Back New Mysteries | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  New Mysteries  
The 12.30 from Croydon
The 12.30 from Croydon

Freeman Crofts · Poisoned Pen Press
Pages: 358
Format: Print book

We begin with a body. Andrew Crowther, a wealthy retired manufacturer, is found dead in his seat on the 12.30 flight from Croydon to Paris. Rather less orthodox is the ensuing flashback in which we live with the killer at every stage, from the first thoughts of murder to the strains and stresses...
Read More check catalog
 
 
At Rope's End: A Dr. James Verraday Mystery
At Rope's End: A Dr. James Verraday Mystery

Edward Kay · Crooked Lane Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Dr. James Verraday is a professor of forensic psychology specializing in eyewitness recall and criminal profiling. He's a brilliant original thinker with a passion for social justice and a very antagonistic relationship with authority, especially the police force. So when Detective...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Banana Cream Pie Murder
Banana Cream Pie Murder

Joanne Fluke · Kensington Pub Corp
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

A romantic seven-day cruise is the perfect start to bakery owner Hannah Swensen's marriage. However, with a murder mystery heating up in Lake Eden, Minnesota, it seems the newlywed's homecoming won't be as sweet as she anticipated . . . After an extravagant honeymoon, Hannah's eager...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blue Light Yokohama
Blue Light Yokohama

Nicolas Obregon · Minotaur Books
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

Newly reinstated to the Homicide Division and transferred to a precinct in Tokyo, Inspector Iwata is facing superiors who don't want him there and is assigned a recalcitrant partner, Noriko Sakai, who'd rather work with anyone else. After the previous detective working the case...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bone Box: A Decker/Lazarus Novel
Bone Box: A Decker/Lazarus Novel

Faye Kellerman · William Morrow
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

In this thrilling chapter in Faye Kellerman's bestselling series, Rina Lazarus makes a shocking discovery in the woods of her upstate New York community that leads her husband, police detective Peter Decker, through a series of gruesome, decades old, unsolved murders, pointing to a diabolical,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Cast of Vultures
A Cast of Vultures

Judith Flanders · Minotaur Books
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

There was every possibility that I was dead, and my brain hadn't got the memo. Or maybe it was that I wished I were dead. On reflection, that was more likely.Normally sharp-witted, book editor Sam Clair stumbles through a post-launch party morning with the hangover to end all hangovers....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Death of a Ghost
Death of a Ghost

M. C. Beaton · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Sergeant Hamish Macbeth--Scotland's most quick-witted but unambitious policeman--returns in M. C. Beaton's new mystery in her New York Times bestselling seriesDEATH OF A GHOSTWhen Police Sergeant Hamish Macbeth hears reports of a haunted castle near Drim, he assumes the eerie noises and lights...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Death of Kings: A John Madden Mystery
The Death of Kings: A John Madden Mystery

Rennie George Airth · Viking
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

In the fifth novel in the critically acclaimed John Madden series, the former Scotland Yard detective returns in a gripping post-World War II mystery that will delight fans of Philip Kerr On a hot summer day in 1938, a beautiful actress is murdered on the grand Kent estate of Sir Jack...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Death in the Dales
A Death in the Dales

Frances Brody · Minotaur Books
Pages: 372
Format: Print book

An intricate plot set in the 1920s English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) Kate Shackleton make A Death in the Dales an absorbing 7th installment in this mystery, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie.A murder most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Desert Vengeance
Desert Vengeance

Betty Webb · Poisoned Pen Press
Format: Print book

When the man who raped Scottsdale PI Lena Jones when she was a nine-year-old foster child is released from prison, Lena is waiting for him in the parking lot-with a big knife. "Papa" Brian Wycoff survives their meeting, but the next day, his wife, who knew about his crimes but did nothing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Echoes in Death
Echoes in Death

J. D. Robb · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 371
Format: Print book

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING SERIES . . . The chilling new suspense novel from the author of Brotherhood in Death. After a party in New York, Lieutenant Eve Dallas rides home with her billionaire husband, Roarke, happy to be done with cocktails and small talk. After another party,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
False Friend: A Novel
False Friend: A Novel

Andrew Grant · Ballantine Books
Pages: 282
Format: Print book

The second installment in the extraordinary Cooper Devereaux mystery thriller series, which combines the atmosphere of James Lee Burke and Craig Johnson with the noir brilliance of Robert Crais An arsonist is targeting schools in Birmingham, Alabama - with devastating effect. Detective...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In This Grave Hour: A Maisie Dobbs Novel
In This Grave Hour: A Maisie Dobbs Novel

Jacqueline Winspear · Harpercollins
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

"A female investigator every bit as brainy and battle-hardened as Lisbeth Salander." - Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air, on Maisie Dobbs Sunday September 3rd 1939. At the moment Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain broadcasts to the nation Britain's declaration of war with Germany,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Knife Slipped
The Knife Slipped

Erle Stanley Gardner · Hardcase Crime
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Lost for more than 75 years, The Knife Slipped was meant to be the second book in the series, but shelved when Gardner's publisher objected to (among other things) Bertha Cool's tendency to "talk tough, swear, smoke cigarettes, and try to gyp people." But this tale of adultery...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lioness Is the Hunter
The Lioness Is the Hunter

Loren D Estleman · Forge
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

A hot new Amos Walker mystery by a master of the hard-boiled detective novel. "Loren Estleman is my hero." -- Harlan Coben, New York Times bestselling authorDetroit entrepreneur Carl Fannon hires Walker to trace Emil Haas, his partner, whose sudden disappearance has jeopardized...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Maigret's First Case
Maigret's First Case

Georges Simenon · Penguin Books
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

When a Paris musician witnesses an altercation that may have been a murder, the young Maigret becomes embroiled in his first case. The thirty-first book in the new Penguin Maigret series. A musician walking home along the Rue Chaptal in the early hours of the morning sees a panic-stricken...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Measure of Murder: A Sally Solari Mystery
A Measure of Murder: A Sally Solari Mystery

Leslie Karst · Crooked Lane Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Sally Solari is busy juggling work at her family's Italian restaurant, Solari's, and helping Javier plan the autumn menu for the restaurant she's just inherited, Gauguin. Complicating this already hectic schedule, Sally joins her ex-boyfriend Eric's chorus, which is performing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Pinch of Poison
A Pinch of Poison

Alyssa Maxwell · Kensington Pub Corp
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

In post-World War I England, Lady Phoebe Renshaw and her lady's maid, Eva Huntford, encounter an uncharitable killer at a charity luncheon sponsored by a posh school for girls . . . Good deeds build good character, and good character is what the Haverleigh School for Young Ladies is all about....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Puzzle to Be Named Later
A Puzzle to Be Named Later

Parnell Hall · Minotaur Books
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

New York Times Bestselling Author"If sweet-looking, gray-haired Miss Marple cursed, smoked, and carried a gun in her purse, she'd be a ringer for Cora Felton." -- BOOKLIST The Puzzle Lady couldn't be happier. Matt Greystone, the rookie sensation who just signed a huge contract...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Racing the Devil: An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery
Racing the Devil: An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery

Charles Todd · William Morrow & Company
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Scotland Yard's Ian Rutledge finds himself caught in a twisted web of vengeance, old grievances, and secrets that lead back to World War I in the nineteenth installment of the acclaimed bestselling series.On the eve of the bloody Battle of the Somme, a group of English officers having a last...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rush of Blood: A Novel
Rush of Blood: A Novel

Mark Billingham · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 389
Format: Print book

Perfect strangers. A perfect holiday. The perfect murder.In the standalone novel Rush of Blood, internationally bestselling author Mark Billingham puts a sinister twist on a deceptively innocent topic: the beach vacation.Three British couples meet around the pool on their Florida holiday...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Two Days Gone: A Novel
Two Days Gone: A Novel

Randall Silvis · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 385
Format: Print book

"An absolute gem of literary suspense... told in a smooth, assured, and often haunting voice, Two Days Gone is a terrific read." -- Michael Koryta, New York Times bestselling author of Those Who Wish Me DeadThe perfect family. The perfect house. The perfect life. All gone now.What...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unsettling crime for samuel craddock
Unsettling crime for samuel craddock

Terry Shames · Seventh Street Books
Pages: 271
Format: Print book

When the Jarrett Creek Fire Department is called to douse a blaze on the outskirts of town, they discover a grisly scene: five black young people have been murdered. Newly elected Chief of Police Samuel Craddock, just back from a stint in the Air Force, finds himself an outsider in the investigation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wait for Dark
Wait for Dark

Kay Hooper · Berkley Pub Group
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

An SCU team investigates a string of accidents, only to uncover a deadly and deliberate monster in the latest novel from New York Times bestselling author Kay Hooper. In Clarity, North Carolina, the residents have fallen victim to an unfortunate series of events. Seemingly random accidents...
Read More check catalog