St Mary Parish Library
 
Simple News Pro
  Science  
The One-Minute Workout: Science Shows a Way to Get Fit That's Smarter, Faster, Shorter

Christopher Shulgan · Avery Pub Group
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

Finally, the solution to the #1 reason we don't exercise: time. Everyone has one minute. A decade ago, Martin Gibala was a young researcher in the field of exercise physiology - with little time to exercise. That critical point in his career launched a passion for high-intensity interval...
 
 
The Greatest Story Ever Told--So Far: Why Are We Here?

Lawrence M Krauss · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Internationally renowned, award-winning theoretical physicist, New York Times bestselling author of A Universe from Nothing, and passionate advocate for reason, Lawrence Krauss tells the dramatic story of the discovery of the hidden world of reality - a grand poetic vision of nature - and how we find...
 
 
Food forensics : the health ranger's guide to foods that harm and foods that heal.

Mike Adams · Benbella Books
Pages: 320
Format: Book

What's really in our food?Award-winning investigative journalist and clean food activist Mike Adams, the "Health Ranger," is founder and editor of NaturalNews.com, one of the top health news websites in the world, reaching millions of readers each month.Now, in Food Forensics,...
 
 
The Vaccine Race: Science, Politics, and the Human Costs of Defeating Disease

Meredith Wadman · Viking
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

The epic and controversial story of the development of the first widely used normal human cell-line and, through it, some of the world s most important vaccines In June 1962, a young biologist at the Wistar Institute in Philadelphia, Leonard Hayflick, using tissue extracted from an aborted...
 
 
If Our Bodies Could Talk: A Guide to Operating and Maintaining a Human Body

James Hamblin · Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

"If you want to understand the strange workings of the human body, and the future of medicine, you must read this illuminating, engaging book." - Siddhartha Mukherjee, author of The Gene In 2014, James Hamblin launched a series of videos for The Atlantic called "If Our Bodies...
 
 
Waking the Spirit: A Musician's Journey Healing Body, Mind, and Soul

Andrew Schulman · Picador
Pages: 290
Format: Print book

For millennia, music has been known to have a powerful role in the healing process. This moving and inspiring book tells the tale of a man pulled from the brink of death by music who, in turn, uses music as medicine to help heal others. Andrew Schulman, a fifty-seven-year-old professional...
 
 
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Rebecca Skloot · Crown Publishers
Pages: 369
Format: Print book

Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells - taken without her knowledge - became one of the most important tools in medicine. The first "immortal" human cells...
 
 
The Fear Factor: How One Emotion Connects Altruists, Psychopaths, and Everyone In-Between

Abigail Marsh · Basic Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"A riveting ride through your own brain." --Adam GrantHow the brains of psychopaths and heroes show that humans are wired to be goodAt fourteen, Amber could boast of killing her guinea pig, threatening to burn down her home, and seducing men in exchange for gifts. She used the tools...
 
 
DNA: The Story of the Genetic Revolution

James D Watson · Knopf
Pages: 512
Format: Paperback

The definitive insider's history of the genetic revolution--significantly updated to reflect the discoveries of the last decade. James D. Watson, the Nobel laureate whose pioneering work helped unlock the mystery of DNA's structure, charts the greatest scientific journey of our time, from...
 
 
The Mind-Gut Connection: How the Hidden Conversation Within Our Bodies Impacts Our Mood, Our Choices, and Our Overall Health

Emeran Mayer · Harper Wave
Pages: 309
Format: Print book

Combining cutting-edge neuroscience with the latest discoveries on the human microbiome, a practical guide in the tradition of The Second Brain, and The Good Gut that conclusively demonstrates the inextricable, biological link between mind and the digestive system.We have all experienced...
 
 
Immune: How Your Body Defends and Protects You

CATHERINE CARVER · Bloomsbury Sigma
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The human body is like an exceedingly well-fortified castle, defended by billions of soldiers--some live for less than a day, others remember battles for decades, but all are essential in protecting us from disease. This hidden army is our immune system, and without it we could not survive...
 
 
Astronomy For Dummies

STEPHEN P MARAN · For Dummies
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

Your updated guide to exploring the night sky Do you know the difference between a red giant and a white dwarf? From asteroids to black holes, this easy-to-understand guide takes you on a grand tour of the universe. Featuring updated star maps, charts, and an insert with gorgeous full-color...
 
 
Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams

Matthew Walker PhD · Scribner
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert - Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley's Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab - reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the better.Sleep is one of the most...
 
 
The Ear Book: A Complete Guide to Ear Disorders and Health

Thomas J Balkany · Johns Hopkins University Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Intricately shaped and amazingly sensitive, ears are the organs of hearing and balance. When something goes wrong with the ears -- whether infection or cancer, eardrum perforation or hearing loss -- our overall well-being is generally disturbed.In The Ear Book, Drs. Thomas J. Balkany and Kevin...
 
 
A Most Improbable Journey: A Big History of Our Planet and Ourselves

Walter Alvarez · W W Norton
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Famed geologist Walter Alvarez expands our view of human history by revealing the cosmic, geologic, and evolutionary forces that have shaped us. Big History, the field that studies the entire known past of our universe to give context to human existence, has so far been the domain of historians....