Back Biographies & Memoirs | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Biographies & Memoirs
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
Unbecoming: A Memoir of Disobedience

Anuradha Bhagwati · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A raw, unflinching memoir by a former US Marine Captain chronicling her journey from dutiful daughter of immigrants to radical activist effecting historic policy reform.After a lifetime of buckling to the demands of her strict Indian parents, Anuradha Bhagwati abandons her grad school career...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gray Day: My Undercover Mission to Expose America's First Cyber Spy

Eric O'Neill · Crown
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A cybersecurity expert and former FBI "ghost" tells the thrilling story of how he helped take down notorious FBI mole Robert Hanssen, the first Russian cyber spy.Eric O'Neill was only twenty-six when he was tapped for the case of a lifetime: a one-on-one undercover investigation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chamber Music: Wu-Tang and America

Will Ashon · Faber & Faber Social
Format: Hardcover

"Each of these chambers contains wonders of history, destiny, and mythology. Chamber Music is hip hop as race and class politics, as music and as poetry on the move. Through Ashon's vibrant textured prose we watch in awe as these young men seize on whatever the culture has to offer,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Running Home: A Memoir

Katie Arnold · Random House
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Wild and H Is for Hawk, a former Outside magazine writer tells her story - of fathers and daughters, grief and renewal, adventure and obsession, and the power of running to change your life.I'm running to forget, and to remember. Katie Arnold learned early how her legs...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wally Funk's Race for Space: The Extraordinary Story of a Female Aviation Pioneer

Sue Nelson · Chicago Review Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Wally Funk was among the Mercury 13, the first group of American pilots to complete NASA's 1961 Women in Space program. Funk breezed through the rigorous physical and mental tests, her scores beating those of many of the male candidates - even John Glenn. Just one week before Funk was to enter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spearhead: An American Tank Gunner, His Enemy, and a Collision of Lives in World War II

Adam Makos · Ballantine Books
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of A Higher Call comes the riveting World War II story of an American tank gunner's journey into the heart of the Third Reich, where he will meet destiny in an iconic armor duel - and forge an enduring bond with his enemy. When Clarence Smoyer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
First: Sandra Day O'Connor

Evan Thomas · Random House
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

The intimate, inspiring, and authoritative biography of Sandra Day O'Connor, America's first female Supreme Court justice, drawing on exclusive interviews and first-time access to Justice O'Connor's archives - by the New York Times bestselling author Evan Thomas."She's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Imagine It Forward: Courage, Creativity, and the Power of Change

Beth Comstock · Currency
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

From one of today's foremost innovation leaders, an inspiring and practical guide to mastering change in the face of uncertainty. The world will never be slower than it is right now, says Beth Comstock, the former Vice Chair and head of marketing and innovation at GE. But confronting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Trial of Lizzie Borden

Cara Robertson · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The remarkable new account of an essential piece of American mythology - the trial of Lizzie Borden - based on twenty years of research and recently unearthed evidence.The Trial of Lizzie Borden tells the true story of one of the most sensational murder trials in American history. When...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Roots Quest: Inside America's Genealogy Boom

Jackie Hogan · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

America is in the midst of a genealogy boom. In the last thirty years the number of Americans who said they were "very interested" in family history jumped from 29% to 87%. Online genealogy sites like Ancestry.com went from being a small genealogical research website into a NASDAQ-listed...
Read More check catalog