adults, who the porters were and why they were so important in our history. Porters worked in early train cars,...
Read More check catalog