Back Children's Fiction | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
MVP #4: The Basketball Blowout

David A Kelly · Random House
Pages: 128
Format: Print book

From the author of the Ballpark Mysteries comes the coolest sports club around - the Most Valuable Players! The MVP club needs to raise money for their basketball tournament. At first, they think selling popcorn will be easy . . . but then Luke eats more popcorn than he sells! Plus there's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Awesome Dog 5000

Justin Dean · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Heads up, DOG MAN lovers! Watch out, readers of BAD GUYS! Robotic dog AWESOME DOG 5000 is in the neighborhood and he's. . . well, he's awesome.Marty, Ralph, and Skyler might make the ultimate secret combo when battling alien-slime ninjas in their favorite video game, but in real life they're...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fuzzy Fights Back

Bruce Hale · Scholastic Paperbacks
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

Is this the end of class pets?When Fuzzy accidentally gets a kid hurt, he feels awful. But worse -- the PTA president demands to get rid of all the class pets!Fuzzy and his friends get to work. A cuteness campaign? Their selfies fall short. A hunger strike? The pets get hungry. Could the PTA president's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Planet Earth Is Blue

Nicole Panteleakos · Wendy Lamb Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach MeA heartrending and hopeful debut novel about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blastaway

Melissa Landers · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Kyler Centaurus isn't your typical runaway. All he wanted was a quick trip to the legendary Fasti Sun Festival. Who wouldn't want to see new stars being born? Um, try Kyler's entire family. They couldn't care less about mind-blowing wonders of science. When an accidental...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wolves of Slough Creek

Judy Young · Sleeping Bear Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

In his third wilderness adventure, eleven-year-old Buck Bray, along with the rest of The Wild World of Buck Bray TV crew, including the cameraman's daughter, Toni Shoop, heads to Yellowstone National Park to film an episode about its famous geysers and hot springs. They are also there...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Emperor of the Universe

David Lubar · Starscape
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The launch of a madcap space adventure trilogy for young readers by David Lubar, author of the popular Weenies Tales!When seventh grader Nicholas V. Landrew, his beloved pet gerbil Henrietta, and a package of ground beef are beamed aboard an alien space ship, they soon find themselves on the run in a madcap...
Read More check catalog