Back New Mysteries | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Mysteries  
Anatomy of a scandal : a novel

Sarah Vaughan · Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

"A strong choice for book clubs. Former political correspondent Vaughan makes an impressive debut with this savvy, propulsive courtroom drama." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Vaughan offers gripping insight into a political scandal's hidden machinations and the tension...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beau Death

PETER LOVESEY · Soho Crime
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

In the seventeenth installment in Peter Lovesey's timeless British detective series, Peter Diamond digs deep into Bath history to ferret out the secrets of one of its most famous (and scandalous) icons: Richard "Beau" Nash, who might have been the victim of a centuries-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Body in the Casket: A Faith Fairchild Mystery

Katherine Hall Page · William Morrow
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

For most of her adult life, resourceful caterer Faith Fairchild has called the sleepy Massachusetts village of Aleford home. While the native New Yorker has come to know the region well, she isn't familiar with Havencrest, a privileged enclave, until the owner of Rowan House, a secluded...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dark Dawn Over Steep House: The Gower Street Detective: Book 5

M. R. C. Kasasian · Pegasus Books
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

The latest mystery in the popular Victorian crime series featuring the ever-curmudgeonly private detective, Sidney Grice, and the charming March Middleton. London, 1884. 125 Gower Street, the residence of Sidney Grice, London's foremost personal detective, and his ward March Middleton,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dark in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel

J.D. Robb · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Lieutenant Eve Dallas returns in the new novel by the #1 New York Times bestselling master of suspense, and takes on a case of death imitating art ... It was a stab in the dark.On a chilly February night, during a screening of Psycho in midtown, someone sunk an ice pick into the back of Chanel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Darkness, Sing Me a Song

David Housewright · Minotaur Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

David Housewright's Edgar Award-winning Holland Taylor series returns with a case of murder resulting from tragic, twisted drama in an extremely wealthy family in Darkness, Sing Me a Song.Holland Taylor is a PI who does simple background checks and other mostly unchallenging cases. Still...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ginger Snapped: A Spice Shop Mystery

GAIL OUST · Minotaur Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Piper Prescott and Police Chief Wyatt McBride might have gotten off on the wrong foot but, over the past year, their interactions have evolved into a friendship of sorts. And when the body of Shirley Randolph is found floating in a fishing hole, their relationship reaches entirely new territory.Shirley,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A Flavia de Luce Novel

Alan Bradley · Delacorte Press
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

"The world's greatest adolescent British chemist/busybody/sleuth" (The Seattle Times) , Flavia de Luce, returns in a twisty new mystery novel from award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Alan Bradley.In the wake of an unthinkable family tragedy, twelve-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Havana Libre

Robert Arellano · Akashic Books
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

"[An] exquisitely made thriller...A remarkably powerful narrative. The interrogation scene repulses while it grips...but readers are advised to stay with it for a rich reading experience."--Booklist, Starred Review"This potent noir sheds light on Cuban life in the post-Soviet...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Lady in Shadows: A Madeleine Karno Mystery

Lene Kaaberbøl · Atria Books
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

"Madeleine's inquisitive mind and candid voice are enough to keep us reading." - The New York Times Book Review New York Times bestselling author Lene Kaaberbøl returns with her beloved protagonist Madeleine Karno - an ambitious young woman who shatters the confines of nineteenth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Look for Me

LISA GARDNER · Dutton
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

In #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner's latest twisty thrill ride, Detective D. D. Warren and Find Her's Flora Dane return in a race against the clock to either save a young girl's life . . . or bring her to justice.The home of a family of five is now a crime scene: four...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Map of the Dark

KATIA LIEF · Mulholland Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A race-against-time thriller for fans of Tana French and Megan Abbott: to save a missing girl, FBI Agent Elsa Myers may have to lose herself... Even as her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, FBI Agent Elsa Myers can't ignore a call for help. A teenage girl has disappeared...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Missing Guests of the Magic Grove Hotel

David J Casarett · Redhook
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

As a nurse ethnicist, Ladarat Patalung works to save the lives of her patients, and to make sure the ones she can't save have at least the dignity of a "good death." But when wealthy foreign travelers start to go missing all across Thailand, Detective Wiriya Mookjai fears that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mitford Murders

Jessica Fellowes · Minotaur Books
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

"A real murder, a real family and a brand new crime fiction heroine are woven together to make a fascinating, and highly enjoyable, read. I loved it." -- Julian Fellowes, creator and writer of Downton Abbey and BelgraviaSet amid the legendary Mitford household, a thrilling Golden...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mood Indigo

Ed Ifkovic · Poisoned Pen Press
Format: Hardcover

She was 1932 Broadway's newest sensation. Then she was murdered.Three years after the Crash that ushered in the Great Depression, Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist and playwright Edna Ferber finds herself a guest at Noel Coward's lavish birthday party. The British wit, enjoying the Christmas...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Murder for the Books: A Blue Ridge Library Mystery

VICTORIA GILBERT · Crooked Lane Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Fleeing a disastrous love affair, university librarian Amy Webber moves in with her aunt in a quiet, historic mountain town in Virginia. She quickly busies herself with managing a charming public library that requires all her attention with its severe lack of funds and overabundance of eccentric...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Murder in July: Historical mystery set in New Orleans

Barbara Hambly · Severn House Publishers
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Benjamin January investigates the murder of a mysterious Englishman in this absorbing New Orleans-set mystery. When British spymaster Sir John Oldmixton offers Benjamin January a hundred dollars to find the murderer of an Englishman whose body has been found floating in the New Basin Canal,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nightblind: A Thriller

RAGNAR JONASSON · Minotaur Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Chilling, and complex, Nightblind is an extraordinary thriller from undeniable new talent Ragnar Jonasson.Ari Thór Arason: a local policeman, whose tumultuous past and uneasy relationships with the villagers in an idyllically quiet fishing village in Northern Iceland -- where no one locks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ninth Grave: A Fabian Risk Novel

STEFAN AHNHEM · Minotaur Books
Pages: 608
Format: Hardcover

"An atmospheric and complicated saga of crimes that criss-cross the narrow strait between Sweden and Denmark...great cop characters...and some imaginatively grisly perps." -- Sunday TimesWould you kill for the one you love? That's the question that international bestseller Stefan...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Questionable Behavior of Dahlia Moss

Max Wirestone · Redhook
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Veronica Mars meets the World of Warcraft in this mystery romp with a hilarious heroine.Working for a games development company is my dream job. So, when a slightly sketchy lawyer offered me the opportunity, I had to take it! Who cares that the company has some quirks? No job is perfect....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Reckoning in the Back Country: A Samuel Craddock Mystery

TERRY SHAMES · Seventh Street Books
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

Acting Police Chief Samuel Craddock investigates the murder of a visiting physician, whose mangled body is found in the woods. When Lewis Wilkins, a physician with a vacation home in Jarrett Creek, is attacked by vicious dogs, and several pet dogs in the area around Jarrett Creek disappear,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Signal Loss

Garry Disher · Soho Crime
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In the seventh book in the Ned Kelly Award-winning Challis and Destry procedural series from the master of Australian noir, meth-related crime in Victoria has Inspector Hal Challis on his back foot, while Ellen Destry hunts for an elusive serial rapist. A pair of hit men working a job for a meth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unbound

STUART WOODS · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Stone Barrington is pulled along for the ride when a friend pursues a perilous course of vengeance in the newest novel from #1 New York Times-bestselling author Stuart Woods.In the wake of a personal tragedy, former CIA operative Teddy Fay - now a successful Hollywood film producer known...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Widows of Malabar Hill

Sujata Massey · Soho Crime
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Introducing an extraordinary female lawyer-sleuth in a new historical series set in 1920s Bombay! Bombay, 1921: Perveen Mistry, the daughter of a respected Zoroastrian family, has just joined her father's law firm, becoming one of the first female lawyers in India. Armed with a law degree...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Can Run: A Novel

STEVE MOSBY · Pegasus Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A page-turning psychological thriller, the new novel from CWA Dagger winner Steve Mosby explores the blurred lines between truth and fiction. When a car crashes into a garage on an ordinary street, the attending officer is shocked to look inside the damaged building and discover a woman...
Read More check catalog