Back Health, Mind & Body | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Health, Mind & Body
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
A History of Delusions: The Glass King, a Substitute Husband and a Walking Corpse

VICTORIA SHEPHERD - Oneworld Publications
Format: Hardcover

The extraordinary ways the brain can misfire'Fascinating and compassionate' Horatio Clare The King of France - thinking he was made of glass - was terrified he might shatter ... and he wasn't alone.After the Emperor met his end at Waterloo, an epidemic of Napoleons piled into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tornado of Life: A Doctor's Journey through Constraints and Creativity in the ER

Jay Baruch - The MIT Press
Format: Hardcover

Stories from the ER: a doctor shows how empathy, creativity, and imagination are the cornerstones of clinical care.To be an emergency room doctor is to be a professional listener to stories. Each patient presents a story; finding the heart of that story is the doctor's most critical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ethics by Committee: A History of Reasoning Together about Medicine, Science, Society, and the State

Noortje Jacobs - University of Chicago Press
Format: Kindle Edition

How liberal democracies in the late twentieth century have sought to resolve public concerns over charged issues in medicine and science.Ethics boards have become obligatory passage points in today's medical science, and we forget how novel they really are. The use of humans in experiments...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hot and Unbothered: How to Think About, Talk About, and Have the Sex You Really Want

Yana Tallon-Hicks - Harper Wave
Format: Paperback

An acclaimed sex therapist's practical, playful, and inclusive guide that teaches you how to discover your deepest sexual desires, communicate your wants and needs, define your boundaries, and have the sex you want.While popular culture is saturated with sex, the gap between informed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Just Dope: A Leading Attorney's Personal Journey Inside the War on Drugs

Allison Margolin - North Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback

For readers of Dopesick and In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts, a celebrated cannabis attorney's personal look at the War on Drugs and what comes next for the drug legalization movementGetting high is something most of us do, and in many cases do safely--yet drugs remain a singular public...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Health for Everyone: A Guide to Politically and Socially Progressive Healthcare

Zackary Berger - Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Format: Kindle Edition

A guide to progressive healthcare packed full of actionable recommendations and a road map to a more inclusive and equitable future.Health for Everyone: A Guide to Politically and Socially Progressive Healthcare brings together experts across a range of healthcare and related disciplines...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All of This: A Memoir of Death and Desire

REBECCA WOOLF - HarperOne
Format: Hardcover

A beautifully written "grief-and-relief" memoir that addresses difficult truths we're afraid to admit about death, marriage, sex, and how the loss of a partner can lead to rebirth.You don't know what kind of parent you're going to be until you have children. You don't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Obsessive, Intrusive, Magical Thinking

Marianne Eloise - Icon Books
Format: Hardcover

Obsessive was, still is, my natural state, and I never wondered why. I didn't mind, didn't know that other people could feel at peace. I always felt like a raw nerve, but then, I thought that everyone did. Writer and journalist Marianne Eloise was born obsessive. What that means...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The World the Plague Made: The Black Death and the Rise of Europe

JAMES BELICH - Princeton University Press
Format: Kindle Edition

A groundbreaking history of how the Black Death unleashed revolutionary change across the medieval world and ushered in the modern ageIn 1346, a catastrophic plague beset Europe and its neighbours. The Black Death was a human tragedy that abruptly halved entire populations and caused untold...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Living and the Dead: From Embalmers to Executioners, an Exploration of the People Who Have Made Death Their Life's Work

Hayley Campbell - St. Martin's Press
Format: Hardcover

A deeply compelling exploration of the death industry and the people -- morticians, detectives, crime scene cleaners, embalmers, executioners -- who work in it and what led them there.We are surrounded by death. It is in our news, our nursery rhymes, our true-crime podcasts. Yet from a young...
Read More check catalog