Back Biographies & Memoirs | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Life's Work: A Moral Argument for Choice

WILLIE PARKER · 37 INK
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

In Life's Work, an outspoken, Christian reproductive justice advocate and abortion provider (one of the few doctors to provide such services to women in Mississippi and Alabama) pulls from his personal and professional journeys as well as the scientific training he received as a doctor...
Read More check catalog
 
 
There Is a River: The Story of Edgar Cayce

Thomas Sugrue · Are Pr
Pages: 478
Format: Hardcover

This book -- which contains many photos of Edgar Cayce, his family, and close friends -- is the complete, original biography of the best-documented psychic in America. It tells the story of how he discovered his astounding psychic gifts and what led him to a life dedicated to helping others....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings

Michelle Knight · Weinstein Books; First Trade Paper Edition, domestic edition
Format: Print book

Michelle was a young single mother when she was kidnapped by a local school bus driver named Ariel Castro. For more than a decade afterward, she endured unimaginable torture at the hand of her abductor. In 2003 Amanda Berry joined her in captivity, followed by Gina DeJesus in 2004. Their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It's All Relative: Adventures Up and Down the World's Family Tree

A J JACOBS · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author of The Know-It-All and The Year of Living Biblically, A.J. Jacobs undergoes a hilarious, heartfelt quest to understand what constitutes family - where it begins and how far it goes - and attempts to untangle the true meaning of the "Family of Humankind."A.J....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sober Stick Figure: A Memoir

Amber Tozer · Running Press
Pages: 264
Format: Print book

"Sober Stick Figure is a memoir from stand-up comedian Amber Tozer, chronicling her life as an alcoholic and her eventual recovery -- starting with her first drink at the age of seven -- all told with the help of childlike stick figures. Amber writes and illustrates the crazy and harsh...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Soap Suds Row: The Bold Lives of Army Laundresses 1802-1876

Jennifer J Lawrence · High Plains Press
Pages: 157

Women have always followed the troops, but military laundresses were the first tobe carried on the rolls of the U.S. Army. They traveled and lived alongside thesoldiers during two of the most important conflicts in United States history: theCivil War and the war on the western frontier.A...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Barking to the Choir: The Power of Radical Kinship

Gregory Boyle · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A moving example of unconditional love in difficult times, the bestselling author of Tattoos on the Heart, Father Gregory Boyle, shares what three decades of working with gangs in Los Angeles has taught him about faith, compassion, and the enduring power of radical kinship.In his first...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir

Poe Ballantine · Hawthorne Books
Format: Book

Fans of Truman Capotes In Cold Blood and John Berendts Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantines Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere. Poe Ballantines Free Rent at the Totalitarian Hotel included in Best American Essays 2013, and for well over twenty...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Don't Have to Say You Love Me: A Memoir

Sherman Alexie · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

The Instant New York Times BestsellerOne of the most anticipated books of 2017--Entertainment Weekly and Bustle A searing, deeply moving memoir about family, love, loss, and forgiveness from the critically acclaimed, bestselling National Book Award-winning author of The Absolutely True...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A House Full of Daughters: A Memoir of Seven Generations

Juliet Nicolson · Farrar
Pages: 326
Format: Print book

A family memoir that traces the myths, legends, and secrets of seven generations of remarkable womenAll families have their myths and legends. For many years Juliet Nicolson accepted hers--the dangerous beauty of her flamenco dancing great-great-grandmother Pepita, the flirty manipulation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Heart: An American Medical Odyssey

Dick Cheney · Scribner; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

For as long as he has served at the highest levels of business and government, Vice President Dick Cheney has also been one of the world’s most prominent heart patients. Now, for the first time ever, Cheney, together with his longtime cardiologist, Jonathan Reiner, MD, shares the very...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rise: How a House Built a Family

Cara Brookins · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 310
Format: Print book

If you were inspired by Wild and Eat, Pray, Love, you'll love this extraordinary true story of a woman taking the greatest risk of her life in order to heal from the unthinkable. After escaping an abusive marriage, Cara Brookins had four children to provide for and no one to turn to but herself....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Jeffrey Dahmer Story: An American Nightmare

Don Davis · St. Martin's Paperbacks
Pages: 290
Format: Mass Market Paperback

They smelled the foul odors. They heard the power saw buzzing in the dead of night but neighbors never imagined the horrors happening right next door.The hot sultry night of July 22, 1991 was one the tenants of the Oxford Apartments would never forget. A panic stcricken young man--a pair...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tears of Salt: A Doctor's Story

PIETRO BARTOLO · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The extraordinary story of the man hailed as "the doctor on the front lines of the migrant crisis" (CNN) . For 25 years, Dr. Pietro Bartolo has run the lone medical clinic on the Italian island of Lampedusa. In that time he has rescued, welcomed, and cared for many of the hundreds...
Read More check catalog