Back Science | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Countdown: Our Last, Best Hope for a Future on Earth?

Alan Weisman · Little, Brown and Company; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

A powerful investigation into the chances for humanitys future from the author of the bestseller The World Without Us.In his bestselling book The World Without Us, Alan Weisman considered how the Earth could heal and even refill empty niches if relieved of humanitys constant pressures....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Soul of All Living Creatures: What Animals Can Teach Us About Being Human

Vint Virga D.V.M. · Crown; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

As profiled in the New York Times MagazineBased on the authors twenty-five years of experience as a veterinarian and veterinary behaviorist, The Soul of All Living Creatures delves into the inner lives of animals from whales, wolves, and leopards to mice, dogs, and cats and explores...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Calculus i.

Alpha. · Alpha Books
Pages: 352
Format:  Print book : English

Let's face it, most students don't take calculus because they find it intellectually stimulating. It's not . . . at least for those who come up on the wrong side of the bell curve! There they are, minding their own business, working toward some non-science related degree, when . . . BLAM!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Astrophysics for People in a Hurry

NEIL DEGRASSE TYSON · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Over a year on the New York Times bestseller list and more than a million copies sold. The essential universe, from our most celebrated and beloved astrophysicist.What is the nature of space and time? How do we fit within the universe? How does the universe fit within us? There's no better...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mind-Gut Connection: How the Hidden Conversation Within Our Bodies Impacts Our Mood, Our Choices, and Our Overall Health

Emeran Mayer · Harper Wave
Pages: 309
Format: Print book

Combining cutting-edge neuroscience with the latest discoveries on the human microbiome, a practical guide in the tradition of The Second Brain, and The Good Gut that conclusively demonstrates the inextricable, biological link between mind and the digestive system.We have all experienced...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Little Book of Black Holes

Steven S. Gubser · Princeton University Press
Pages: 200
Format: Hardcover

Dive into a mind-bending exploration of the physics of black holesBlack holes, predicted by Albert Einstein's general theory of relativity more than a century ago, have long intrigued scientists and the public with their bizarre and fantastical properties. Although Einstein understood that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Explains Everything: Deep, Beautiful, and Elegant Theories of How the World Works

John Brockman · Harper Perennial
Format: Paperback

In This Explains Everything, John Brockman, founder and publisher of Edge.org, asked experts in numerous fields and disciplines to come up with their favorite explanations for everyday occurrences. Why do we recognize patterns? Is there such a thing as positive stress? Are we genetically...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Science Works: The Facts Visually Explained

Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff · DK
Pages: 255
Format: Hardcover

Explore answers to questions on 70 topics in the areas of matter, physics, energy, chemistry, life science, earth science, technology, and the universe.How Science Works uses clear, easy-to-understand graphics to answer common questions and explain difficult concepts--not only the core...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Brief History

Stephen Hawking · Bantam
Format: Hardcover

NATIONAL BESTSELLERStephen Hawking has dazzled readers worldwide with a string of bestsellers exploring the mysteries of the universe. Now, for the first time, perhaps the most brilliant cosmologist of our age turns his gaze inward for a revealing look at his own life and intellectual evolution....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Origins: Fourteen Billion Years of Cosmic Evolution

Neil deGrasse Tyson · W.W. Norton & Co.
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Origins explores cosmic science's stunning new insights into the formation and evolution of our universe--of the cosmos, of galaxies and galaxy clusters, of stars within galaxies, of planets that orbit those stars, and of different forms of life that take us back to the first three...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dancing Bees: Karl von Frisch and the Discovery of the Honeybee Language

Tania Munz · The University of Chicago Press
Pages: 278
Format: Print book

We think of bees as being among the busiest workers in the garden, admiring them for their productivity. But amid their buzzing, they are also great communicators - and unusual dancers. As Karl von Frisch (1886-1982) discovered during World War II, bees communicate the location of food...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Just-in-Time Algebra and Trigonometry for Calculus

Guntram Mueller · Pearson
Pages: 216
Format: Paperback

Are you ready to ace calculus at the college level? With this book, you will be! Professors often say "Students don't fail the calculus, they fail the algebra." In other words, even if you understand calculus, your algebra and trigonometry skills can hold you back. Here's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Falter: Has the Human Game Begun to Play Itself Out?

Bill McKibben · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Thirty years ago Bill McKibben offered one of the earliest warnings about climate change. Now he broadens the warning: the entire human game, he suggests, has begun to play itself out.Bill McKibben's groundbreaking book The End of Nature -- issued in dozens of languages and long regarded...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Caesar's Last Breath: Decoding the Secrets of the Air Around Us

SAM KEAN · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The fascinating science and history of the air we breatheIt's invisible. It's ever-present. Without it, you would die in minutes. And it has an epic story to tell.In Caesar's Last Breath, New York Times bestselling author Sam Kean takes us on a journey through the periodic table, around...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eclipse: Journeys to the Dark Side of the Moon

FRANK CLOSE · Oxford University Press
Pages: 219
Format: Hardcover

On August 21st, over one hundred million people will gather across the USA to witness the most-watched total solar eclipse in history. Eclipse: Journeys to the Dark Side of the Moon, by popular science author Frank Close, describes the spellbinding allure of this beautiful natural phenomenon....
Read More check catalog