Back Biographies & Memoirs | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Promise me, Dad : a year of hope, hardship, and purpose

Joseph R Biden · Thorndike Press

""Promise me, Dad," Beau had told his father. "Give me your word that no matter what happens, you're going to be all right." Joe Biden gave him his word. Promise Me, Dad chronicles the year that followed, which would be the most momentous and challenging in Joe Biden's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Am Brian Wilson: A Memoir

Brian Wilson · Da Capo Press
Pages: 312
Format: Print book

They say there are no second acts in American lives, and third acts are almost unheard of. That's part of what makes Brian Wilson's story so astonishing.As a cofounding member of the Beach Boys in the 1960s, Wilson created some of the most groundbreaking and timeless popular music ever...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Core of Conviction: My Story

Michele Bachmann · Sentinel HC; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Michele Bachmann is one of the most compelling leaders in America. But despite all the magazine covers and cable television stories, most people dont know who she really is, where she comes from, or what she believes. So she decided to tell her own story and let the reader decide. As youll...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Minding the manor : the memoir of a 1930s English kitchen maid

Mollie Moran · Lyons Press,
Pages: 353
Format: Print book

"Born in 1916 in Norfolk, Mollie Moran is one of the few people still alive today who can recall working "downstairs" in the golden years of the early 1930's before the outbreak of WWII. She provides a rare and fascinating insight into a world that has long since vanished....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Young Washington: How Wilderness and War Forged America's Founding Father

Peter Stark · Ecco
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

A vivid and groundbreaking portrait of a young, struggling George Washington that casts a new light on his character and the history of American independence, from the bestselling author of AstoriaTwo decades before he led America to independence, George Washington was a flailing young...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pigeon Tunnel: Stories from My Life

John Le Carr · Viking
Pages: 310
Format: Print book

"Recounted with the storytelling élan of a master raconteur - by turns dramatic and funny, charming, tart and melancholy." -Michiko Kakutani, The New York TimesThe New York Times bestselling memoir from John le Carré, the legendary author of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy;...
Read More check catalog
 
 
House of Darkness: House of Light- The True Story, Vol. 1

Andrea Perron · AuthorHouse; 1st edition
Format: Paperback

Roger and Carolyn Perron purchased the home of their dreams and eventual nightmares in December of 1970. The Arnold Estate, located just beyond the village of Harrisville, Rhode Island seemed the idyllic setting in which to raise a family. The couple unwittingly moved their five young daughters...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A New Model: What Confidence, Beauty, and Power Really Look Like

ASHLEY GRAHAM · Dey Street Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

One of the most outspoken voices gracing the cover of magazines today encourages women to be their most confident selves, recognize their personal beauty, and reach for their highest dreams in this wise, warm, and inspiring memoirVoluptuous beauty Ashley Graham has been modeling professionally...
Read More check catalog
 
 
From Here to Eternity: Traveling the World to Find the Good Death

Caitlin Doughty · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 248
Format: Hardcover

The best-selling author of Smoke Gets in Your Eyes expands our sense of what it means to treat the dead with "dignity."Fascinated by our pervasive fear of dead bodies, mortician Caitlin Doughty set out to discover how other cultures care for the dead. From Here to Eternity is an immersive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Take This Man: A Memoir

Brando Skyhorse · Simon & Schuster
Format: Hardcover

Named one of Kirkus Reviews Best Nonfiction Books of 2014 One of NBC Newss 10 Best Latino Books of 2014 From PENHemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boys turbulent childhood growing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis

J D Vance · Harper
Pages: 264
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, NAMED BY THE TIMES AS ONE OF "6 BOOKS TO HELP UNDERSTAND TRUMP'S WIN" AND SOON TO BE A MAJOR-MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD "You will not read a more important book about America this year." - The Economist "A riveting book."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Portraits of Courage: A Commander in Chief's Tribute to America's Warriors

George W. Bush · Crown/Archetype
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

A vibrant collection of oil paintings and stories by President George W. Bush honoring the sacrifice and courage of America's military veterans. With Forewords by former First Lady Laura Bush and General Peter Pace, 16th Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Growing out of President...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Truevine : a strange and troubling tale of two brothers in jim crow america

Beth Macy · Little
Pages: 420
Format: Print book

NATIONAL BESTSELLER The true story of two African-American brothers who were kidnapped and displayed as circus freaks, and whose mother endured a 28-year struggle to get them back. The year was 1899 and the place a sweltering tobacco farm in the Jim Crow South town of Truevine, Virginia....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Killing Kind

M. William Phelps · Kensington
Format: Hardcover

She was seventeen years old, a beautiful girl with a Hollywood smile and luminous brown eyes. Sprawled in a culvert just off the gravel road like an abandoned doll, she wore only toe socks, a sweatshirt, and a necklace. She was not the killer's first victim. Nor would she be his last.The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girl Walks Out of a Bar: A Memoir

Lisa F Smith · SelectBooks
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Girl Walks Out of a Bar is Lisa Smith's darkly comic and wrenchingly honest memoir of her descent into and recovery from high-functioning alcoholism and cocaine addiction. From the outside, Smith's professional, well-heeled life as a lawyer in a big New York City firm looked great,...
Read More check catalog