Back Teens | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Piper Perish

Kayla Cagan · Chronicle Books
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

Piper Perish inhales air and exhales art. The sooner she and her best friends can get out of Houston and get to New York City, the better. Art school has been Piper's dream her whole life, and now that senior year is halfway over, she's never felt more ready. But in the final months...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Anna and the Swallow Man

Gavriel Savit · Alfred A. Knopf, 2016.
Pages: 232
Format: Print book

A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of The Book Thief. Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna ?ania is just seven years old when the Germans...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Release

Patrick Ness · HarperTeen
Pages: 277
Format: Hardcover

Inspired by Judy Blume's Forever and Virginia Woolf's Mrs. Dalloway, this novel that Andrew Smith calls "beautiful, enchanting, [and] exquisitely written" is a new classic about teenage relationships, self-acceptance - and what happens when the walls we build start coming down....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Maze Runner

James Dashner · Delacorte Press
Pages: 375
Format: Hardcover

Book one in the blockbuster Maze Runner series that spawned a movie franchise and ushered in a worldwide phenomenon! And don't miss The Fever Code, the highly-anticipated series conclusion that finally reveals the story of how the maze was built! When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Skeleton Key

Anthony Horowitz · Philomel
Format: Book

Alex Rider has been through a lot for his fourteen years. He's been shot at by international terrorists, chased down a mountainside, and stood face-to-face with evil.  Twice, young Alex has saved the world. And twice, he has almost been killed doing it. But now Alex faces something...
Read More check catalog
 
 
League of American Traitors

Matthew Landis · Sky Pony Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Those who don't know history are destined to repeat it. . . . When seventeen year-old Jasper is approached at the funeral of his deadbeat father by a man claiming to be an associate of his deceased parents, he's thrust into a world of secrets tied to America's history - and he's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Delicate Monsters: A Novel

Stephanie Kuehn · St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

When nearly killing a classmate gets seventeen-year-old Sadie Su kicked out of her third boarding school in four years, she returns to her family's California vineyard estate. Here, she's meant to stay out of trouble. Here, she's meant to do a lot of things. But it's hard....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Littles and the Terrible Tiny Kid

John Peterson · Scholastic
Pages: 107
Format: Print book

The Littles are in for big trouble when many messes around the house suggest that they have a terrible tiny kid on their hands.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Origin

Jessica Khoury · Razorbill; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

Pia has always known her destiny. She is meant to start a new race, a line of descendants who will bring an end to death. She has been bred for no other purpose, genetically engineered to be immortal and raised by a team of scientists in a secret compound hidden deep in the Amazon rainforest....
Read More check catalog
 
 
An Elephant in the Garden

Michael Morpurgo · Square Fish; Reprint edition
Format: Print book

Lizzie and Karls mother is a zoo keeper the family has become attached to an orphaned elephant named Marlene, who will be destroyed as a precautionary measure so she and the other animals dont run wild should the zoo be hit by bombs. The family persuades the zoo director to let Marlene...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Are the Goldens

Dana Reinhardt · Wendy Lamb Books; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

"Reinhardt writes wonderfully about delicate, precarious human relationships, articulating dynamics I never noticed but which ring brilliantly true. The Goldens radiate charm, but beneath their charm is heartbreak, ambition, and delusion. There is so much to dissect and discuss here:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Night Witches: A Novel of World War Two

KATHRYN LASKY · Scholastic Press
Pages: 211
Format: Hardcover

16-year-old Valya knows what it feels like to fly. She's a pilot who's always felt more at home soaring through the sky than down on earth. But since the Germans surrounded Stalingrad, Valya's been forced to stay on the ground and watch her city crumble.When her mother is killed during...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

J K Rowling · Scholastic
Pages: 309
Format: Paperback

Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hate U Give

A C THOMAS · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

Eight Starred Reviews! #1 New York Times Bestseller!"Absolutely riveting!" - Jason Reynolds"Stunning." - John Green"This story is necessary. This story is important." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Heartbreakingly topical." - Publishers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girl in the Blue Coat

Monica Hesse · Little
Pages: 301
Format: Hardcover

"In 1943 Nazi-occupied Amsterdam, teenage Hanneke--a 'finder' of black market goods--is tasked with finding a Jewish girl a customer had been hiding, who has seemingly vanished into thin air, and is pulled into a web of resistance activities and secrets as she attempts to solve the mystery...
Read More check catalog